A July 1st at FIJM: Julius Rodriguez, Theon Cross, Moon Hooch, Anomalie, Micheal League, …

by Rédaction PAN M 360

At the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, PAN M 360’s experts attend all the concerts that shake up music lovers. Follow our team!

Julius Rodriguez: One of the Greats at 24

Despite a first set cut short due to “weather conditions”, young pianist-drummer-composer Julius Rodriguez had the crowd tucked away under the shelter of the La Traversée Molson Export pub in the Quartier des Spectacles’ Place Tranquille totally glued to his vivacity, intelligence, and virtuosity. Rodriguez’s method is simple: always base himself on a motif, a melodic-rhythmic phrase, a riff, or a simple, catchy theme, and then unleash all his expressive possibilities.

Rodriguez is a young musician as instinctive in improvisation as he is remarkably well-educated in technique (classical AND jazz). His limpid and frankly exciting playing is imbued with emancipation that he knows how to communicate to his partners on double bass, drums (as he has mostly played piano), and trumpet. They are as at ease with their interpretative boldness as they are with the task of making it all coherent with their leader’s vision.

A few Hancock gems (including “Butterfly”), but plenty of material from his two active albums (one full-length and one EP, just in) and some new material too, which he hasn’t named yet. I suggest Rainy Night in Montreal, because it’s sure to be a memorable moment. As a bonus, for just one track (“In Heaven,” featured on Let Sound Tell All released in 2022): the masterful voice of Samara Joy, who is rightly compared to Ella, Nina, and Sarah. A true lesson in vocal expressivity. The next time Julius comes to Montreal, it will be in a concert hall, at a high price.

Frédéric Cardin

Theon Cross Uncovers the Mysterious Sounds of the Tuba

Theon Cross plays the tuba like someone who has discovered every secret the instrument possesses. No one really knew what we were in store for inside the walls of TD Studio but most of the show was Theon Cross and a reverb-y guitar player making some cosmic sounds, that reminded me of the interludes in a song from The Comet is Coming.

The guitar almost acted like a feedback machine, diving more into the ambient rock realm, as the tuba was always at the forefront of the performance. A few pieces had only Cross playing the tuba with complex breathing techniques that made the instrument sound like a screeching cat. To be honest, after 15 minutes of this kind of solo performance, I had seen what I needed to. He’s very skilled but you can only be amazed at how many sounds you can make with the tuba, so many times.

Stephan Boissonneault

Moon Hooch: Jazzy, Brassy, EDM for this Generation

Moon Hooch exists at a weird impasse where they could be a straight EDM band led by saxophones, or a more soundscape jazz trio. Though, they definitely favoured the danceability of their music during their rainy, indoor, Canada Day performance at Gesu. The venue may have hosted seats, but it only took 15 minutes for Moon Hooch to get everyone standing and dancing to their impressive dueling saxophone music.

The drummer really needs a mention here because he keeps the time and groove as Michael and Wenzl keep the madness going. Some of the songs sounded like straight-up techno or house music and if I wasn’t watching them switch between baritone, alto, and tenor saxophones live, I would have sworn the songs were coming from the synth patches. Moon Hooch basically takes turns acting like DJs hyping up the crowd while their other bandmates are playing their hearts out. I think the venue choice was an odd one because a band with that much energy should have played on an outdoor stage.

Stephan Boissonneault

Anomalie en formule big band, ce n’est qu’un début !

photo credit: Benoît Rousseau

On Rio Tinto stage, more than 15 musicians were involved in Anomalie, a jazz-fusion-soul-R&B-dancehall project led by Montreal keyboardist and composer Nicolas Lemieux.


The prediction is easy to make: in any configuration, Anomalie is promised to a brilliant international career in the instrumental pop world . This big band formula is not commonplace in the local jazz scene, but it is becoming increasingly so among the generation of 30-somethings who have imbibed the hip-hop of Kendrick Lamar, the electro of Flying Lotus, and the jazz groove coming out of the new scenes in Los Angeles, Chicago and London.

As he explains in an interview, Nicolas Lemieux does not seek to transcend the forms of modern jazz, but rather to compose orchestral music as if it were a pop song with jazzified extensions. On Saturday, the thousands of soaked fans after a long downpour cut the 90-minute performance in half. The audience was nonetheless happy to vibrate to rhythms closer to instrumental hip-hop than jazz, to powerful, harmonically consonant riffs, and to a handful of choreographed soloists such as trumpeter Andy King or the leader himself on keyboards.

This instrumental pop speaks to anyone who has experienced adolescence or young adulthood over the past two decades. Everyone can find their way around it, the markers are clear and there’s no head-scratching on the horizon. Nicolas Lemieux’s songwriting doesn’t lead to atonal explorations, takes few non-binary rhythmic paths, and sticks to catchy melodies and friendly riffs. All good reasons to believe in Anomalie’s present and future success.

Alain Brunet

League, Brock, Thomas, Spark: magnificent mix of instruments and styles

Snarky Puppy is that iconoclastic American jazz band, who performed on June 30 at the Jazziest as a large ensemble, to celebrate their latest album Empire Central. 

On July 1, we were treated to a quartet from Snarky Puppy. Violinist Zach Brock, drummer JT Thomas, keyboardist Bobby Sparks and bassist and leader Michael League. 

Violin , keyboard, drums, bass – it’s a rare combination.

These four musicians have worked with so many people, from David Crosby to Stanley Clarke to David Liebman, the RH Factor, Fred Hammond. And they’ve all known each other for a long time.

The quartet took off like a lion, to a Wayne Shorter theme, followed by Stevie Wonder. I didn’t recognize the piece, so powerful was the jazz improvisation. 

These four free spirits improvise on well-known themes, but don’t know where their complicity will lead them. Sometimes it’s pure jazz, sometimes heart-rending soul, sometimes on the rock edge..

Michael League explained the origins of this quartet to us: in the early days of Snarky Puppy, in Texas, in 2007, League, Sparks and Thomas went to a small club in Dallas every monday night to improvise non-stop. Violinist Zach Brock occasionally joined in. 

The Jazz Festival offered Michael League a second night’s performance, and he chose to resurrect the experience.  

And no one was bored: Jt Thomas sang a Bill Whiters song Who is He And What Is He To You, which led to some wild improvisations… Violinist Zach Broch was all subtlety, Bobby Sparks went wild on his organ. 

Then there was De Angelo’s Voodoo. And a blues whose name I’ve forgotten.

Throughout the show, Michael League, as usual, held things together with his roaring electric bass. He even allowed himself a few solo flights, including one with a fuzz pedal that scratched our spines.

I’ve said it many times on this site: Michael League is one of the most creative American musicians of his generation. He demonstrated this once again.  

And the crowd, multi-generational, would have taken it again.

Michel Labrecque

Latest 360 Content

Burna Boy almost fills two Bell Centres: Nigeria on our doorstep!

Burna Boy almost fills two Bell Centres: Nigeria on our doorstep!

“In the Half-Light” – Barbara Hannigan with Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

“In the Half-Light” – Barbara Hannigan with Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Repsublica VON TAZTIKA – Pensee Sale

Repsublica VON TAZTIKA – Pensee Sale

Single of the Day: “Tu Loges” – Alcalyne

Single of the Day: “Tu Loges” – Alcalyne

Will Régnier – Traces

Will Régnier – Traces

Kevin Chen, or the challenges of an 18-year-old virtuoso

Kevin Chen, or the challenges of an 18-year-old virtuoso

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Friday night at OM: spectacular violin and Fairy sand tales

Friday night at OM: spectacular violin and Fairy sand tales

8th annual ViU concert | The Different Avenues of the Next Generation

8th annual ViU concert | The Different Avenues of the Next Generation

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Bamberger Symphoniker, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky / Bartók / Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Bamberger Symphoniker, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky / Bartók / Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Barbara Hannigan, La voix… superhuman!

Barbara Hannigan, La voix… superhuman!

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Bozzini Quartet : microtones, great music

Bozzini Quartet : microtones, great music

SMCQ: Prana, breathing, “comprovisation”

SMCQ: Prana, breathing, “comprovisation”

Subscribe to our newsletter

Un 1er juillet au FIJM: Julius Rodriguez, Theon Cross, Moon Hooch, Anomalie, Micheal League…

par Rédaction PAN M 360

Au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, les experts de PAN M 360 assistent aux concerts qui secouent les mélomanes. Suivez notre équipe !

Julius Rodriguez: déjà un grand, du haut de ses 24 ans

Malgré un premier set écourté à cause des ‘’conditions météorologiques’’, le jeune pianiste-batteur-compositeur Julius Rodriguez a rendu la foule bien réfugiée sous l’abri du pub La Traversée Molson Export de la Place Tranquille du Quartier des spectacles totalement scotchée à sa vivacité, son intelligence et sa virtuosité.

La méthode Rodriguez est simple : toujours se baser sur un motif, une phrase mélodico-rythmique, un riff ou un thème simple et accrocheur pour ensuite libérer toutes ses possibilités expressives. Rodriguez est un jeune musicien aussi instinctif en impro que remarquablement éduqué en technique (classique ET jazz). Son jeu limpide et franchement excitant est empreint d’une émancipation qu’il sait communiquer à ses partenaires à la contrebasse, à la batterie (car il a joué majoritairement le piano) et à la trompette.

Ceux-ci sont aussi aisés dans leur hardiesse interprétative que bien attelés à rendre tout cela cohérent avec la vision de leur leader. Quelques perles signées Hancock (dont Butterfly), mais pas mal de matos de ses deux albums actifs (un complet et un EP, tout juste) et de la nouvelle matière aussi, qu’il n’a pas encore nommée. Je suggère Rainy Night in Montreal, parce que ça restera un moment mémorable. En bonus, pour une seule pièce (In Heaven, présente sur Let Sound Tell All sorti en 2022) : la magistrale voix de Samara Joy que l’on compare, à raison, à Ella, Nina et Sarah. Une véritable leçon d’expressivité vocale. La prochaine fois que Julius viendra chez nous, ce sera en salle, à fort prix.

Frédéric Cardin

Theon Cross explore les sons mystérieux du tuba

Theon Cross joue du tuba comme quelqu’un qui a découvert tous les secrets de cet instrument. Personne ne savait vraiment ce qui nous attendait à l’intérieur des murs du TD Studio, mais la majeure partie du spectacle était composée de Theon Cross et d’un guitariste à la réverbération produisant des sons cosmiques, qui m’ont rappelé les intermèdes d’une chanson de The Comet is Coming.

La guitare agissait presque comme une machine à larsen, plongeant davantage dans le domaine du rock ambient, alors que le tuba était toujours au premier plan de la performance. Dans certains morceaux, seul Cross jouait du tuba avec des techniques de respiration complexes qui faisaient ressembler l’instrument à un chat hurlant. Pour être honnête, après 15 minutes de ce type de performance en solo, j’avais vu ce que j’avais à voir. Il est très doué, mais on ne peut que s’étonner du nombre de sons que l’on peut produire avec un tuba, tant de fois.

Stephan Boissonneault

Moon Hooch: EDM cuivrée et jazzée pour cette génération

Moon Hooch se trouve dans une impasse étrange où il pourrait être un groupe EDM dirigé par des saxophones, ou un trio de jazz à l’ambiance plus sonore. Cependant, ils ont définitivement privilégié le côté dansant de leur musique lors de leur performance intérieure et pluvieuse de la Fête du Canada au Gesu. La salle pouvait accueillir des sièges, mais il n’a fallu que 15 minutes à Moon Hooch pour que tout le monde se lève et danse sur leur impressionnante musique de duels de saxophones.

Le batteur a vraiment besoin d’être mentionné ici parce qu’il maintient le rythme et le groove pendant que Michael et Wenzl font durer la folie. Certains morceaux ressemblent à de la techno ou de la house music et si je ne les regardais pas passer du saxophone baryton au saxophone alto et au saxophone ténor en direct, j’aurais juré que les morceaux venaient des patchs de synthé. Moon Hooch joue le rôle de DJ à tour de rôle pour stimuler la foule pendant que les autres membres du groupe jouent à fond. Je pense que le choix de la salle était étrange car un groupe avec autant d’énergie aurait dû jouer sur une scène extérieure.

Stephan Boissonneault

Anomalie en formule big band, ce n’est qu’un début !

photo credit: Benoît Rousseau

Scène Rio-Tinto, ils étaient plus d’une quinzaine de musiciens sous la bannière Anomalie, ce projet de jazz-fusion-soul-R&B-dancehall mené par le claviériste et compositeur montréalais Nicolas Lemieux.

La prédiction est facile à formuler : dans toutes ses configurations, Anomalie est promis à une brillante carrière internationale. Cette formule big band n’est pas courante dans le contexte jazzistique local, mais elle l’est de plus en plus au sein de la génération de trentenaires biberonnés au hip-hop de Kendrick Lamar, à l’électro de Flying Lotus et au jazz issu des nouvelles scènes de Los Angeles, Chicago ou Londres.

Comme il l’explique en interview, Nicolas Lemieux ne cherche pas à transcender les formes du jazz moderne mais plutôt à composer la musique orchestrale comme s’il s’agissait d’une chanson pop aux prolongements jazzifiés. Samedi, les milliers de fans trempés au terme d’une averse longue et insistante, ayant amputé de moitié la performance prévue pour 90 minutes. Le public n’en était pas moins heureux de vibre sur ces rythmes plus proches du hip-hop instrumental que du jazz, de ces riffs puissants et harmoniquement consonants, et quelques solistes chrevronnés tel le trompettiste Andy King ou le leader lui-même aux claviers.

Cette pop instrumentale parle à quiconque a vécu son adolescence ou sa jeune vie adulte au cours des deux précédentes décennies. Chacun peut s’y retrouver, les balises sont claires, aucune prise de tête à l’horizon. L’écriture de Nicolas Lemieux ne mène pas aux explorations atonales, emprunte peu les chemins rythmiques non binaires, s’en tient à des mélodies accrocheuses et des riffs conviviaux. Voilà autant de raisons de croire au succès présent et à venir d’Anomalie.

Alain Brunet

League, Brock, Thomas, Spark: magnifique mélange d’instruments et de genres

Snarky Puppy est ce groupe de jazz iconoclaste américain, qui se produisait le 30 juin en grand ensemble, pour célébrer son dernier album Empire central

Le premier juillet, nous avons eu droit à un quartet issu de Snarky Puppy. Le violoniste Zach Brock, le batteur JT Thomas, le claviériste Bobby Sparks et le bassiste et leader Michael League. 

Violon, Clavier, batterie, Basse, c’est peu commun.

À eux quatre, ces musiciens ont travaillé avec tellement de gens, de David Crosby à Stanley Clarke à David Liebman, the RH Factor, Fred Hammond. Et ils se connaissent tous depuis longtemps .

Le quartet est parti en lion, sur un thème de Wayne Shorter puis Stevie Wonder a suivi. Je n’ai pas reconnu la pièce tellement le travail d’improvisation jazzistique était puissant. 

Ces quatre esprits libres improvisent sur des thèmes connus, mais ne savent pas où leur complicité va les mener. Parfois, on est dans le jazz pur, parfois dans le soul déchirant, parfois dans le fuzzy extrême. 

Michael League nous a expliqué l’origine de ce quartet: dans les début de Snarky Puppy, au Texas, en 2007, League, Sparks et Thomas se rendaient chaque lundi soir dans une petite boîte de Dallas, pour improviser sans arrêt . Le violoniste Zach Brock se joignait à eux occasionnellement. 

Le festival de Jazz a offert une deuxième soirée de spectacle à Michael League et il a choisi de ressusciter cette expérience.  

Et personne ne s’est ennuyé : Jt Thomas a chanté une chanson de Bill Whiters Who is He And What Is He To You, qui a mené à des improvisations déjeantées.. Le violoniste Zach Broch était tout en subtilités, Bobby Sparks s’est déchaîné sur son orgue. 

Puis il y’ a eu Voodoo de De Angelo. Et un blues dont j’ai oublié le nom.

Tout au long du spectacle, Michael League, comme à son habitude, formait le liant avec sa basse électrique vrombissante. Il s’est même permis quelques envolées en solo, y compris une avec une pédale fuzz qui grattait notre colonne vertébrale.

Je l’ai dit souvent sur ce site: Michael League est un des musiciens américain les plus créatif de sa génération. Il en a fait de nouveau la démonstration.  

Et la foule, multigénérationnelle, en aurait pris encore.

Michel Labrecque

Tout le contenu 360

Aswell: banlieusard un jour, banlieusard toujours

Aswell: banlieusard un jour, banlieusard toujours

ENSEMBLE ARTCHORAL

ENSEMBLE ARTCHORAL

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

La meilleure version de Karkwa

La meilleure version de Karkwa

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre