×
Country : Label : Genres and styles : Year : 2021
José González

José González – Local Valley

· by Stephan Boissonneault

If there was a quote to summarize the existential wonderment of José González’s fourth studio album, Local Valley, it would be English poet William Blake’s, “If the doors of perception were cleansed everything would appear to man as it is, infinite.”  The quote references the endless possibilities that we as human beings and as a society can achieve and sometimes get lost in. For José González, a songwriter that dabbles between different schools of thought between each release, this is the “local valley”—the very point we as humans are experiencing right now, or eons ago. There is a chasm somewhere in the beyond to which González retreats, and brings back songs that chronicle generations in four short minutes.

The first collection of songs from the Swedish/Argentinian singer-songwriter in five years is at its heart about universal humanism, and uses González’s gentle cadence, classical indie acoustic guitar (which has been compared to Nick Drake), and the odd simplistic, sampled drumbeat, to provide a relaxing and tranquil odyssey of sound. It’s an album you throw on while a candle burns from beginning to end in the background, and while the wax is slowly consumed, you begin to think everything might be okay. It’s a breath of sweet relief during this tumultuous time where every release of art is about humanity grappling with a world pandemic. 

It’s near impossible to listen to González’s music and not pick out the poetic weaving of phrases like “Visions, imagining the worlds that could be / cycles of growth and decay, patiently inching away to unreachable utopias.” He comes across as a language savant and admirer—in all three of his languages, Swedish, English, and Spanish—but never in a pretentious way. There are a few tracks geared more to dancing than to philosophical teachings, like “Head On” and “Swing,” but where Local Valley shines is in taking complex ideas about life and summarizing them in blissful metaphors. Yes, González, whether he knows it or not, is a master of magical realism.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Label : Genres et styles : Année : 2021
José González

José González – Local Valley

· par Stephan Boissonneault

S’il y avait une citation pour résumer l’émerveillement existentiel du quatrième album studio de José González, Local Valley, ce serait celle du poète anglais William Blake, « Si les portes de la perception étaient nettoyées, tout apparaîtrait à l’humain comme tel, infini ».  Cette citation fait référence aux possibilités infinies que nous pouvons atteindre en tant qu’êtres humains et en tant que société et dans lesquelles nous nous perdons parfois. Pour José González, un auteur-compositeur qui oscille entre différentes écoles de pensée à chaque sortie, il s’agit de la « vallée locale » – le point précis que nous vivons en tant qu’êtres humains en ce moment même, ou  il y a longtemps. Il y a un gouffre quelque part dans l’au-delà où González se retire, et ramène des chansons qui font la chronique des générations en quatre petites minutes.

Cette première collection de chansons de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète suédo-argentin en cinq ans est au cœur de l’humanisme universel, et utilise la cadence douce de González, la guitare acoustique classique indie (qui a été comparée à Nick Drake), et l’étrange battement de tambour simpliste et échantillonné, pour ainsi suggérer une odyssée sonore relaxante et tranquille. C’est un album que l’on lance pendant qu’une bougie brûle du début à la fin en arrière-plan, et tandis que la cire se consume lentement, on se met  à penser que tout va peut-être bien. C’est une bouffée de soulagement en cette période tumultueuse où chaque sortie artistique concerne l’humanité aux prises avec une pandémie mondiale. 
Il est presque impossible d’écouter la musique de González sans observer le tissage poétique de phrases comme “Visions, imagining the worlds that could be / cycles of growth and decay, patiently inching away to unreachable utopias.” Il apparaît comme un savant et un admirateur des langues – dans ses trois langues, le suédois, l’anglais et l’espagnol – mais jamais de manière prétentieuse. Il y a quelques morceaux plus orientés vers la danse que vers les enseignements philosophiques, comme Head On et Swing, mais là où Local Valley brille, c’est lorsqu’il reprend des idées complexes sur la vie et les résume en métaphores béates. Oui, González, qu’il le sache ou non, est un maître du réalisme magique.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre