×
Country : United States Label : Bella Union Genres and styles : Electronic / Experimental / Poetry / Spoken Word Year : 2020
Soundwalk Collective with Patti Smith

Peradam

· by Steve Naud

The final part of the Soundwalk Collective’s Perfect Vision trilogy of sound explorations begins with the song of a Sherpa guide as he prepares to climb Nanda Devi, one of the Himalayan peaks. This invocation is intended to give courage to Stephan Crasneanscki, one of the members of the collective, who was venturing up those dizzying slopes to collect sounds for this album, whose central figure is the French writer René Daumal. The least we can say is that these ethno-musicians are not faint-hearted. In the past, they’ve travelled to Ethiopia to follow in the footsteps of Arthur Rimbaud, and to Mexico’s Sierra Tarahumara to pay homage to Antonin Artaud.

Once again, Crasneanscki and his teammate Simone Merli have called upon the services of the punk godmother herself, singer Patti Smith, pioneer of women’s rock, seasoned poet and notorious Francophile. Reciting English translations of Daumal’s writings as well as words of her own, she becomes our guide through the universe of this author who was deeply influenced by Asian philosophies. Among the rustling wind and bird songs recorded in the mountains of northern India, we can also hear traditional Tibetan instruments played by Tenzin Choegyal, the sitar of Anoushka Shankar, and the voice of Charlotte Gainsbourg reciting a poem by Daumal in French on “The Four Cardinal Times”. 

Peradam speaks to discerning ears. Patti Smith fans expecting a new batch of incandescent rock songs are likely to be left wanting. However, this fascinating work has everything to appeal to listeners in search of new poetic experiences.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Bella Union Genres et styles : déclamation / électronique / expérimental / poésie Année : 2020
Soundwalk Collective with Patti Smith

Peradam

· par Steve Naud

L’ultime volet de la trilogie Perfect Vision des explorateurs sonores du Soundwalk Collective débute avec le chant d’un guide sherpa s’apprêtant à escalader le Nanda Devi, un des sommets de l’Himalaya. Cette invocation est destinée à donner du courage à Stephan Crasneanscki – un des membres du collectif – qui s’aventurait sur ces pentes vertigineuses afin d’y recueillir des sons pour cet album dont la figure centrale est l’écrivain français René Daumal. Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que ces ethno-musiciens n’ont pas froid aux yeux. Par le passé, ils se sont rendus en Éthiopie pour suivre les traces d’Arthur Rimbaud, et dans la Sierra Tarahumara du Mexique afin de rendre hommage à Antonin Artaud.

Pour une nouvelle fois, Crasneanscki et sa co-équipière Simone Merli ont fait appel aux services de la déesse-mère punk en personne : la chanteuse Patti Smith, pionnière du rock au féminin, poète aguerrie et francophile notoire. Récitant des traductions anglaises des écrits de Daumal ainsi que des mots de son propre cru, elle devient notre guide dans l’univers de cet auteur qui a été profondément marqué par les philosophies orientales. Parmi les bruissements du vent et les chants d’oiseaux enregistrés dans les montagnes du nord de l’Inde, on peut également entendre des instruments traditionnels tibétains joués par Tenzin Choegyal, le sitar d’Anoushka Shankar ainsi que la voix de Charlotte Gainsbourg qui récite un poème de Daumal en français sur The Four Cardinal Times

Peradam s’adresse à des oreilles averties. Les fans de Patti Smith qui s’attendent à une nouvelle fournée de chansons rock incandescentes resteront fort probablement sur leur faim. Toutefois, cette œuvre fascinante a tout pour plaire aux auditeurs en quête d’expériences poétiques inédites.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre