×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : Indépendant Genres and styles : Ambient / Hip Hop / Jazz / Keb Rap / Trap Year : 2020
Original Gros Bonnet

Tous les jours printemps

· by Alain Brunet

The acronym OGB existed in French rap before the MTL jazz-rap group adopted it. The seven members of the Montreal brotherhood, finally, had to present themselves under the banner Original Gros Bonnet: François Marceau, rap and vocals, Arnaud Castonguay, saxophones, clarinets, flute, John Henry Angrignon Atkins, guitars, Vincent Favreau, keyboards and synths, Vincent Bolduc-Boulianne, electric bass and double bass, Louis René, drums, and Samuel Brais-Germain, production and sound design, as well as piano. This band of seven is joined by strings (Céline Arcand, Veronica Thomas, Jean René and Christine Giguère), brass (Christopher Kerr-Barr, Max Zhang and Marie-Ange Boislard), woodwinds (Pierre Mendola) and human voices (David Beaudin, Nadia Baldé, Arnaud Castonguay, Vincent Favreau and John Atkins).

Few Montreal musicians can testify to such a hip-hop culture, a solid jazz education and a real propensity for orchestration. Few musicians can make a success of the encounter by avoiding the stylistic speed bumps and meanders of academism. Like all musicians of their generation, they have been raised on Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin, Taylor McFerrin and, of course, Kendrick Lamar, Fly-Lo, and J Dilla, not to mention film and, why not, contemporary music. 

On the flow side, they are more Atlanta than Los Angeles, Chicago or New York, they are more Travis Scott and Playboi Carti than Kendrick Lamar, Vince Staples, or Common. At the confluence of ambient and groove, several songs/raps on the programme lend themselves to medium tempos, although assured by very good drumming and carried by rich jazz, R&B, and neoclassical harmonies – chamber jazz in symbiosis with hip-hop beatmaking. 

The lyrics aren’t decorative, the moods have been gathered over a couple of years. This keb rap has beautiful phonetic qualities, reveals some poetic discoveries without reaching any peaks. It deals with the elation and euphoria generated by a happy take-off, the inevitable cohabitation of these impulses with doubt, change, imperative upheavals, heroic evocations and other aspirations. Let OGB MTL conclude: “These 11 songs form a work celebrating constant evolution, perpetual renewal, daily fulfilment. Springtime every day.”

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Indépendant Genres et styles : ambient / hip-hop / jazz / rap keb / trap Année : 2020
Original Gros Bonnet

Tous les jours printemps

· par Alain Brunet

Le sigle OGB existait côté rap français, soit avant que le groupe jazz rap de MTL ne l’adopte. Les sept membres de la confrérie montréalaise ont dû finalement se présenter sous la bannière Original Gros Bonnet : François Marceau, rap et chant, Arnaud Castonguay, saxophones, clarinettes, flûte traversière, John Henry Angrignon Atkins, guitares, Vincent Favreau, claviers et synthés, Vincent Bolduc-Boulianne, basse électrique et contrebasse, Louis René, batterie, Samuel Brais-Germain, réalisation et habillage sonore, piano. À cette bande des sept se joignent des cordes (Céline Arcand, Veronica Thomas, Jean René et Christine Giguère), des cuivres (Christopher Kerr-Barr, Max Zhang et Marie-Ange Boislard), des bois (Pierre Mendola) et des voix humaines (David Beaudin, Nadia Baldé, Arnaud Castonguay, Vincent Favreau et John Atkins).

Peu de musiciens montréalais peuvent témoigner à la fois d’une telle culture hip-hop, d’une solide éducation jazzistique et d’une propension réelle à l’orchestration. Peu de musiciens peuvent en réussir la rencontre en évitant les retards stylistiques et les méandres de l’académisme. Tout indique qu’ils ont été biberonnés à Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, Terrace Martin, Taylor McFerrin et, bien sûr, Kendrick Lamar, Fly-Lo et J Dilla, sans compter la musique de film et, pourquoi pas, la musique contemporaine de tradition classique. 

Côté flow, ils sont plus Atlanta que Los Angeles, Chicago ou New York, ils sont plus Travis Scott et Playboi Carti que Kendrick Lamar, Vince Staples ou Common. Au confluent de l’ambient et du groove, plusieurs chants / rap au programme se prêtent à des tempos moyens ou lents, bien qu’assurés par un très bon jeu de batterie et portés par de riches harmonies jazz, R&B, néoclassiques, voilà un jazz de chambre atmosphérique, en symbiose avec le beatmaking hip-hop. 

Les textes ne sont pas décoratifs, des états d’âme ont été recueillis depuis une paire d’années. Ce rap keb a de belles qualités phonétiques, révèle quelques trouvailles poétiques sans atteindre de cimes. On y traite de l’allégresse et de l’euphorie générée par un décollage heureux, de l’inévitable cohabitation de ces élans avec le doute, du changement, d’impératifs bouleversements, des évocations héroïques et autres aspirations. Laissons OGB MTL conclure : « Ces onze chansons forment une œuvre célébrant l’évolution constante, le renouvellement perpétuel, l’épanouissement quotidien. Tous les jours printemps. »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre