×
Country : Canada / Switzerland Label : Naxos Genres and styles : Classical / Romantic Year : 2020
Laurence Kayaleh & Michael Kolk

Rebay : Complete Sonatas for Violin/Viola and Guitar

· by Frédéric Cardin

Austrian composer Ferdinand Rebay’s work during the first half of the 20th century was essentially romantic, neo-classical music. Almost all of the sonatas on this album could have been written in 1850. Is this a great flaw? Not if we let their outdated charm – and especially Laurence Kayaleh and Michael Kolk, thanks to their subtle and delicate playing – convince us of their benefits.

Rebay wrote symphonies, concertos, operas, oratorios, and all the usual tralala of a late-Romantic European composer, but he also set his sights in his twenties on the guitar, an instrument for which he never stopped writing for the rest of his life. So much so that this corner of his catalogue counts more than 600 pieces! More than anything else. He used the guitar in many combinations, in chamber music, as a choir or vocal soloist accompaniment, and as a soloist, of course.

The sonatas here make one want to hear more from Rebay, today an illustrious unknown. One must be tolerant of a style that was already old-fashioned at the time of their creation, of course, but the pleasure of these simple phrases tinged with refined elegance, supplemented by the beauty of the playing of Quebec’s Laurence Kayaleh and her colleague Michael Kolk from Vancouver, ensures an hour and a half of sober and candid satisfaction.

Music full of simplicity and tenderness, oscillating between episodes of melancholy and graceful mischief, and carried by two musicians who are very sensitive to moderated but assured expression it demands of them.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada / Suisse Label : Naxos Genres et styles : classique / romantique Année : 2020
Laurence Kayaleh & Michael Kolk

Rebay : Complete Sonatas for Violin/Viola and Guitar

· par Frédéric Cardin

Ferdinand Rebay était Autrichien et il a composé durant la première moitié du XXe siècle une musique essentiellement romantique néo-classique. Les sonates de cet album auraient pu, pour leur presque totalité, être écrites en 1850. Est-ce un grand défaut ? Non si on laisse leur charme suranné certain nous envahir et surtout Laurence Kayaleh et Michael Kolk nous convaincre de leurs bienfaits grâce à leur jeu aussi subtil que délicat.

Rebay a écrit symphonies, concertos, opéras, oratorios et tout le tralala habituel d’un compositeur européen de la fin du Romantisme, mais il aussi jeté son dévolu dans la vingtaine sur la guitare, un instrument pour lequel il n’a plus arrêté d’écrire le reste de sa vie. Tellement que cette partie de son catalogue compte plus de 600 numéros ! Plus que tout le reste. Il a utilisé la guitare dans de multiples combinaisons, en musique de chambre, en accompagnement de chœur ou de soliste vocal, et en solo, bien entendu.

Les sonates présentées ici donnent envie d’en entendre plus de cet artiste, aujourd’hui un illustre inconnu. Il faut faire preuve de tolérance envers un style qui était déjà vieillot au moment de leur création, certes, mais le plaisir de ces phrases simples et teintées d’élégance raffinée, ajouté à la beauté du jeu de la Québécoise Laurence Kayaleh et de son collègue Michael Kolk, de Vancouver, assure une heure et quelque de satisfaction sobre et candide.

Une musique tout en simplicité et tendresse, oscillant entre épisodes de mélancolie et de gracieuse espièglerie, et portée par deux musiciens très sensibles aux besoins expressifs modérés, mais assurés, qu’elle exige d’eux.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre