×
Country : Germany Label : Morr Music Genres and styles : Electronic / Indie Rock / Post-Rock Year : 2020
The Notwist

Ship EP

· by Rupert Bottenberg

A lapse of six years since the last proper album from The Notwist is perhaps not so long if you look at the big picture. It’s been 30 years since the band formed, 22 since they really found their sound with the album Shrink, and 18 since its follow-up, Neon Golden, put the Acher brothers and their teammates on the global new-music map.

Neon Golden placed the band, its offshoots and allies, and the picturesque town of Weilheim (their Bavarian base of operations), at the epicenter of a miniature boom in German indie rock that was absorbing, in varying degrees, electronics and jazz, and presenting their findings with a lot more warmth and sincerity than what was coming out of Berlin, the perennial primary source point for German music.

The title track of Ship is the one most clearly in greater tradition of German exploratory rock, with its pulsating modular synth, precise guitar work, and sweet vocals by Saya Ueno of Japanese duo Tenniscoats (longstanding associates of The Notwist). “Loose Ends” is a ruminative lament that begins pretty tenuously, but gathers itself about halfway through, and from that point builds resolutely to its conclusion. The final piece, “Avalanche”, is a gentle instrumental with a far more sanguine flavour, a noble chamber-pop statement that’s frankly far too short at two and a half minutes, even if it is just working a basic riff into the ground. 

No disappointment after a six-year stall, the Ship EP further justifies itself as a teaser for a full album, expected before too long, with many guests hinted at and, given what’s heard here, likely a very heterogeneous selection of songs.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Allemagne Label : Morr Music Genres et styles : électronique / indie rock / post-rock Année : 2020
The Notwist

Ship EP

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Six ans se sont écoulés depuis le dernier véritable album de The Notwist, mais ce n’est peut-être pas si long quand on met les choses en perspective. Cela fait 30 ans que le groupe existe, 22 qu’il a vraiment trouvé son son avec l’album Shrink, et 18 que sa suite, Neon Golden, a mis les frères Acher et leur bande sur la carte mondiale de la nouvelle musique.

Neon Golden a placé le groupe, ses ramifications et ses alliés, ainsi que la ville pittoresque de Weilheim (sa base d’opérations en Bavière), à l’épicentre d’un mini-boom du rock indie allemand qui intègre, à divers degrés, l’électronique et le jazz, et présente ses créations avec beaucoup plus de chaleur et de sincérité que ce qui venait de Berlin, éternelle source première de la musique allemande.

La chanson-titre de Ship est celle qui s’inscrit le plus clairement dans la grande tradition du rock exploratoire allemand, avec son synthé modulaire pulsant, son travail de guitare précis et la voix douce de Saya Ueno du duo japonais Tenniscoats (associé de longue date à The Notwist). Loose Ends est une complainte ruminative qui commence tout doucement, prend un peu de vitesse à mi-chemin et se poursuit ensuite résolument jusqu’à sa conclusion. Le dernier titre, Avalanche, est une douce pièce instrumentale nettement plus optimiste, une petite musique de chambre hélas bien trop courte avec ses deux minutes et demie, même si elle ne fait que répéter le même motif tout le long.

Pas de déception après une pause de six ans, ce mini-album donne un avant-goût de l’album à paraître sous peu, avec à ce qu’on peut deviner de nombreux invités et, d’après ce qu’on entend ici, un ensemble de chansons assez hétéroclites.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre