×
Country : China / Syria / United States Label : Arc Genres and styles : Arabic Traditional / Experimental / North East Asian Year : 2020
Gao Hong & Issam Rafea

From Our World To Yours

· by Rupert Bottenberg

This pairing of pluckers of pear-shaped instruments arrives with admirable bona fides. Composer and oud player Issam Rafea was the principal conductor of the now-defunct Syrian National Orchestra (yes, the one on the Gorillaz track “White Flag”). A professional pipa player since the age of 12, after training with a top master in Beijing, Gao Hong (now based in Minnesota) has garnered awards, accolades, and academic honours ever since.

Both are voracious collaborators, so it’s not entirely surprising that once their paths crossed, they’d conspire to explore the commonalities and contrasts of their instruments, each a relative of the lute. Their first record together, Life As Is, came out in 2018, and now their second appears.

The initial impression is of a polite Sino-Syrian diplomatic exchange, and the title track, opening the album, doesn’t dispel the notion. Neither do “Moving Forward” or “Joyful Dance”. Elsewhere, however, the conversations between the two – entirely improvised and informed by free association – seem to occur in third-party territory (there’s something rather Renaissance about “Reunion”) or even on some other world entirely (consider the mimicry of Martian mechanisms on “Outer Space” and “Robot”).

At the very least, the duo’s discussions are often in a language all their own, spacious, expressive, and convincing. The nice, dry, open sound of the live recording allows an excellent appreciation of the dynamics, timbres, and particularly the percussive possibilities that Hong and Rafea enthusiastically exploit.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Chine / États-Unis / Syrie Label : Arc Genres et styles : asiatique du Nord-Est / expérimental / musique traditionnelle arabe Année : 2020
Gao Hong & Issam Rafea

From Our World To Yours

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Ces deux joueurs d’instruments en forme de poire à cordes pincées présentent d’excellentes références. Le compositeur et joueur de oud Issam Rafea était le chef principal de l’Orchestre National Syrien, aujourd’hui disparu (oui, celui de la chanson White Flag de Gorillaz) et le joueur professionnel de pipa Gao Hong, après avoir suivi une formation auprès d’un grand maître à Beijing, n’a pas cessé depuis l’âge de 12 ans de recevoir prix, récompenses et distinctions académiques (il est aujourd’hui installé au Minnesota).

Tous deux sont des collaborateurs boulimiques, il n’est donc pas surprenant qu’après s’être croisés une première fois, ils aient été tentés d’explorer les points communs et les dissemblances de leurs instruments, l’un et l’autre étant apparentés au luth. Leur premier album en duo, Life As Is, est sorti en 2018, et leur deuxième vient de de paraître.

Avec la pièce-titre en ouverture, on a l’impression d’avoir affaire à un échange diplomatique sino-syrien poli, perception que Moving Forward et Joyful Dance ne permettent pas de dissiper. Ailleurs, cependant, les conversations entre eux – entièrement improvisées et construites par libre association d’idées – semblent se dérouler en territoire autre (il y a quelque chose de plutôt Renaissance dans Reunion) ou même sur une autre planète (avec l’imitation des mécanismes martiens sur Outer Space et Robot).

En tout cas, les échanges du duo se font le plus souvent dans une langue qui leur est propre, spacieuse, expressive et convaincante. Agréable, à la fois neutre et ouverte, la prise de son de l’enregistrement en direct permet d’apprécier la dynamique, les timbres et surtout les possibilités percussives de leurs instruments, que Hong et Rafea exploitent avec enthousiasme.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre