×
Country : United States Label : Greenleaf Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / Jazz Year : 2020
Dave Douglas

Dizzy Atmosphere

· by Steve Naud

As the title suggests, trumpeter Dave Douglas’ new album is a tribute to his illustrious predecessor Dizzy Gillespie. This isn’t the first time the New York musician has engaged in such an undertaking. In the past, he’s saluted works as diverse as those of Booker Little, Mary Lou Williams, Wayne Shorter, Carla Bley, and Jimmy Giuffre. On each occasion, Douglas has carefully avoided reproducing the artist’s manner, preferring instead to honour their spirit, their vision. Dizzy Atmosphere is no exception. 

The project first saw the light of day on stage. Douglas was then surrounded by an impressive line-up of instrumentalists including Ambrose Akinmusire, Bill Frisell and Linda Oh, among others. For the studio adventure, only the always excellent drummer Joey Baron is back behind Dave and his permanently affixed hat. The sextet is completed by Matt Stevens (guitar), Fabian Almazan (piano), Carmen Rothwell (double bass) and Dave Adewumi (trumpet). The latter’s presence is a nod to Gillespie, who used to invite a younger trumpet player at his side. 

The program includes seven original pieces by Douglas, and two reinterpretations of numbers composed by Gillespie: “Manteca”, which carries a whiff of the Cuban spices Diz was so fond of, and “Pickin’ the Cabbage”, whose melody breathes the spirit of the legendary trumpet player. Generous as always, Douglas isn’t stingy with space, and each of his talented teammates has the opportunity to make their mark. Although they know how to shine with elegance in muscular exchanges, it’s particularly in the more peaceful moments, when the music rises above the limits of our atmosphere, and those of the bebop advocated by Dizzy, that the magic works best. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Greenleaf Genres et styles : jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Dave Douglas

Dizzy Atmosphere

· par Steve Naud

Comme son titre l’indique, le nouvel album du trompettiste Dave Douglas est un hommage à son illustre prédécesseur Dizzy Gillespie. Ce n’est pas la première fois que le musicien new-yorkais se livre à une telle entreprise. Par le passé, il a salué des œuvres aussi diverses que celles de Booker Little, Mary Lou Williams, Wayne Shorter, Carla Bley et Jimmy Giuffre. À chaque fois, Douglas a soigneusement évité de reproduire la manière de l’artiste, préférant honorer son esprit, sa vision. Dizzy Atmosphere ne fait pas exception. 

Le projet a tout d’abord vu le jour sur scène. Douglas était alors entouré d’une brochette impressionnante d’instrumentistes comptant entre autres Ambrose Akinmusire, Bill Frisell et Linda Oh. Pour l’aventure en studio, seul le toujours excellent batteur Joey Baron est de retour derrière Dave et son éternel chapeau. Le sextuor est complété par Matt Stevens (guitare), Fabian Almazan (piano), Carmen Rothwell (contrebasse) et Dave Adewumi (trompette). La présence de ce dernier est une manière de clin d’œil à Gillespie qui avait l’habitude d’inviter un trompettiste plus jeune à ses côtés. 

Le programme comprend sept pièces originales signées Douglas et deux relectures de morceaux composés par Gillespie : Manteca qui fleure bon les épices cubaines que Diz affectionnait tant et Pickin’ the Cabbage dont la mélodie respire l’esprit cabotin qui animait le trompettiste légendaire. Généreux comme il l’est toujours, Douglas n’est pas avare d’espace et chacun de ses talentueux coéquipiers a l’occasion de se faire valoir. Bien qu’ils sachent briller avec élégance dans les échanges musclés, c’est surtout dans les moments plus apaisés, où la musique s’élève hors des limites de notre atmosphère et de celles du bebop préconisé par Dizzy, que la magie opère le mieux. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre