×
Country : United States Label : Legacy Genres and styles : Americana / Country / Folk Year : 2020
Willie Nelson

First Rose of Spring

· by Luc Marchessault

As we know, living legends aren’t in abundance. But Willie Nelson – whose name is part of the toponymy of Austin, Texas – transcends this category to become one of the living gods. A very select club, really, since its only other member is Tenzin Gyatso, alias the Dalai Lama.

The still spry Nelson, as if miraculously unaffected by the weight of years (he blew out 87 candles just two months ago), is releasing his 70th studio album these days. That is, for instance, 67 albums more than My Bloody Valentine. Not to mention his 25 collaborative albums, including five with his late outlaw sidekick Merle Haggard.

What’s striking when listening to First Rose of Spring is Willie’s grace – no, damn it, his youth. His phrasing remains unmistakable, while his larynx still vibrates at the perfect frequency. Little nostalgia, no regrets, no laments about his arthritic pains, no ruminations or reflections on the imminent passage of the Grim Reaper.

Willie is on fire, so… softly, as the tempo remains quite slow throughout the pieces. On the program are songs of timeless quality, even though they were written recently, such as the title track and “Don’t Let the Old Man In”, which Toby Keith had composed for the soundtrack of Clint Eastwood’s The Mule. Then there are covers of standards such as “Just Bummin’ Around” and “I’m the Only Hell My Mama Raised”, of which Johnny Paycheck’s interpretation is the best known.

“We Are the Cowboys” is a fraternal anthem from in 1981, by Billy Joe Shaver – “We are the cowboys, the true sons of freedom… Cowboys are average American people, Texicans, Mexicans, black men and Jews.” Willie also crafted two songs with Buddy Cannon, who produced the album, the sentimental “Blue Star” and the gravelly “Love Just Laughed”. “Yesterday When I Was Young”, a moving adaptation of Charles Aznavour’s “Hier encore ”, closes an album as divine as it is spirited.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Legacy Genres et styles : americana / country / folk Année : 2020
Willie Nelson

First Rose of Spring

· par Luc Marchessault

Comme on le sait, les légendes vivantes ne courent pas les rues. Or, Willie Nelson – dont le nom fait justement partie de la toponymie d’Austin, au Texas – transcende allègrement cette catégorie pour s’inscrire dans celle des dieux vivants. Club très sélect, s’il en est, puisque son seul autre membre est Tenzin Gyatso, alias le dalaï-lama.

Le toujours très ingambe Willie, comme miraculeusement délesté du poids des ans (il a tout de même soufflé ses 87 bougies il y a tout juste deux mois), lance ces jours-ci son 70album studio. Mine de rien, c’est 67 albums de plus que My Bloody Valentine. Sans compter ses 25 albums en collaboration, dont cinq avec feu son comparse hors-la-loi Merle Haggard.

Ce qui est frappant à l’écoute de First Rose of Spring, c’est la grâce de Willie, diantre! la jeunesse de Willie. Son phrasé demeure aussi incomparable, tandis que son larynx vibre toujours à la fréquence parfaite. Peu de nostalgie, pas de regrets, aucune lamentation sur ses douleurs arthritiques, ni de ruminations ou de réflexions sur l’imminent passage de la Grande Faucheuse.

Willie pète le feu, donc… en douceur, puisque le tempo demeure assez lent au fil des pièces. Au programme, des chansons de facture intemporelle bien qu’écrites récemment, comme la pièce-titre et Don’t Let the Old Man In, que Toby Keith avait composée pour la bande son du film The Mule de Clint Eastwood. Puis, des reprises de standards comme Just Bummin’ Around et I’m the Only Hell My Mama Raised, dont l’interprétation de Johnny Paycheck est la plus connue.

We Are the Cowboys est un hymne à la fraternité lancé en 1981 par Billy Joe Shaver : « Nous sommes les cowboys – Les vrais fils de la liberté (…) Les cowboys reflètent l’Amérique – Texans, Mexicains, Noirs et Juifs ». Willie a créé deux chansons avec Buddy Cannon, qui a réalisé l’album : la sentimentale Blue Star et la graveleuse Love Just Laughed. C’est Yesterday When I Was Young, émouvante adaptation d’Hier encore de Charles Aznavour, qui clôt cet album aussi divin que vivant.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre