×
Country : United States Label : Daptone Genres and styles : Disco / Funk / Soul Year : 2020
Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

Just Dropped In To See What Condition My Rendition Was In

· by Rupert Bottenberg

All respect is due to Antibalas, The Budos Band, and all the others on the labels Desco and then Daptone. The beating heart of the boisterous Brooklyn funk revival that exploded around the turn of the millennium, however, was Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings. A perfect recreation of the classic ’60s soul revue, it paired up the band that backed Amy Winehouse on Back to Black with a full-time frontwoman who’d previously been both a corrections officer and wedding singer – a commanding yet convivial presence, with powerhouse pipes to boot. The bond held for 20 musically amazing years, two decades that saw eight albums, a Grammy nomination, and countless collaborations including Michael Bublé, Phish, and David Byrne – until Jones’ passing from pancreatic cancer in 2016.

Though the band delivered killer originals, they earned a reputation for punchy cover versions, cooked up for soundtracks, advertisements, tribute projects, or just for the hell of it. Their earliest calling card, after all, was a surprising take on Janet Jackson’s “What Have You Done For Me Lately?” It’s included here, as is “Take Me With U”, from Prince’s Purple Rain. These two iconic ’80s soul-pop tracks are about the most dramatically altered of the dozen on this retrospective compilation – a lucky 13 in the digital format, with a startling revision of Woody Guthrie’s folk anthem “This Land Is Your Land”. The old-school soul numbers, like Aretha Franklin’s “Rescue Me” and the young Stevie Wonder’s “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours”, arrive unadulterated, while others still are given just the right bit of the outfit’s own twist. They strip off the glitz and toughen up Musique’s mid-’70s disco essential “In the Bush”, and feed a jolt of electricity to “Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In)”, the Kenny Rogers oddity familiar to fans of The Big Lebowski.

Consider this an album of other people’s greatest hits, if you like, but be assured that it’s a solid-gold soul session from end to end, with rave-ups, shakedowns, and a couple of easy jams to catch one’s breath. It’s also one more opportunity to remember Jones, a latter-day queen of soul music.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : États-Unis Label : Daptone Genres et styles : disco / funk / soul Année : 2020

Just Dropped In To See What Condition My Rendition Was In

· par Rupert Bottenberg

N’en déplaise à Antibalas, au Budos Band et à tous les autres artistes des labels Desco et Daptone, le cœur battant de la renaissance du funk de Brooklyn qui a explosé au tournant du millénaire, c’était Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings. Recréation parfaite des revues soul classiques des années 60, la formation réunissait le groupe qui accompagnait Amy Winehouse sur Back to Black et une chanteuse – laquelle a été agente des services correctionnels et chantait à des mariages – qui avait du coffre et une présence aussi bouillante qu’imposante. Leur partenariat a duré 20 ans. Deux décennies qui ont vu la sortie de huit albums, une nomination aux Grammy Awards et d’innombrables collaborations, notamment avec Michael Bublé, Phish et David Byrne – soit jusqu’au décès de Jones d’un cancer du pancréas en 2016.

Même si le groupe a créé de sacrés originaux durant 20 ans, il était aussi connu pour ses reprises percutantes, concoctées pour des bandes sonores, des publicités, des hommages ou simplement pour le plaisir. L’une de ses premières cartes de visite était d’ailleurs une version surprenante de What Have You Done For Me Lately ? de Janet Jackson. On la retrouve ici, tout comme Take Me With U, chanson de Prince tirée de Purple Rain. Ces deux titres emblématiques de la soul-pop des années 80 sont ceux qui ont été le plus radicalement transformés parmi la douzaine que compte cette compilation rétrospective (treize en format numérique), dont une reprise étonnante de l’hymne folk de Woody Guthrie, This Land Is Your Land. Les titres soul plus vieille école, comme Rescue Me d’Aretha Franklin et Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours de Stevie Wonder dans son jeune temps, ont été recréés fidèlement, tandis que d’autres portent davantage la griffe du groupe. Ainsi, les paillettes disparaissent au profit d’une interprétation plus musclée sur l’incontournable succès disco des années 70 In The Bush, et Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In), la curiosité de Kenny Rogers que connaissent bien les adeptes de The Big Lebowski, bénéficie d’une version survitaminée.

Cet album a beau être une compilation de reprises, il recèle de véritables bijoux du début à la fin – et ça brasse, pas à peu près ! –, avec quelques jams histoire de reprendre son souffle. C’est aussi l’occasion de lever son chapeau à Sharon Jones, reine de la musique soul aujourd’hui disparue.

Tout le contenu 360

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Will Régnier – Traces

Will Régnier – Traces

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre