On the credibility of Bob Marley One Love

by Richard Lafrance

Highly anticipated, the biopic of the mythical Bob Marley is analyzed here by our colleague Richard Lafrance, unquestionably one of Quebec’s leading specialists in Jamaican music. In Canada, Bob Marley One Love opens in theaters on Valentine’s Day, and PAN M 360 brings you the most comprehensive online review of it in this territory… and more!

On November 2, 1979, I went to the Montreal Forum to attend one of the most memorable shows of my young life:  Bob Marley and The Wailers were there as part of the Survival tour. What a strange feeling, then, to find myself at the same venue 45 years later (renamed the Pepsi Forum, later Cinéma Cineplex Forum) for a screening of the biopic Bob Marley One Love. The film, pays tribute to the Rasta icon and beautifully presents him to the most recent generations.

Tribal warfare in Kingston

The script takes us back to Jamaica during the 1976-80 period, with Marley at the height of his international fame, as he agrees to perform for his local audience as part of the Smile Jamaica concert, proposed by Michael Manley, then Jamaica’s prime minister, at the height of a tribal and urban political war. 

A few days later, perceived as being much closer to Michael Manley’s socialist-leaning People National Party than to Eddie Seaga’s pro-American Jamaican Labour Party, the singer was the victim of an armed attack at his Hope Road home. He was shot twice, his wife Rita was hit in the head (without any serious injury) and his manager Don Taylor was rushed to Florida for treatment after being hit by 6 bullets.

On a last-minute whim, Bob and Rita, still bloodied and in shock from the attack, decide to take to the stage with the musicians present who are brave enough to accompany them, and give one of the two defining Jamaican performances of their careers.

The second being, of course, the now-legendary One Love Peace Concert, during which Bob literally forced the two political opponents to shake hands on stage, in front of a Jamaica devastated by gun violence. The film ends right on the real scenes of this 1978 event.

To enhance the film’s biographical content, several flashbacks with two other younger Bobs – one around the age of 10 and the other, superbly played by young American actor Quadajay Henriques (Sean Paul’s cousin) around the age of 20 – expose crucial moments in his life and career.

The best examples are the Wailers’ audition, with intimidating producer Coxson Dodd and the hilarious Lee ” Scratch ” Perry at Studio One, the ” Jamaican Motown “, or the Groundation, a Rasta gathering on the beach, where Rita introduces Bob to Mortimer Planno, who will become his Rasta spiritual guide.

Since 1972 and the release of the cult film The Harder They Come starring Jimmy Cliff, no other film production has left such a lasting impression on the Jamaican (and international) imagination as this one. 

In our actual context, Paramount’s people understood that Jamaica’s contribution would be essential to the project : more than 400 actors and technicians, in addition to 1,800 Jamaican extras were used for this 25-day shooting project, specifically in Trench Town, the Kingston ghetto where Bob grew up and at Kingston’s National Stadium, venue of the One Love Peace Concert.

The costumes are exact replicas of the wardrobe worn by Bob and his cohorts; the dialogue and dialect are natural and fluid, very much based on the actual events, apart from a few liberties taken in the script.

Kingsley Ben-Adir et Lashana Lynch,  Oscarisables ?

Obviously, the greatest feat of this Brad Pitt-financed film, produced by Rita, Cedella and Ziggy Marley and directed by Reinaldo Marcus Green, concerns Kingsley Ben-Adir’s transformation into a veritable Kingstonian ” yardie “! The Williams, Joe Bell, Monsters and Men method, in fact.

Physical resemblance being the only obvious starting point (and yes, his “artificial” dreadlocks are totally believable!), the 38-year-old British actor had to learn to play the guitar, sing, dance and, above all, speak a credible, fluent patois… in his voice and with the intonations particular to Tuff Gong. Ben-Adir is said to have had some 50 interviews phonetically translated, and then received linguistic support. 

Which raises the crucial question: Ziggy Marley claimed that none of his 7 sons and 10 grandsons, nor any Jamaican actor, could have played the role of Bob, for the purposes of the film, at around the age of 36. One assumes that the gem was long and hard to find, but rather on the UK side.

Kingsley Ben-Adir seems credible in every way. At live shows, Bob’s real voice can be heard on remixed soundtracks, giving the well-known songs a more contemporary sound. But for acoustic performances, it’s really the actor who sings. This gives the impression that he generally makes his character a little more playful than melancholy, despite all the vulnerability and insecurity expressed at other times.

For her part, Lashana Lynch, the British actress who was the first woman to play James Bond in No Time to Die (2021), plays with finesse and aplomb the matriarch of the Marley clan and backing vocalist for the I-Threes, the vocal trio that accompanied the Wailers on all their international tours, for which she put a serious solo career on hold.

Sons and daughters of…

Another Jamaican factor worthy of note is that several of the film’s actors and singers already have musical careers: singers Naomi Cowan, daughter of Carlene Davis and Tommy Cowan (ex-tour manager of the Wailers), who plays Marcia Griffiths, and Sevana, taking on the role of Judy Mowatt. Abijah Livingston plays his father, Bunny Wailer, and Aston Barrett Junior takes on the role of his father, the renowned bassist Family Man Barrett, who died at 77 two weeks ago.

Never without controversy

Since the film is produced by the Marley clan itself, it’s not surprising that the Gong’s extramarital adventures, particularly that torrid love affair at the end of his life with Cindy Breakspeare, Miss World 1976 who produced Damian ” Junior Gong ” Marley, arguably one of his most talented children, goes by the wayside.

Marley’s greatest love songs, Turn Your Lights Down Low and Waiting In Vain were inspired by the beauty queen. Despite all his misdeeds, Bob remained married to Rita until his death. In his 36 years of life, Bob Marley is said to have had over 15 children: 11 officially with 7 different mothers, 5 with Rita, 2 of whom were adopted.

One of the film’s most memorable scenes takes place in Paris, where Rita reminds her jealous husband that she must raise all his children – including those of his other mistresses – while being his backup singer and touring the world.

My downs 

The (invented) scene in which Bob’s assailant appears to him (in a dream?) to beg his forgiveness, a completely superfluous scene and very far from the truth of what happened to the gunman in question.

The metaphorical scenes of young Bob escaping from a burning forest, accompanied by his biological white father whom he has only seen twice in his life, or his spiritual father, the one to whom he has dedicated his existence, Emperor Haile Selassie 1st, Jah Rastafari!

All in all?

Expectations were obviously very high for this film, and…  despite the reservations expressed here, Ziggy Marley and those close to him rose to the challenge in fine style. 

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sur la crédibilité de Bob Marley One Love, ze film

par Richard Lafrance

Très attendu, le biopic du mythique Bob Marley fait ici l’objet de l’analyse éclairante de notre contributeur Richard Lafrance, sans conteste l’un des plus grands spécialistes québécois de la musique jamaïcaine. Au Canada, Bob Marley One Love sort en salle le jour de de la Saint-Valentin et PAN M 360 vous en offre la plus complète des chroniques en ligne sur ce territoire… et plus encore !

Le 2 novembre 1979, je me rendais au Forum de Montréal pour assister à l’un de spectacles les plus marquants de ma jeune existence : Bob Marley and The Wailers y étaient de passage dans le cadre de la tournée Survival. Quel sentiment étrange donc, de me retrouver au même endroit 45 ans plus tard (rebaptisé le Forum Pepsi, aujourd’hui Cinéma Cineplex Forum) pour un visionnement du film Bob Marley One Love. Le film, rend  hommage à l’icône rasta et qui le présente de belle manière aux plus récentes générations.

Guerre tribale à Kingston

Le scénario nous ramène en Jamaïque durant la période 1976-80, avec un Marley en pleine gloire internationale, alors qu’il accepte de se produire pour ses compatriotes dans le cadre du concert Smile Jamaica, proposé par Michael Manley, alors premier ministre jamaïcain, au plus fort d’une guerre politique tribale et urbaine. 

Quelques jours plus tard, perçu comme étant beaucoup plus près du People National Party à tendance socialiste de Michael Manley que du Jamaican Labour Party pro-américain d’Eddie Seaga, le chanteur sera victime d’un attentat armé à sa résidence d’Hope Road. Il se prendra deux balles, sa femme Rita sera touchée (légèrement) à la tête et son manager Don Taylor, atteint de 6 balles, devra être transporté d’urgence en Floride pour y être soigné. 

Sur un coup de tête de dernière minute, Bob et Rita, encore ensanglantés et sous le choc de l’attentat, décident de monter sur scène avec les musiciens présents assez braves pour les accompagner et donnent l’une des deux performances jamaïcaines déterminantes de leur carrière. 

La seconde étant évidemment le désormais légendaire One Love Peace Concert, lors duquel Bob a littéralement forcé les deux opposants politiques à se serrer la main sur scène, devant une Jamaïque dévastée par la violence armée. Le film se termine justement sur les vraies scènes de cet événement de 1978.

Pour bonifier le contenu biographique du film, plusieurs flashbacks avec deux autres plus jeunes Bobs- l’un vers 10 ans et l’autre, superbement incarné par le jeune acteur américain Quadajay Henriques (cousin de Sean Paul) vers 20 ans, exposent des moments cruciaux de sa vie et de sa carrière.

Les meilleurs exemples en sont l’audition des Wailers, auprès de l’intimidant producteur Coxson Dodd et l’hilarant Lee « Scratch » Perry à Studio One, le « Motown jamaïcain », ou encore le Groundation, un rassemblement rasta sur la plage, oùRita présente Bob à Mortimer Planno, qui deviendra son guide spirituel rasta.

Depuis 1972 et la parution du film-culte The Harder They Come mettant en vedette Jimmy Cliff, aucune autre production cinématographique n’avait autant marqué l’imaginaire jamaïcain (et international) que celle-ci. 

Dans ce contexte actualisé, les gens de Paramount ont bien compris que l’apport de la Jamaïque serait essentiel au projet : plus de 400 acteurs et techniciens, en plus de 1,800 figurants jamaïcains furent utilisés pour ce projet de 25 jours de tournage, spécifiquement à Trench Town, le ghetto de Kingston Bob grandit et au Stade national de Kingston, lieu du One Love Peace Concert.

Les costumes sont les répliques exactes de la garde-robe de Bob et de sa cohorte; les dialogues et le patois sont naturels et fluides, très collés sur les faits réels, sauf quelques libertés prises dans le scénario.

Kingsley Ben-Adir et Lashana Lynch,  Oscarisables ?

Évidemment, le plus grand exploit de ce film financé par Brad Pitt, produit par Rita, Cedella et Ziggy Marley et réalisé par Reinaldo Marcus Green, concerne la transformation de Kingsley Ben-Adir en véritable « yardie » kingstonien! La méthode Williams, Joe Bell, Monsters and Men, en fait.

On l’attendait bien sûr au tournant… La ressemblance physique étant la seule évidence de départ (et oui, ses dreadlocks « artificiels » sont tout à fait crédibles!), l’acteur britannique de 38 ans a dû apprendre à jouer la guitare, chanter, danser et surtout parler un patois crédible et fluide… dans la voix et avec les intonations particulières au Tuff Gong. Ben-Adir aurait fait traduire phonétiquement une cinquantaine d’entrevues, pour ensuite bénéficier d’un accompagnement linguistique. 

Ce qui soulève la question cruciale : Ziggy Marley a affirmé qu’aucun des descendants, parmi les 7 fils et 10 petits-fils, ni aucun acteur jamaïcain n’aurait pu jouer le rôle de Bob, pour les besoins du film, vers l’âge de 36 ans. On suppose que la perle rare fut longue et ardue à trouver, mais plutôt du côté du Royaume-Uni.

Kingsley Ben-Adir semble crédible à tous points de vue. En spectacle, on reconnaît la vraie voix de Bob sur des bandes sonores remixées, qui donnent aux chansons connues une sonorité un peu plus contemporaine. Mais pour les prestations acoustiques, c’est bel et bien l’acteur qui chantonne. On a alors l’impression qu’il rend généralement son personnage un peu plus enjoué que mélancolique, malgré toute la vulnérabilité et l’insécurité exprimées à d’autres moments.

De son côté, Lashana Lynch, l’actrice britannique qui fut la première femme à incarner James Bond dans No Time to Die (2021) incarne avec finesse et aplomb la matriarche du clan Marley et choriste des I-Threes, le trio vocal qui accompagna les Wailers dans toutes leurs tournées internationales, pour lequel elle aura mis une sérieuse carrière solo de côté.

Fils et filles de…

Autre facteur jamaïcain digne d’intérêt: plusieurs acteurs et chanteurs du film ont déjà des carrières musicales : les chanteuses Naomi Cowan, fille de Carlene Davis et Tommy Cowan (ex-gérant de tournée des Wailers) qui joue Marcia Griffiths et Sevana, reprenant le rôle de Judy Mowatt. Abijah Livingston y joue son père, Bunny Wailer, et Aston Barrett Junior reprend le rôle du sien, le réputé bassiste Family Man Barrett, décédé à 77 ans il y a deux semaines.

Jamais sans controverses

Puisque le film est produit par le clan Marley lui-même, pas surprenant que les aventures extraconjugales du Gong, particulièrement cette histoire d’amour torride à la fin de sa vie avec Cindy Breakspeare, ex-Miss Monde 1976 qui a produit Damian « Junior Gong » Marley, vraisemblablement l’un de ses plus talentueux enfants, passent à la trappe.

Les plus belles chansons d’amour de Marley, Turn Your Lights Down Low et Waiting In Vain furent inspirées par la reine de beauté. Malgré toutes ses incartades, Bob resta marié à Rita jusqu’à sa mort.  

Rappelons qu’en 36 ans de vie, Bob Marley aurait eu plus d’une quinzaine d’enfants, soit 11 officiellement avec 7 mères différentes,  5 avec Rita, dont 2 adoptés.

Une scène marquante du film se déroule à Paris, où justement Rita rappelle à son mari jaloux qu’elle doit élever tous ses enfants – incluant ceux des autres maîtresses- tout en étant sa choriste et enfilant les tournées mondiales.

Mes bémols 

La scène (inventée) où l’assaillant de Bob lui apparaît (dans un songe?) pour lui demander pardon, scène tout à fait superflue et très loin de la vérité de ce qu’il advint du gunman en question.

Les scènes métaphoriques du jeune Bob qui s’échappe d’une forêt en flammes, accompagné de son père blanc biologique qu’il n’a vu que deux fois dans sa vie, ou de son père spirituel, celui à qui il a voué son existence, l’empereur Hailé Selassié 1er, Jah Rastafari !

En somme ?

Les attentes étaient évidemment très élevées pour ce film et…  malgré les réserves ici formulées, Ziggy Marley et ses proches ont relevé le défi de belle manière.

Tout le contenu 360

Festival Classica | La Grande messe des morts de Gossec, peu connue et visionnaire

Festival Classica | La Grande messe des morts de Gossec, peu connue et visionnaire

Le Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble célèbre à Montréal avec la SMCQ

Le Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble célèbre à Montréal avec la SMCQ

Jacques Kuba-Séguin – Parfum no 2

Jacques Kuba-Séguin – Parfum no 2

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : bilan de la programmation après un an d’exil

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : bilan de la programmation après un an d’exil

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : un an après l’incendie, des nouvelles svp!

Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur : un an après l’incendie, des nouvelles svp!

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Festival Classica | Marc Boucher nous cause de la mouture 2024… et même de la suite !

Festival Classica | Marc Boucher nous cause de la mouture 2024… et même de la suite !

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gee Tee – Prehistoric Chrome

Gee Tee – Prehistoric Chrome

Robert Johnson & Punchdrunks – Surfopiates

Robert Johnson & Punchdrunks – Surfopiates

Quatuor Molinari | Mère et fille nous parlent du programme Nouvelle ère

Quatuor Molinari | Mère et fille nous parlent du programme Nouvelle ère

Pokey Lafarge – Rhumba Country

Pokey Lafarge – Rhumba Country

Violons du Roy | Rêves fantastiques par une nuit de chevaux volants

Violons du Roy | Rêves fantastiques par une nuit de chevaux volants

Les différents masques de Radiant Baby

Les différents masques de Radiant Baby

FIMAV 2024 | Un 16 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 16 mai à Victo

Norté tropical | Un bout de Bahia au Théâtre Plaza

Norté tropical | Un bout de Bahia au Théâtre Plaza

FIMAV 2024 | Un 17 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 17 mai à Victo

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon is in the Wrong Place.

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon is in the Wrong Place.

FIMAV 2024 | Un 18 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 18 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 19 mai à Victo

FIMAV 2024 | Un 19 mai à Victo

PODIUM Jeunesse 2024 | Tous en chœur avec QW4RTZ

PODIUM Jeunesse 2024 | Tous en chœur avec QW4RTZ

FIMAV | Sélébéyone, ou les intersections culturelles selon Steve Lehman

FIMAV | Sélébéyone, ou les intersections culturelles selon Steve Lehman

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre