×
Country : Canada Label : Black Buffalo Records / Forward Music Group Genres and styles : Hip Hop / R&B Year : 2022

Aquakultre – Don’t Trip

· by CCJ Gabriel

Lance Sampson, AKA Aquakultre, indulges fans with his second album aptly titled Don’t Trip, a delightful blend of old and new sounds with an incredible ensemble. It’s as if the Fugees jumped into a time capsule and woke up in 2022. The CBC Searchlight and award-winning, Halifax native masterfully comprised a group of singers, emcees, and DJs that leaves nothing to be desired from start to finish. With rap verses and breakdowns amalgamated precisely with the Funk and R&B vibes throughout, Sampson has fully metamorphosed himself from a once teenage drug trafficker to an expert and poised musician.

While listening to Don’t Trip, I felt as though I was in a jam session or at a house party with Aquakultre. It connected immediately and legitimately enlightened my day. With nothing too sappy or blue, this album does not lack passion or emotion. Going into this, I was unfamiliar with Lance Sampson and was fully expecting straight-up, Nova Scotian-style, lyrical Hip-Hop bars à la Classified or Pat Stay. However, I was enraptured with a variety of genres and sounds that tow the line of similarity just enough to make the album feel whole. Including one of the best interludes I’ve heard in a while and even a skit near the end of the project, this album possesses things that have been lost in modern music which I
personally yearn for.

As aforementioned, the blend between old and new transitions seamlessly midway through the 13-track sophomore effort. “Lunch” featuring Joolsannie accompanies catchy lyrics with up-tempo, modern production, all while retaining its retro vibes. We are then hit with the “Getting Loose” interlude featuring Sergeant X Comrade to set up the second-half of the album which goes entirely “House Party” on us. Consciously delivering both late 90’s/early 2000’s West and East Coast-style slaps in the songs “It’s All Good” and “I’m For Real” respectively, this half of the album contains the best verses of the project and exceptional turntablism by both DJ Chidow and DJ Uncle Fester. With more than one song from this album headed into my personal playlist for repeat listens, Don’t Trip ain’t got me tripping at all.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : Black Buffalo Records / Forward Music Group Genres et styles : hip-hop / R&B Année : 2022

Aquakultre – Don’t Trip

· par CCJ Gabriel

Lance Sampson, alias Aquakultre, fait plaisir aux fans avec son deuxième album intitulé Don’t Trip, un délicieux mélange de sons anciens et nouveaux portés par un ensemble incroyable. C’est comme si les Fugees avaient sauté dans une capsule temporelle et s’étaient réveillés en 2022. L’artiste originaire d’Halifax, primé lors du concours CBC Searchlight, a brillamment réuni un groupe de chanteurs, de MC et de DJ qui assure totalement, du début à la fin. Avec des rimes rap et des breakdowns amalgamés avec précision aux vibrations funk et R&B, Sampson s’est complètement métamorphosé, passant d’un ado trafiquant de drogue à un musicien expert et posé.

En écoutant Don’t Trip, j’ai eu l’impression d’être dans une jam session ou dans une fête avec Aquakultre. La connexion a été immédiate et a illuminé ma journée. Sans rien de trop mielleux ou de trop bleu, cet album ne manque ni de passion ni d’émotion. Au départ, je ne connaissais pas Lance Sampson et je m’attendais à un hip-hop direct, à la manière néo-écossaise, avec des textes à la Classified ou Pat Stay. Cependant, j’ai été séduit par une variété de genres et de sons qui s’éloignent juste assez des similitudes pour que l’album se tienne. Fort d’un des meilleurs interludes que j’ai entendus depuis longtemps et même d’un sketch vers la fin, cet album possède des éléments qui ont largement disparu de la musique moderne, et que j’ai envie de retrouver.

Comme je l’ai déjà mentionné, le mélange entre l’ancien et le nouveau se fait de manière transparente au fil des treize titres de ce deuxième effort. Lunch, avec Joolsannie, accompagne de paroles accrocheuses une production de pointe et rythmée, tout en conservant son style rétro. Après l’épatant interlude Getting Loose, avec Sergeant X Comrade, on passe à la seconde moitié de l’album, qui devient entièrement « house party ». Offrant consciemment des slaps de la fin des années 90 et du début des années 2000, style côte Ouest et côte Est, dans les chansons It’s All Good et I’m For Real respectivement, cette moitié de l’album contient les meilleurs couplets du projet et une technique aux platines exceptionnelle de DJ Chidow et Uncle Fester. Plusieurs chansons de l’album se retrouvent dans ma liste d’écoute; bref, Don’t Trip m’a fait triper.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre