×
Country : Indonesia Label : Akamady Genres and styles : Disco / Dub / Post-Punk Year : 2020
Midnight Savari

Grand Delusion EP

· by Rupert Bottenberg

For a decade now, Jakarta’s Ken Adhitya has been Indonesia’s key local operative in the global mutant-disco insurgency, reviving the vibe of NYC’s legendary Lower East Side loft parties circa 1980. The DJ/producer’s 2010 EP Pinsi, on the Australian imprint Death Strobe, earned the approval of Andrew Weatherall, Erol Alkan, and Mylo, which should be helpful in placing him on the musical map.

Adhitya has recently relocated his Midnight Savari efforts to the Jakarta-based label Akamady, which in less than three years has built up an impressive discography (check out Saturn, or label boss Gerhan Ferdinal’s own KOMODO project).

“Grand Delusion” is a wicked slice of black-on-black batcave dance music, heavy on the hallucinatory dub echoes but as surefooted as a cat with most of its nine lives still to spare. It’s easy enough to get caught up in, and Adhitya introduces plot twists frequently enough to keep the eight-and-a-half-minute track interesting. The B-side “Schizofriendly”, meanwhile, is a formidable piece of ruptured electro-funk. Really good stuff, it would be delusional to deny it.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Indonésie Label : Akamady Genres et styles : disco / dub / post-punk Année : 2020
Midnight Savari

Grand Delusion EP

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Depuis une décennie maintenant, Ken Adhitya de Jakarta est le principal représentant indonésien de la résurgence mondiale du disco mutant, ravivant l’ambiance des légendaires loft parties du Lower East Side new-yorkais du début des années 1980. Le EP Pinsi du DJ/producteur, paru en 2010 sous l’étiquette australienne Death Strobe, avait reçu l’approbation d’Andrew Weatherall, Erol Alkan et Mylo, ce qui lui a permis de se faire une place sur la carte.

Adhitya a récemment déménagé les pénates de Midnight Savari sur le label Akamady, basé à Jakarta, qui en moins de trois ans s’est constitué une impressionnante discographie (allez voir du côté de Saturn ou du projet KOMODO du patron du label Gerhan Ferdinal).

Grand Delusion est un dangereux spécimen de musique de danse noir sur noir, chargé d’échos dub hallucinatoires, mais agile comme un chat qui n’a qu’à peine entamé ses neuf vies. Il est assez facile de s’y laisser entraîner et Adhitya y goupille assez de rebondissements pour que ce morceau demeure intéressant durant ses huit minutes et demie. La face B, Schizofriendly, est quant à elle un formidable morceau d’électro-funk éclaté. Toute résistance est inutile, il suffit de se laisser gagner.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre