×
Country : United States Label : Mercury Records / Republic Records Genres and styles : Dance-Pop / Hip Hop / R&B / rap / Singer-Songwriter Year : 2022

Post Malone – Twelve Carat Toothache

· by CCJ Gabriel

New York rapper and singer Post Malone has been one of the most consistent and progressive artists this generation has produced. His fourth studio album, Twelve Carat Toothache, was met with mediocre reviews and some strong criticism. With the 26-year-olds constant evolution from album to album, it is easy to understand why some fans (and critics who don’t really listen to Posty like that) might feel as though this LP was not as good as his previous efforts. Some fans, including myself, would postulate the exact opposite opinion. 

Having not only incredible songwriting ability, Post also co-produced and played a variety of instruments on this album. In contrast, his previous three albums heard Post playing some guitar on the first two (Stoney and Beerbongs & Bentleys) and not playing any instruments on his last (Hollywood’s Bleeding). With the latter seeming the most disconnected and thrown together of his previous three releases, Toothache feels incredibly personal with Malone’s touch on every track. The fact he is only 26 and is so versed musically, with the ability to convey an extensive range of emotion, is astounding. 

Song by song, Toothache flows seamlessly and is truly an album meant to be played front to back. If we exclude the very last track “New Recording 12, Jan 3, 2020,” there is not one song or feature that seems out of place. “New Recording…” serves as somewhat of an outro that doesn’t feel entirely necessary with “One Right Now,” featuring The Weeknd, a great send-off tonally, however, it is inoffensive to listeners. Circling back to the aforementioned features, every one of them fits the overall vibe of the album and seems carefully chosen. “I Like You (A Happier Song)” and “I Cannot Be (A Sadder Song)” featuring Doja Cat and Gunna respectively, are definitive high points. If we were to make a hypothetical list of “best song to worst,” “When I’m Alone” would sit at the bottom, but again, the quality of the track is exceptional. 

Including two bonus tracks on the deluxe edition, released June 7th, it’s abundantly clear why Post chose to exclude them from the finished album. Although both songs (“Waiting for Never” and “Hateful”) are high calibre, they feel much more commercial and less personal than the final product. “Hateful” being far too jubilant and both coming across as “old-school Posty,” it’s evident Malone was focused on exemplifying his all-around musical ability on this album. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Mercury Records / Republic Records Genres et styles : chanson / dance-pop / hip-hop / R&B Année : 2022

Post Malone – Twelve Carat Toothache

· par CCJ Gabriel

Le rappeur et chanteur new-yorkais Post Malone est l’un des artistes les plus constants et progressistes que cette génération ait produits. Twelve Carat Toothache, son quatrième album studio, a été accueilli par des critiques médiocres et d’autres plus virulentes. Étant donné l’évolution constante du jeune homme de 26 ans d’un album à l’autre, il est facile de comprendre pourquoi certains fans – et les critiques qui n’écoutent pas vraiment Posty en tenant compte de celle-ci – peuvent avoir l’impression que cet album n’est pas aussi bon que ses précédents. Certains fans, dont je fais partie, émettent l’opinion exactement inverse.

Non seulement Post a une incroyable capacité d’écriture, mais il a également coproduit cet album tout en y jouant de nombreux instruments. En revanche, Post jouait de la guitare sur les deux premiers albums (Stoney et Beerbongs & Bentleys) et ne jouait d’aucun instrument sur le dernier (Hollywood’s Bleeding). Alors que ce dernier semble l’album le plus déconnecté et le plus improvisé du corpus, Toothache est incroyablement personnel, avec la touche Malone sur chaque morceau. Il est stupéfiant de constater que Malone n’a que 26 ans, est si versé dans la musique et peut transmettre une si vaste gamme d’émotions.

Chacune des pièces de Toothache coule de source; c’est vraiment un album destiné à être écouté en boucle. Si l’on exclut le tout dernier morceau, New Recording 12, Jan 3, 2020, il n’y en a pas un seul qui semble déplacé. New Recording sert en quelque sorte d’outro pas tout à fait nécessaire, après One Right Now en featuring avec The Weeknd ; une excellente finale sur le plan tonal, qui s’avère toutefois inoffensive pour les auditeurs. Pour en revenir aux featuring mentionnés ci-dessus, chacun d’entre eux correspond à l’ambiance générale de l’album et semble avoir été choisi avec soin. I Like You (A Happier Song) et I Cannot Be (A Sadder Song) avec Doja Cat et Gunna, respectivement, sont des moments forts. Si l’on devait faire une liste hypothétique de la « meilleure à la pire chanson », When I’m Alone se trouverait en bas de la liste. Mais, là encore, la qualité du morceau est exceptionnelle.

Si l’on inclut deux titres bonus dans l’édition de luxe, sortie le 7 juin, on comprend très bien pourquoi Post a choisi de les exclure de l’album fini. Bien que les deux chansons (Waiting for Never et Hateful) soient de haut calibre, elles semblent beaucoup plus commerciales et moins personnelles que le produit final. Hateful est beaucoup trop jubilatoire et les deux chansons sont considérées comme du Post old-school. Il est évident que Malone s’est efforcé d’illustrer ses capacités globales, sur cet album.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre