×
Country : United States Label : Whirlwind Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / Jazz Year : 2020
Rudresh Mahanthappa

Hero Trio

· by Steve Naud

Indian-born American saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa has now been at it for almost 30 years. A jazz reformist, he has brought his alto saxophone to the carnatic music of South India, contemporary music of Western tradition, and rock, even metal. After all these peregrinations, he now offers us a disc of covers on which he pays tribute to the creators who inspired him, his musical heroes.

On the program are rereadings of songs composed or popularized by the saxophonists who guided him in his learning of the instrument: Charlie Parker, Benny Carter, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane, Lee Konitz, and Ornette Coleman. Mahanthappa also has the audacity to tackle Keith Jarrett’s “The Windup”, which he recreates without piano. He also ventures outside the confines of jazz by covering two songs he loved in his youth: Stevie Wonder’s “Overjoyed”, rearranged by pianist Danilo Perez, and the monumental “Ring of Fire” by the man in black himself, Johnny Cash.

To fulfill his mission of recognition, the super-saxophonist called upon two long-time acolytes, double bassist François Moutin and percussionist Rudy Royston. This reduced formation with partners he has known for a long time gives him all the flexibility he needs to let himself go and re-imagine the pieces he’s chosen to measure himself against. What’s most apparent in these very successful reappropriations is pure pleasure, the joy the trio takes in adding new colours to old standards. The rereadings of Gershwin’s “I Can’t Get Started” and Coleman’s “Sadness” are more contemplative, but the other pieces in this anthology breathe happiness in full bloom.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Whirlwind Genres et styles : jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Rudresh Mahanthappa

Hero Trio

· par Steve Naud

Le saxophoniste américain d’origine indienne Rudresh Mahanthappa fait maintenant carrière depuis près de trente ans. Réformateur du jazz, il a amené son saxophone alto du côté de la musique carnatique du sud de l’Inde, de la musique contemporaine de tradition occidentale et du rock, même du metal. Après toutes ces pérégrinations, il nous propose aujourd’hui un disque de reprises sur lequel il rend hommage aux créateurs qui l’ont inspiré, ses héros musicaux.

Au programme, nous retrouvons donc des relectures de morceaux composés ou popularisés par les saxophonistes qui l’ont guidé dans son apprentissage de l’instrument : Charlie Parker, Benny Carter, Sonny Rollins, John Coltrane, Lee Konitz et Ornette Coleman. Mahanthappa a également l’audace de s’attaquer à The Windup de Keith Jarrett, qu’il recrée sans piano. Il s’aventure aussi hors des confins du jazz en reprenant deux chansons qui ont bercé sa jeunesse : Overjoyed de Stevie Wonder, réarrangée par le pianiste Danilo Perez, et l’archi-célèbre Ring of Fire de l’homme en noir en personne, Johnny Cash.

Afin de s’acquitter de sa mission de reconnaissance, le super-saxophoniste a fait appel à deux acolytes de longue date : le contrebassiste François Moutin et le percussionniste Rudy Royston. Cette formation réduite avec des partenaires qu’il connaît depuis belle lurette lui procure toute la souplesse nécessaire pour se laisser aller à réimaginer les pièces auxquelles il a choisi de se mesurer. Ce qui transparaît surtout dans ces réappropriations fort réussies, c’est le plaisir à l’état pur, la joie que le trio a à donner de nouvelles couleurs à de vieux standards. Les relectures d’I Can’t Get Started de Gershwin et Sadness de Coleman sont plus contemplatives, mais les autres morceaux de ce florilège respirent le bonheur à plein nez.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre