Country : United States Label : Ground Scores Genres and styles : Free Improvisation / Psych-Rock / Psychedelia Year : 2024

House Band – Aventurine

· by Louise Jaunet

The first psychedelic era from the mid-’60s has known many revival waves since its creation and is still nowadays an endless source of inspiration for the new current neo-psych rock bands. With its promise of a transcendental experience achieved through the use of drugs to attain spiritual peace and a collective transformation, the whole hippie movement can easily give a false idealized feeling of nostalgia to people who never lived that era. As a true Dead Head, who is still making tie-dye t-shirts and taking pictures with an old Kodak camera, artist Brian Harding, on the other hand, might have been influenced by real stories from that era. House Band is truly more than just a VHS feeling of anemoia.

The debut album Aventurine manages to open an authentic time vortex that takes a closer look at the alternative American values of the mid-’60s. By going on the road with Jack Kerouac, the group from Los Angeles travels to the period when the Grateful Dead became a house band at the notorious Acid Tests of counterculture figure Ken Kesey, a series of now-legendary public LSD parties and multimedia “happenings” mounted before the drug’s criminalization. Featuring a cast of players known for their work with Cat Power, Norah Jones, Sparks, St. Vincent, Tim Heidecker, Spoon, Grateful Shred, Bedouine, and Perfume Genius, House Band is composed of the psychedelic enthusiasts Brian Harding (keys, rhythm guitar), Jason Roberts (guitar, producer), Jay Rudolph (drums, percussion), Andrew Maguire (percussion, drums), Patrick Kelly (bass) and Alex Fischel (guitar, keys). Working as an entertainer and a social media machine, Brian Harding is also famous for his PHILM Instagram page, an absurd magazine of rare anecdotes, concert pictures, memes and videos. 

Coming out of the labyrinth of Argentine short-story writer Jorge Luis Borges, Aventurine musically manifests the colorful dizziness of a psychedelic experience and results in a long strange trip of messy jazz improvisations and spontaneous space explorations. The one-hour-and-a-half-long album seems to have been recorded by accident while having some friends over but is also much more than just a regular jam band session. Seamless, with no beginning nor end, the music stays humbly grounded in the human inability to grasp the infinite. Just like spinners who dance in circles, life has only a certain amount of predictability. Being alive simply means continuing to change. Live improvisation is here to open you to that magic, to take risks like a fool, to be open to all the possibilities, good or bad, and to let anything happen. Just between you and me, mainstream success is what might have killed the Dead. Eternity is supposed to be fun. Can you pass the acid test ?

Latest 360 Content

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : États-Unis Label : Ground Scores Genres et styles : improvisation libre / rock psychédélique Année : 2024

House Band – Aventurine

· par Louise Jaunet

La première épopée psychédélique du milieu des années 60 a connu de nombreuses vagues de résurrection depuis sa création et reste encore aujourd’hui une source d’inspiration inépuisable pour les derniers groupes de rock néo-psychédélique actuel. Avec la promesse d’une expérience transcendantale accessible par l’usage de drogues pour atteindre la paix spirituelle et une transformation collective, le mouvement hippie dans son ensemble peut facilement donner un sentiment de fausse nostalgie idéalisée aux personnes qui n’ont jamais vécu cette époque. Véritable Dead Head qui fabrique toujours des t-shirts tie and dye et qui prend encore ses photos avec un ancien appareil Kodak, l’artiste Brian Harding, quant à lui, a certainement dû être influencé par des épisodes bien réels de l’époque. House Band est bien plus qu’un simple sentiment de nostalgie pour les cassettes.

Ce premier album réussit à ouvrir un véritable portail temporel sur les valeurs américaines alternatives du milieu des années 60. En partant sur la route avec Jack Kerouac, le groupe de Los Angeles se rend à l’époque où les Grateful Dead sont devenus le “house band” officiel des fameux Acid Tests de la figure de la contre-culture Ken Kesey, cette série légendaire de fêtes publiques et de happenings multimédias sous LSD organisée avant la criminalisation de cette drogue. Avec une équipe de musiciens connus pour leur travail avec Cat Power, Norah Jones, Sparks, St. Vincent, Tim Heidecker, Spoon, Grateful Shred, Bedouine et Perfume Genius, House Band est composé des adeptes du psychédélisme Brian Harding (clavier, guitare rythmique), Jason Roberts (guitare, producteur), Jay Rudolph (batterie, percussions), Andrew Maguire (percussions, batterie), Patrick Kelly (basse) et Alex Fischel (guitare, claviers). À la fois humoriste et machine à réseaux sociaux, Brian Harding est également connu pour sa page instagram PHILM, un magazine absurde d’anecdotes rares, de photos de concerts, de memes et de vidéos.

Sorti des labyrinthes de l’auteur de nouvelles argentin Jorge Luis Borges, « Aventurine » illustre musicalement les vertiges colorés d’une expérience psychédélique et aboutit sur un long voyage étrange d’improvisations désordonnées de jazz et de recherches spontanées dans l’espace. L’album d’une heure et demie donne l’impression d’avoir été enregistré par accident lors d’une soirée entre amis, mais se révèle être bien plus qu’une simple session de jam typique. Sans interruption, ni queue ni tête, les morceaux restent ancrés humblement dans l’incapacité humaine à frôler l’infini. Comme les “spinners” qui dansent sur eux-mêmes, la vie n’a qu’un certain degré de prévisibilité. Être vivant signifie simplement continuer à changer. L’improvisation libre a pour mission de vous ouvrir à sa magie, de prendre des risques comme un imbécile, d’être ouvert à toutes les possibilités, bonnes ou mauvaises, et de laisser libre cours à tout ce qui peut arriver. Entre vous et moi, il est possible que ce soit le succès commercial qui ait tué les Dead. L’éternité est censée être fun. Pourrez-vous passer le test des acides?

Tout le contenu 360

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

The First Eloi – Low Glow

The First Eloi – Low Glow

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Joel Ross – nublues

Joel Ross – nublues

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre