×
Country : United Kingdom Label : Gearbox Genres and styles : Ambient / Contemporary Jazz / Electronic / Free Jazz / Jazz Year : 2022

Binker & Moses – Feeding the Machine

· by Steve Naud

The London jazz scene is one of the main poles of the revival that the genre has undergone in recent years, thanks to artists such as Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garcia, Yazz Ahmed, and Kamaal Williams. Saxophonist Binker Goldings and drummer Moses Boyd are also pillars of this vibrant scene. This dynamic duo has two studio albums, Dem Ones (2015) and Journey to the Mountain of Forever (2017). A pair of live recordings were subsequently released, but as Golding and Boyd went on to shine on their own and in various projects, there was little hope for a new joint offering from them.

Like many other leading lights of the new British jazz scene, the two members of the tandem know their history of the blue note well, but they have also drawn from other sources, more urban ones: grime, hip-hop, electro, Caribbean music… These influences were already evident and well-integrated on their first records, but Feeding the Machine represents a giant step forward, towards the future. Before setting foot in a recording studio again, the two lads said to themselves that they had to make a big impact, to push things further. With this goal in mind, they requisitioned their buddy Max Luthert, a double bass player at times, but, for the purposes of this project, a tinkerer of electronic effects. Manipulating the sounds produced by the two instrumentalists live, adding layers of modular synthesizers and all sorts of fiddling, he became the third member of the band.

Recorded at the legendary Real World Studios under the guidance of the no less legendary producer Hugh Padgham (a surprising choice since he is best known for his work with Sting, Phil Collins, or David Bowie in the eighties), Feeding the Machine is a work that succeeds in pushing the limits of free jazz, a genre that, even if it is still considered avant-garde by some, has been around for more than half a century and can be redundant in unimaginative hands. Here, there is no standing still. Luthert’s contribution propels the two jazzmen far into the cosmos. From the very first moments of the opening track, Goldings’ saxophone is put into sound loops whose echoes reverberate and bring the duo’s music into ambient territory. And this is only the beginning of the journey! An expedition in an unknown space zone, somewhere between the spiritual jazz of a Coltrane or a Sanders and the cutting-edge electro of the synthetic wizards of the Warp label.

It is this electronic reshuffling of the cards dealt by the two musicians that first strikes the mind of the music lover who, however, once recovered from his astonishment, can only be ecstatic about the prowess put forward by the two young English wolves. Both are virtuosos on their respective instruments and both have an unerring instinct for setting up a dramatic mood and building up the intensity to keep the listener on his toes. Feeding the Machine is an album that can be enjoyed while reading your favorite fantasy novel.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Royaume-Uni Label : Gearbox Genres et styles : ambient / électronique / free jazz / jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2022

Binker & Moses – Feeding the Machine

· par Steve Naud

On le sait, la scène jazz londonienne est un des pôles principaux du renouveau que le genre connaît depuis quelques années grâce à des artistes tels Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garcia, Yazz Ahmed et Kamaal Williams. Le saxophoniste Binker Goldings et le batteur Moses Boyd sont, eux aussi, des piliers de cette scène bouillonnante. À son actif, ce duo dynamique a deux albums studio : Dem Ones (2015) et Journey to the Mountain of Forever (2017). Une paire d’enregistrements en concert fut ensuite publiée, mais comme, par la suite, Golding et Boyd se sont brillamment illustrés en solo et dans le cadre de différents projets, on n’osait plus espérer une nouvelle offrande en commun de leur part.

Comme bien d’autres têtes d’affiche du nouveau jazz british, les deux membres du tandem connaissent bien leur histoire de la note bleue, mais ils se sont aussi abreuvés à d’autres sources, plus urbaines celles-là : le grime, le hip-hop, l’électro, les musiques caribéennes… Ces influences étaient déjà patentes et bien intégrées sur leurs premiers disques, mais Feeding the Machine représente un pas de géant vers l’avant, vers le futur. C’est qu’avant de remettre les pieds dans un studio d’enregistrement, les deux lascars s’étaient dit qu’il fallait marquer un grand coup, pousser les choses plus loin. Avec cet objectif en tête, ils ont réquisitionné les services de leur pote Max Luthert, contrebassiste à ses heures, mais, pour les fins du présent projet, bricoleur d’effets électroniques. Manipulant les sons produits par les deux instrumentistes en direct, ajoutant des nappes de synthés modulaires et des bidouillages de toutes sortes, ce dernier est devenu le troisième membre du groupe.

Enregistré aux légendaires studios Real World sous la houlette du non moins légendaire réalisateur Hugh Padgham (un choix étonnant puisque celui-ci est surtout connu pour son travail avec Sting, Phil Collins ou David Bowie dans les années quatre-vingt), Feeding the Machine est une œuvre qui réussit à repousser les limites du free jazz  – un genre qui, même s’il est toujours considéré comme avant-gardiste par certains, existe depuis plus d’un demi-siècle et peut s’avérer redondant entre des mains peu imaginatives. Ici, point de surplace. L’apport de Luthert propulse les deux jazzmen bien loin dans le cosmos. Dès les premiers instants du morceau d’ouverture, le saxophone de Goldings est mis en boucles sonores dont les échos se répercutent et amènent la musique du duo en territoire ambient. Et ce n’est que le début du voyage! Une expédition en zone spatiale inconnue, quelque part entre le jazz spirituel d’un Coltrane ou d’un Sanders et l’électro de pointe des sorciers synthétiques de l’étiquette Warp.

C’est ce rebrassage électronique des cartes distribuées par les deux musiciens qui frappe tout d’abord l’esprit du mélomane qui, cependant, une fois remis de son étonnement, ne peut que s’extasier devant les prouesses mises de l’avant par les deux jeunes loups anglais. Tous deux sont des virtuoses de leurs instruments respectifs et tous deux sont dotés d’un instinct infaillible, quand vient le temps d’installer un climat dramatique et d’en faire progresser l’intensité de façon à garder l’auditeur sur le qui-vive. Feeding the Machine est un album qui se savoure en lisant son roman d’anticipation favori.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre