×
Country : Canada Label : ATMA Classique Genres and styles : Classical / Classical Singing / Early Music Year : 2020
La Rota

Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame

· by Frédéric Cardin

This album could have been entitled Medieval Pandemic Music! Indeed, Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame (you may have guessed that it means “farewell, farewell sweet lady”) takes up a typical repertoire heard in Florence in the middle of the 14th century. The city was then in the grip of a certain plague pandemic. 

As recounted in Boccaccio’s The Decameron, a literary masterpiece written between 1349 and 1353, young men of good society withdrew outside the city to avoid contamination (a luxury that others could not afford, you might say… Ah yes!). They then tell each other all sorts of stories (of which The Decameron is composed), in which they sometimes refer to songs and music.

La Rota, a quartet formed by Sarah Barnes, soprano, Émilie Brûlé on the hurdy-gurdy, Esteban La Rotta on chitarrino, Gothic harp and lute, and Tobie Miller on recorder, double flute and hurdy-gurdy, have fun here taking us back almost seven centuries. 

The La Rota ensemble unfortunately no longer exists. Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame was recorded in 2009 and is a rare opportunity to hear the quartet’s unreleased material. What’s more, one can recognize a little bit of the need of the people of the 14th century to escape through music from a daily life fraught with danger. Of course, the plague of the Middle Ages was infinitely more dangerous than our COVID-19, all things considered, but the idea is no less relevant.

More or less secular love songs are mixed with typical dances from the distant past, such as stamps or saltarelles. The members of La Rota play all this in a way that is both cheerful (in the case of the dances) and melancholy (in the case of most of the songs). If you are used to contemporary, classical, or any other kind of music heard on PAN M 360, an album like this one will be a radical change of scenery. 

I highly recommend it!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : ATMA Classique Genres et styles : chant lyrique / classique / musique ancienne Année : 2020
La Rota

Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame

· par Frédéric Cardin

On aurait pu intituler cet album « musique de pandémie… médiévale » ! En effet, Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame (vous aurez deviné que cela veut dire « Adieu, adieu douce dame ») reprend un répertoire typique du milieu du XIVe siècle entendu à Florence. La ville était alors en proie à une certaine pandémie de peste. 

Tel que relaté dans Le Décaméron de Boccace, chef-d’œuvre littéraire écrit entre 1349 et 1353, de jeunes gens de la bonne société se retirent à l’extérieur de la ville pour éviter la contamination (un luxe que d’autres ne pouvaient se permettre, vous me direz… Ah ben oui !). Ils se racontent alors des histoires de toutes sortes (c’est ça, le Décaméron) dans lesquelles ils font parfois référence à des chansons et à de la musique.

La Rota, quatuor formé de Sarah Barnes, soprano, Émilie Brûlé à la vielle, Esteban La Rotta au chitarrino, à la harpe gothique et au luth, et Tobie Miller à la flûte à bec, la flûte double et la vielle à roue, s’amuse donc ici à nous ramener presque sept siècles en arrière. 

L’ensemble La Rota n’existe malheureusement plus. Adiu, Adiu Dous Dame a été enregistré en 2009 et constitue une rare occasion de pouvoir entendre le quatuor dans du matériel inédit. Qui plus est, on peut se reconnaître un tant soit peu dans le besoin des gens du XIVe siècle de s’évader en musique d’un quotidien lourd de danger. Évidemment, la peste du Moyen Âge était infiniment plus dangereuse que notre COVID-19, toutes proportions gardées, mais l’idée n’en reste pas moins pertinente.

Des chansons d’amour plus ou moins profanes côtoient des danses typiques de ce temps lointain, comme des estampilles ou des saltarelles. Les membres de La Rota jouent tout cela de manière à la fois allègre (dans le cas des danses) et mélancolique (dans le cas de la plupart des chansons). Si vous êtes habitué des musiques contemporaines, classiques ou tout autre, entendues sur PAN M 360, un album comme celui-ci constituera un dépaysement radical. 

Je vous le conseille vivement !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre