×
Pays : Lithuania Label : Artoffact Genres et styles : Darkwave / Experimental / Contemporary / Post-Punk Année : 2020
Solo Ansamblis

OLOS

· par Geneviève Gendreau

Little seen outside of Lithuania, apart from participation in some notable festivals in Europe, Solo Ansamblis enjoy a good reputation in their native country. Its four members describe their musical style as “sad dance”.

Their offbeat, obscure sound uses traditional, analogue and digital instruments. The result is a minimalist treatment in which multiple sound paths cross without much regard for each other, subject to some nervous interweaving. This can also be heard in the vocal games: in duet, speaking without hearing each other, each in their headspace, spoken or spat, or solo, textured by echo effects, returning their own solitary call. Solo Ansamblis means “solo ensemble”, hence this strange and bewitching musicality. The exception is the sweetest piece on the album, “Neturėjom Dainos”, where the voices unite in a lament. 

If a certain gradation can be heard on the album, the breadcrumb trail remains a contemplation of the chaos, first lightening, then becoming heavier. The last three pieces are the most disturbing, almost industrial in spirit. On “Netildai”, gravity gives way to dancing in a delirium of dissonance. “Nepabust”, which closes the album, far from the frenzy, is downright poignant. While the rest of the album is very bouncy, the wounded souls no longer hold their pain at a distance, but embrace it in every respect.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×
Pays : Lituanie Label : Artoffact Genres et styles : darkwave / expérimental / post-punk Année : 2020
Solo Ansamblis

OLOS

· par Geneviève Gendreau

Peu active en dehors de la Lituanie, mis à part sa participation à certains festivals notables en Europe, la formation Solo Ansamblis jouit d’une belle renommée dans son pays natal. Ses quatre membres décrivent leur style musical comme relevant de la sad dance.

Leur musique décalée, version obscure, utilise instruments traditionnels, analogiques et numériques. En résulte un traitement minimaliste où de multiples voies sonores se croisent sans faire grand cas les unes des autres, en proie à quelques tressautements nerveux. Cela s’entend également dans les jeux de voix : en duo, se parlant sans s’entendre, chacune dans sa déclamation, parlée ou égosillée, ou encore en solo, hachurée par des effets d’écho, renvoyant son propre appel solitaire. Solo Ansamblis signifie d’ailleurs « ensemble solo », d’où cette étrange et envoûtante musicalité. L’exception est la pièce la plus douce de l’album, Neturėjom Dainos, où les voix s’unissent le temps d’une lamentation.

Si une certaine gradation s’entend sur l’album, le fil d’Ariane en demeure une contemplation du chaos, d’abord allègre, puis s’appesantissant. Les trois dernières pièces sont les plus troubles, d’esprit presque industriel. Sur Netildai, la pesanteur devient dansante, dans un délire de dissonances. Nepabust, qui clôture l’album, loin de la frénésie, est carrément poignante. Alors que le reste de l’album est très sautillant, les âmes en peine ne tiennent plus la douleur à distance, mais l’embrassent à tous égards.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre