×
Country : United States Label : Seattle Symphony Media Genres and styles : Classical / Romantic Year : 2020
Seattle Symphony, Thomas Dausgaard

Nielsen : Symphonies Nos 1 & 2

· by Alexandre Villemaire

Thomas Dausgaard and the Seattle Symphony continue their exploration of the symphonies of Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) on this second opus in a cycle devoted to the Danish composer. Perhaps less well known than that of his Norwegian and Finnish counterparts Grieg and Sibelius, the work of Nielsen, considered Denmark’s national composer, is nonetheless imbued with his musical heritage: a language that he absorbed intelligently, before reformulating it in an original and personal manner. 

Conventional in harmony and musical line, the composer’s first symphonies, proposed by Maestro Dausgaard, a specialist in the Danish repertoire, are marked not by the distinctive use of folk idioms, but of progressive tonality that evolves the musical identity of the work as it unfolds. The first symphony bears the hallmarks of the aesthetics of Brahms and Dvořàk, with a rhythmic and motivational focus reminiscent of Beethoven’s fifth, especially in the first movement. Despite its evocative title, Nielsen refused to describe his second symphony (The Four Temperaments) as programmatic. The moods expressed by the character indications in the movements (Allegro collerico, Allegro comodo e flemmentico, Andante malincolico, and Allegro sanguineo) nevertheless reveal a certain imagery that is not rooted in an excessively sentimental stylistic canon, but on the contrary, expresses a complex range of emotions. This is particularly noticeable in the third, “melancholic” movement, whose aesthetics are marked by sadness, but also by dismay and irritation.

Elegantly directed with sensitivity and energy, the contents of this album offer a beautiful and excellent introduction to the work of Carl Nielsen, whether you are a fan of Scandinavian music or an intrigued music lover.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Seattle Symphony Media Genres et styles : classique / romantique Année : 2020
Seattle Symphony, Thomas Dausgaard

Nielsen : Symphonies Nos 1 & 2

· par Alexandre Villemaire

Thomas Dausgaard et le Seattle Symphony poursuivent leur exploration des symphonies de Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) sur ce deuxième opus d’un cycle consacré au compositeur danois. Peut-être moins connue que celle de ses vis-à-vis norvégien et finlandais Grieg et Sibelius, l’œuvre de celui qui est considéré comme le compositeur national du Danemark n’en est pas moins imprégnée de son héritage musical : un langage qu’il absorba avec intelligence avant de le reformuler de manière originale et personnelle. 

De facture conventionnelle sur le plan de l’harmonie et de la ligne musicale, les premières symphonies du compositeur que nous propose maestro Dausgaard, spécialiste du répertoire danois, sont marquées, non pas par l’emploi distinctif d’idiomes folkloriques, mais par l’utilisation de la tonalité progressive qui fait évoluer l’identité musicale de l’œuvre dans son déroulement. La première symphonie porte la marque de l’esthétique de Brahms et de Dvořàk avec une attention rythmique et motivique rappelant la cinquième de Beethoven, notamment dans le premier mouvement. Malgré son titre évocateur, Nielsen se refusait à qualifier sa deuxième symphonie (Les quatre tempéraments) de programmatique. Les humeurs qui sont exprimées par les indications de caractère des mouvements (Allegro collerico; Allegro comodo e flemmentico; Andante malincolico et Allegro sanguineo) laissent néanmoins poindre une certaine imagerie qui n’est pas ancrée dans un canon stylistique excessivement sentimental, mais qui au contraire fait s’exprimer un éventail complexe d’émotions. Cela est particulièrement notable dans le troisième mouvement « mélancolique » dont l’esthétique est empreinte de tristesse, mais également de désarroi et d’irritation.

Élégamment dirigé avec sensibilité et énergie, le contenu de cet album offre une belle et excellente introduction pour découvrir l’œuvre de Carl Nielsen, que vous soyez féru de musique scandinave ou un mélomane intrigué.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre