Country : United States Label : Def Jam Genres and styles : Hip Hop / R&B / rap / Trap Year : 2024 / 2024

Lyrical Lemonade – All is Yellow

· by Jacob Langlois-Pelletier

Last Friday, Cole Bennett, the director, videographer and producer behind Lyrical Lemonade, released his debut album All is Yellow. When it was founded in 2013, Lyrical Lemonade was a simple blog dedicated to music videos. Over the past few years, the company has grown enormously, going on to create its own festival, The Summer Smash, as well as a clothing line. To understand the scope of the Chicago creator’s empire, consider that at one point, virtually every artist who appeared on his YouTube channel was an instant hit. His influence on music trends was extremely powerful in 2018.

As you might expect, Cole Bennett doesn’t sing or create beats. His goal with All is Yellow: to create the best possible collaborations and translate his artistic vision into music. Embarking on the production of an album and bringing together the equivalent of the Avengers of the hip-hop and rap scene is a formula that has been seen time and time again in recent years. All too often, the end result is a project with no real thread running through it, devoid of quality; just think of DJ Khaled’s latest creations… And yet, history has not repeated itself in the case of All is Yellow, at least not completely.

The project opens with “Fly Away,” a collaboration between rappers Sheck Wes, Ski Mask the Slump God and the excellent JID. The three men deliver some excellent verses and set the tone for the rest of the album. What’s most striking about this first track is its cinematic atmosphere; the song sounds as if it were created especially for a music video.

All is Yellow slows down with Lil Durk and Kid Cudi’s “Guitar in My Room,” a more melodic track than the previous one. Thereafter, collaborations abound: Chief Keef and Lil Yachty have a blast on “Say Ya Grace,” Denzel Curry and others take center stage on “First Night,” Aminé marries perfectly with the summery rhythm of “Special,” and the list goes on.

Even after several listens, it’s hard to point the finger at any one of the 34 collaborators. Cole Bennett’s flair has ensured that every one of them has come up trumps. The opus closes with “Stop Giving Me Advice” by Jack Harlow and Dave, unequivocally one of the highlights. The formula is simple but effective: a good sample, an American rapper swapping lines with a British counterpart and the 808s in full force.

Admittedly, the various tracks lack cohesion and Cole Bennett doesn’t reinvent the wheel, but All is Yellow nonetheless contains a palette of quality songs & productions navigating mainly between trap, melodic rap, R&B and old school. Approach this creation as a compilation of tracks by different artists, and you’re bound to find something you like!

Latest 360 Content

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : États-Unis Label : Def Jam Genres et styles : hip-hop / R&B / rap / trap Année : 2024

Lyrical Lemonade – All is Yellow

· par Jacob Langlois-Pelletier

Vendredi dernier, Cole Bennett, réalisateur, vidéaste et producteur derrière Lyrical Lemonade, a fait paraître son premier album All is Yellow. À sa création en 2013, Lyrical Lemonade était un simple blog dédié aux vidéoclips. Au cours des dernières années, l’entreprise a pris énormément d’ampleur, puis a créé son propre festival, The Summer Smash, ainsi qu’une ligne de vêtement. Pour bien saisir l’ampleur de l’empire du créateur de Chicago, dites-vous qu’à un certain moment, la quasi-totalité les artistes qui apparaissaient sur sa chaîne YouTube connaissaient un succès immédiat. Son influence sur les tendances musicales était extrêmement puissante en 2018.

Vous vous en doutez sûrement, mais Cole Bennett ne chante pas et ne crée pas de beats. Son but avec All is Yellow : faire naître les meilleures collaborations possibles et traduire sa vision artistique en musique. Se lancer dans la production d’un album et réunir l’équivalent des Avengers de la scène hip-hop et rap est une formule qui s’est vue à maintes reprises au cours des dernières années. Trop souvent, le résultat final est un projet sans réel fil conducteur et dénudé de qualité ; il suffit de penser aux dernières créations de DJ Khaled… Et pourtant, l’histoire ne s’est pas répétée dans le cas d’All is Yellow, du moins pas complètement.

Le projet s’ouvre avec Fly away, collaboration entre les rappeurs Sheck Wes, Ski Mask the Slump God et l’excellent JID. Les trois hommes livrent d’excellents couplets et donnent le ton pour le reste de l’album. Ce qui frappe le plus dans ce premier morceau, c’est l’ambiance cinématographique; la chanson semble avoir été créée spécialement pour un vidéoclip.

All is Yellow ralentit son tempo avec Guitar in My Room de Lil Durk et Kid Cudi, titre davantage mélodique que le précédent. Par la suite, les collaborations fusent de partout : Chief Keef et Lil Yachty s’éclatent à Say Ya Grace, Denzel Curry et autres se mettent en scène sur First Night, Aminé se marie à merveille au rythme estival de Special et j’en passe.

Même après plusieurs écoutes, il est dur de pointer du doigt l’un des 34 collaborateurs. Chacun a su tirer son épingle du jeu, et ce grâce au flair de Cole Bennett. L’opus se clôt avec Stop Giving Me Advice de Jack Harlow et Dave, sans équivoque l’un des moments phares. La formule est simple, mais efficace : un bon sample, un rappeur américain qui s’échange la réplique avec un comparse britannique et des 808s bien présents.

Certes, les différents titres manquent de cohésion et Cole Bennett ne réinvente pas la roue, mais All is Yellow contient tout de même une palette de chansons & productions de qualité naviguant principalement entre la trap, le rap mélodique, le R&B ainsi que le old school. Approchez cette création comme une compilation de morceaux de différents artistes, et vous y trouverez forcément quelque chose qui vous plaît!

Tout le contenu 360

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre