×
Country : Croatia Label : Indépendant Genres and styles : Disco / Dub / Funk / Psych-Rock Year : 2020
Nemanja

Cosmic Disco

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Tragic news to share: Luka Šipetić, the Croatian studio rat behind the first Nemanja album, 2019’s Tarot Funk, has died.

Hark! Cease your lamentations! You’ve likely never even heard of Nemanja, so your grief seems disingenuous, and in any case, Mr. Šipetić has been reborn. His miraculous resurrection attends the arrival of the second album from Nemanja, now a proper five-piece band, at least on stage (it’s still largely Šipetić’s singular vision, in recorded form).

Tarot Funk followed a firm formula, a tailor-made track each for nine of the major arcana of the tarot deck. Cosmic Disco claims to do likewise, offering to guide the listener through the Chikhai, Chonyid, and Sidpa bardos of Tibetan Book of the Dead. The conceit is far less convincing this time around, but hey, if it’s enlightenment you seek, try a lamp store.

“Dāw Yĕn” starts things off in the terrain of Swiss label Bongo Joe, a dizzy mix of ersatz Thai molam, drunken disco chants, low-gravity bass, and esoteric instructions. As matters progress, Nemanja adds other flavours familiar to fans of the revisionist mystery-funk movement, some Turkish folk-rock here (“Kozmik Oyun”), some classic cumbia there (“Cumbia Cosmica”), and lots of disco, obviously. “As Above, So Below” lays an organ arabesque over a rocksteady groove, and soaks it all in a wash of dub. To Šipetić’s credit, the nine numbers here are all sufficiently resolved, wonderfully weird but welcoming, and carry the ebullience of someone who got a second lease on life.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Croatie Label : Indépendant Genres et styles : disco / dub / funk / rock psychédélique Année : 2020
Nemanja

Cosmic Disco

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Triste nouvelle : Luka Šipetić, le rat de studio croate derrière le premier album de Nemanja, Tarot Funk, paru en 2019, est décédé.

Cessez vos lamentations ! Vous n’avez probablement jamais entendu parler de Nemanja, votre deuil semble donc peu sincère, et de toute façon, M. Šipetić est revenu d’entre les morts. Sa miraculeuse résurrection préside à la sortie du deuxième album de Nemanja, devenu un véritable groupe de cinq musiciens depuis, du moins sur scène (sous sa forme enregistrée, c’est encore largement la vision singulière de Šipetić).

Tarot Funk suivait une formule bien précise : une pièce pour chacun des neuf arcanes majeurs du jeu de tarot. De la même façon, Cosmic Disco propose de guider l’auditeur à travers les bardos Chikhai, Chonyid et Sidpa du Livre des morts tibétain. Le concept est beaucoup moins convaincant cette fois-ci, mais bon, si c’est l’illumination que vous cherchez, essayez du côté d’un magasin de luminaires.

Dāw Yĕn démarre en territoire du label suisse Bongo Joe avec un mélange étourdissant d’ersatz de molam thaïlandais, de chants disco ivres, de basse à faible gravité et de directives ésotériques. Au fur et à mesure, Nemanja ajoute d’autres sonorités qui sont familières aux fans du mouvement révisionniste mystery-funk, du folk-rock turc par-ci (Kozmik Oyun), de la cumbia classique par-là (Cumbia Cosmica) et beaucoup de disco, évidemment. As Above, So Below jumelle une arabesque jouée à l’orgue à une groove rocksteady, le tout baignant dans le dub. Les neuf titres ici sont tous suffisamment achevés – c’est tout à l’honneur de Šipetić –, merveilleusement étranges tout en étant bienveillants, et ont l’exubérance de quelqu’un qui a eu une seconde vie.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre