×
Country : Canada (Quebec) / Senegal Label : Indépendant Genres and styles : Afro-Pop / Folk Pop / Saharan Blues Year : 2020
Daby Touré et Chris Velan

Émissaire vol. 1

· by Frédéric Cardin

Daby Touré was born in Mauritania, grew up in Senegal, began his professional career in Paris and, for the past two years, has been living in Montreal. I’ve been following his musical evolution since his first album, Diam, released in 2004. The latter, along its follow-up Stereo Spirit (2007), have hardly ever left my ears in about 15 years!

They are the quintessence of Daby Touré’s art: a soft and fair voice, airy in a luminous way. A fabulous talent for melody, the one that touches you straight to the heart and remains in your memory. And a style mixing Afro-pop and folk with a particular sense of intimacy.

After a few more albums of pop and sometimes electric blues, often dressed in a modern electronic way, though discreetly, Émissaire vol.1 is an EP that announces a return to the initial path, that of Diam and Stereo Spirit. The melodies are strong, especially “Voyageurs” (I dare you not to play it in a loop), the rhythms are catchy in their simplicity, the arrangements economical but judicious.

The guitars, acoustic or electric, are in the foreground and subject to little artificial coating. Émissaire vol.1 is a duet album, with excellent Montreal guitarist Chris Velan sharing the bill brilliantly. Maybe that’s the strength of this welcome EP, because Velan fits so well with Touré’s style that it sounds like a soulmate finally met.

Having said that, I hope the next record will offer some new musical elements, in order to make the particularity of Montreal’s imprint on the language of this very talented artist better and more clearly felt.

Don’t miss the launch concert for Émissaire vol.1 by Daby Touré and Chris Velan, live on Facebook on Friday, November 13, at 5 pm.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) / Sénégal Label : Indépendant Genres et styles : afro-pop / blues saharien / folk-pop Année : 2020
Daby Touré et Chris Velan

Émissaire vol. 1

· par Frédéric Cardin

Daby Touré est né en Mauritanie, a grandi au Sénégal, a amorcé sa carrière professionnelle à Paris et, depuis deux ans, est installé à Montréal. Je suis son évolution musicale depuis son premier album, Diam, sorti en 2004. Ce dernier, avec le suivant, Stereo Spirit (2007), n’ont pratiquement jamais quitté mes oreilles en une quinzaine d’années !

Ils sont la quintessence de l’art de Daby Touré : une voix douce et juste, aérienne de façon lumineuse. Un talent fabuleux pour la mélodie, celle qui vous touche droit au cœur et qui reste en mémoire. Et un style mêlant afro-pop et folk avec un sens particulier de l’intimité.

Après quelques albums plus pop, parfois blues électrique, souvent habillés de façon électroniquement moderne, quoique discrètement, Émissaire vol.1 est un EP qui annonce un retour à la première manière, soit celle de Diam et Stereo Spirit. Les mélodies sont fortes, en particulier Voyageurs (je vous mets au défi de ne pas la faire tourner en boucle), les rythmes sont accrocheurs dans leur simplicité, les arrangements économes mais judicieux.

Les guitares sont à l’avant-plan, acoustiques ou électriques, et sont sujettes à peu d’enrobage artificiel. Émissaire vol.1 est un album duo, car l’excellent guitariste montréalais Chris Velan en partage l’affiche avec brio. C’est peut-être là la force de cet EP bienvenu car Velan s’intègre tellement bien au style Touré qu’on dirait une âme sœur enfin rencontrée.

Cela dit, j’émets le souhait que le prochain opus nous offre quelques éléments musicaux nouveaux, afin de bien et mieux faire sentir la particularité de l’empreinte montréalaise sur le langage de ce très talentueux artiste.

Ne manquez pas le concert-lancement d’Émissaire vol.1 de Daby Touré et Chris Velan, en direct sur Facebook le vendredi 13 novembre à 17 h.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre