×
Country : Lithuania / Russia Label : Naxos Genres and styles : Classical / Contemporary Year : 2020
Inna Galatenko, Oleg Bezborodko, Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra

Silvestrov : Symphony No. 7 – Ode to a Nightingale – Piano Concertino

· by Frédéric Cardin

Valentin Silvestrov is one of the most stimulating post-modern composers on the new classical music scene. His music is at once harmonically demanding, rhythmically simple, and extraordinarily captivating. Silvestrov is a kind of cross between Arvo Pärt and Anton Webern.

His style, which combines repetitive minimalism with orchestrations worthy of a full-bodied and copious Webern, transports any listener who dares to experience a world where time seems distended, like an immense black lake standing still under the gaze of a discreet moon, where the slightest phrase becomes an echo that does not die but rather remains suspended and blends in with what follows. In Silvestrov’s work, the past is a present that announces the future!

Tranquil, mysterious, mesmerizing, confusing, even destabilizing, but above all irresistibly fascinating, this music is essential for anyone who loves artistic proposals, acoustic or electronic, contemporary classical or art-rock, which defy the agreed notions of temporality and attention in musical listening.

Ode to A Nightingale is the piece that most closely resembles Webern in terms of orchestration and Morton Feldman for the repetitive structure of the basic motif. 

The Piano Concertino and Symphony No. 7 are my favourite pieces on the program. All the basic Silvestrovian elements are there, with a discreet but richer orchestral amplitude.

Don’t be surprised to hear, here and there, some almost Mozartean passages, sprinkled softly through some of the scores. Silvestrov loves to create short, subtle, unexpected landmarks like these. If a soundtrack vibrates ad infinitum as it accompanies a cosmic traveller through a black hole to go beyond known time and space, this is the one!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Lituanie / Russie Label : Naxos Genres et styles : classique / musique contemporaine Année : 2020
Inna Galatenko, Oleg Bezborodko, Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra

Silvestrov : Symphony No. 7 – Ode to a Nightingale – Piano Concertino

· par Frédéric Cardin

Valentin Silvestrov est l’un des compositeurs post-modernes les plus stimulants sur la scène de la nouvelle musique classique. Il fait une musique à la fois harmoniquement exigeante, rythmiquement simple et extraordinairement envoûtante. Silvestrov est une sorte de croisement entre Arvo Pärt et Anton Webern.

Son style, qui croise minimalisme répétitif et orchestrations dignes d’un Webern étoffé et copieux, transporte tout auditeur.trice qui ose l’expérience dans un monde où le temps semble distendu, comme un immense lac noir et immobile sous le regard d’une lune discrète, où la moindre phrase devient un écho qui ne meurt pas mais reste plutôt en suspens et se marie avec ce qui suit. Chez Silvestrov, le passé est un présent qui annonce l’avenir !

Tranquille, mystérieuse, planante, déroutante, déstabilisante même, mais surtout irrésistiblement fascinante, cette musique est essentielle pour quiconque aime les propositions artistiques, acoustiques ou électroniques, classiques contemporaines ou art-rock, qui défient les notions convenues de temporalité et d’attention dans l’écoute musicale.

Ode to A Nightingale est la pièce qui ressemble le plus à Webern sur le plan de l’orchestration et à Morton Feldman pour la structure répétitive du motif de base. 

Le Concertino pour piano et la Symphonie n° 7 constituent mes morceaux préférés du programme. Tous les éléments silvestroviens de base sont là, avec une amplitude orchestrale discrètement mais plus richement déployée.

Ne soyez pas surpris d’entendre ici et là des passages presque mozartiens, saupoudrés avec douceur, à travers certaines partitions. Silvestrov adore créer de courts et subtils repères inattendus comme ceux-ci. Si une trame sonore vibre à l’infini en accompagnant un voyageur cosmique qui traverserait un trou noir pour aller au-delà du temps et de l’espace connu, c’est bien celle-là !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre