×
Country : Scotland Label : Samedia Shebeen Genres and styles : Afro-Caribbean / Afro-Electro / Downtempo / House / latino Year : 2020

Sound of Samedia Vol. 2

· by Rupert Bottenberg

The crew maintaining the Edinburgh-based night club and ambulatory soundsystem Samedia Shebeen have been at it for a decade now, keeping Scotland on its toes and hitting festivals abroad, including the crucial Nyege Nyege Festival in Kampala, Uganda. Their first compilation, released in 2018, declared their mandate – a congenial, midtempo mix of Afro, Latin, and Caribbean grooves, current sounds if not the most cutting-edge. 

If the first comp was a statement of purpose, Vol. 2 is a party with a purpose. It’s a fundraiser for Re-Act (Refugee Action Scotland), an association that provides vital support for newcomers in the Scottish capital, and exports aid in bulk to camps in places like Calais and beyond. 

Highlights of Vol. 2 include Titeknots’ remix of “Sanctuary” by Dele Sosimi, an essential figure in the bands of both Fela Kuti and his son Femi, the lush “Tanz” from Beating Heart alumnus Coen, and the grouchy, grime-inflected “Goons” by MOB with Kensaye.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Écosse Label : Samedia Shebeen Genres et styles : afro-caribéen / afro-électro / downtempo / house / latino Année : 2020
Artistes variés

Sound of Samedia Vol. 2

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Depuis dix ans maintenant l’équipe derrière la boîte de nuit ambulante Samedia Shebeen à Édimbourg veille à garder les Écossais alertes tout en participant à des festivals à l’étranger, notamment au très important festival Nyege Nyege qui a lieu à Kampala, en Ouganda. Sa première compilation, sortie en 2018, annonçait ses couleurs : un mélange midtempo convivial de grooves afro, latins et caribéens et des musiques les plus branchées de l’heure.

Si la première compilation ressemblait à une déclaration d’intention, le volume 2 prend des allures de party… pour une bonne cause. Il vise en effet à recueillir des fonds pour le Re-Act (Refugee Action Scotland), une association qui apporte un soutien vital aux nouveaux arrivants dans la capitale écossaise et vient en aide aux populations des camps de refugiés, à Calais notamment et ailleurs.

Parmi les points forts du volume 2 on retient le remix fait par Titeknots de Sanctuary, pièce de Dele Sosimi, figure essentielle des groupes de Fela Kuti et de son fils Femi, le luxuriant Tanz de Coen, ancien membre du collectif Beating Heart, et le Goons mâtiné de grime de MOB mettant en vedette Kensaye.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre