×
Country : United States Label : Sony Classical Genres and styles : Classical / Soundtrack Year : 2020
Gustavo Santaolalla

The Last of Us – Part II

· by Frédéric Cardin

The Last of Us Part II dives once again into the post-apocalyptic universe created by the studio Naughty Dog, with the refined music of Gustavo Santaolalla, a regular collaborator of director Alejandro González Iñárritu and winner of two Oscars (Brokeback Mountain and Babel). 

Taking advantage of the talents of this kind of composer is a great luxury that video game studios are increasingly able to afford. That said, Santaolalla’s score, written mainly for guitar (acoustic and electric, or sometimes a banjo), doesn’t venture very far on the melodic and harmonic levels. The main theme, very beautiful and above all adequately introspective in this world where the last good humans are rare and confronted with their solitude, is repeated many times with a few variations according to the requirements of the corresponding scenes.

A few threatening passages make a soft industrial-noise use of the electric guitar, with the addition of electronic percussion and insistent sound drones.

All in all, The Last of Us Part II is a soundtrack of certain quality, taking advantage of a strong main theme, but that we would have liked to see developed in a much more elaborate way, considering that Santaolalla is one of the most intelligent and sophisticated musicians currently working in Hollywood.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Sony Classical Genres et styles : classique / trame sonore Année : 2020
Gustavo Santaolalla

The Last of Us – Part II

· par Frédéric Cardin

The Last of Us Part II nous entraîne une fois de plus dans l’univers post-apocalyptique créé par le studio Naughty Dog, avec la musique épurée de Gustavo Santaolalla, collaborateur régulier du réalisateur Alejandro González Iñárritu et gagnant de deux Oscars (Brokeback Mountain et Babel). 

Profiter des talents de ce genre de compositeur est un grand luxe que les studios de jeux vidéo sont de plus en plus en mesure de se payer. Cela dit, la partition de Santaolalla, principalement écrite pour la guitare (acoustique et électrique, ou parfois un banjo), ne s’aventure pas très loin sur les plans mélodique et harmonique. Le thème principal, au demeurant très beau et surtout adéquatement introspectif dans ce monde où les derniers bons humains sont rares et confrontés à leur solitude, est répété moult fois avec quelques variations selon les exigences des scènes correspondantes.

Quelques passages menaçants font, quant à eux, un usage soft industriel-noise de la guitare électrique, additionnée de percussions électroniques et de drones sonores insistants.

En tout et partout, The Last of Us Part II est une trame sonore de qualité certaine, profitant d’un thème principal fort, mais qu’on aurait aimé voir développé de façon beaucoup plus élaborée, considérant que Santaolalla est l’un des musiciens les plus intelligents et sophistiqués travaillant présentement à Hollywood.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre