Africa / Afro Funk / Afro Fusion / Afrobeats / Dancehall / Kompa / Reggaeton / Soul/R&B

Burna Boy almost fills two Bell Centres: Nigeria on our doorstep!

by Alain Brunet

Over the past sixty years, Africa has popularized some of its most remarkable stars in the West: Miriam Makeba, Fela Kuti, Touré Kunda, King Sunny Adé, Alpha Blondy, Youssou N’Dour, Salif Keita, Angélique Kidjo, Oumou Sangaré and Yemi Alade. The last black, non-Western frontman to fill a major Canadian arena as a headliner was Bob Marley… who wasn’t a native of the continent of his forefathers, that’s saying something!

Outside Africa, where they easily fill stadiums, none of the artists mentioned has had such an impact in North America as that seen this week. There is now one exception, the first of many to come.

Burna Boy makes history this week, 18 months after his sensational performance at Osheaga (August 2022), a precursor to the Nigerian Afrobeats movement’s invasion of North America. The first African artist to play Bell centers twice in a row, the frontman embodies a global transformation of pop culture. Wow.

Over 30,000 fans will have flocked to the Bell Centre this week, two nights in a row, to applaud the biggest star of the Afrobeats movement, a non-Western style that has gone global. The influence of this style compares favorably with other powerful movements born outside the U.S. and Western Europe, starting with reggae and reggaeton.

On Thursday evening, the arena was packed with diversity. Predominantly populated by the 18-30 generation, the crowd sang along to the offerings of Lagos-based DJ Lambo, one of the opening acts in a wide-ranging program that began at around 7.40pm and ended shortly before midnight. Also from Nigeria, singer Nissi Ogulu did her best (with ups and downs, to put it politely) and the program’s first DJ, Spaceship Billy, returned to warm up the room before Burna Boy triumphed for two hours. Generous!

The playground is an urban setting inspired by a working-class district of Lagos. A telephone booth is set up in front of several local shops, including a barber and a grocery store. The 4 reeds and brass instruments overhang the stage on the right, while the 3 backing singers do the same on the left. Drums and percussion are arranged at the ends, with the harmonic core of 4 musicians (keyboards, guitars, bass) in the center. A string trio (violin, viola, cello) appears a few times, while 6 dancers express themselves throughout this highly ambitious show.

Burna Boy is frontman, bandleader, crooner, groover and sex symbol all rolled into one. His ascendancy over the female gender is more than obvious, with the ladies clearly in the majority singing along to his megatubes, particularly his romantic ballads.

On the PAN M 360 side, we preferred the mostly epidermal Afrobeats grooves, an infectious mix of dancehall, reggaeton, afro-funk, juju, konpa, soul/R&B or even jazz, matched with a significant layer of Nigerian culture.  Among the thirty or so songs on the program, we’ll have noticed the performance of the following hits: “I Told Them”(also the title of the tour), “Gbona”, “Pull Up”, “On The Low”, “On Form”, “Giza and more.

We all know that humanity is going through a critical period in its presence on Earth, but it’s not all bad news. The rebalancing of planetary cultural forces is good news! Burna Boy is here to remind us that there is always hope for humans of good will.

Photos by Stephan Boissonneault

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

Afrique / afro-funk / afro-fusion / afrobeats / dancehall / kompa / reggaeton / soul/R&B

Burna Boy remplit presque deux Centres Bell : le Nigeria à nos portes !

par Alain Brunet

Au cours des soixante dernières années, l’Afrique a popularisé en Occident certaines de ses stars les plus remarquables : Miriam Makeba, Fela Kuti, Touré Kunda, King Sunny Adé, Alpha Blondy, Youssou N’Dour, Salif Keita, Angélique Kidjo, Oumou Sangaré, Tiken Jah Fakoly et autres Yemi Alade. Le dernier frontman noir et non occidental ayant rempli un grand aréna canadien en tant que tête d’affiche fut Bob Marley… qui n’était pas natif du continent de ses aïeux, c’est dire !

Hors de l’Afrique où ils remplissent des stades en un claquement de doigts, aucun des artistes cités n’a eu eu en Amérique du Nord un tel impact que celui observé cette semaine. Il existe désormais une exception africaine, la première d’une longue série.

Burna Boy entre dans l’Histoire cette semaine, 18 mois après avoir fait sensation à Osheaga (août 2022), ce qui fut un signe précurseur de l’invasion de l’Amérique du Nord par la mouvance afrobeats, issue du Nigeria. Premier artiste africain à jouer deux fois de suite dans les centres Bell, le frontman incarne une transformation globale de la culture pop. Wow.

Environ 30 000 fans se seront rendus au Centre Bell cette semaine, deux soirs de suite, pour applaudir la plus grande star du mouvement Afrobeats, un style non occidental qui s’est mondialisé. L’influence de ce style se compare favorablement à d’autres mouvements puissants nés en dehors des États-Unis et de l’Europe occidentale, à commencer par le reggae et le reggaeton.

Jeudi soir, donc, un aréna bondé de diversité. Majoritairement peuplée de la génération 18-30 ans, la foule a chanté les propositions de DJ Lambo, une artiste de Lagos, l’une des premières parties d’un vaste programme ayant débuté vers 19h40 et qui s’est achevé peu avant minuit. Également du Nigeria, la chanteuse Nissi Ogulu aura fait de son mieux (avec des hauts et des bas, pour parler poliment) et le premier DJ du programme, Spaceship Billy, reviendra chauffer la salle avant que Burna Boy ne triomphe pendant deux heures. Généreux !

L’aire de jeu est un décor urbain inspiré d’un quartier populaire de Lagos. Une cabine téléphonique est installée devant plusieurs commerces de proximité, dont un barbier et une épicerie. Les 4 anches et cuivres surplombent la scène sur la droite, tandis que les 3 choristes font de même sur la gauche. La batterie et les percussions sont disposées aux extrémités, et le noyau harmonique de 4 musiciens (claviers, guitares, basse) se trouve au centre. Un trio de cordes (violon, alto, violoncelle) apparaît à quelques reprises, tandis que 6 danseurs s’expriment tout au long de ce spectacle des plus ambitieux.

Burna Boy est à la fois frontman, leader d’orchestre, crooner, groover, sex symbole au physique d’athlète, taillé au couteau il va sans dire. L’ascendant sur la gent féminine est plus qu’évident, ces dames sont clairement majoritaires à chanter avec lui ses mégatubes, particulièrement ses ballades romantiques.

Côté PAN M 360, on a préféré les groove afrobeats, épidermiques pour la plupart, mélange contagieux de dancehall, reggaeton, afro-funk, juju, konpa, soul/R&B ou même jazz, assorti d’une importante couche de culture nigeriane.  Parmi la trentaine de chansons au programme, on aura remarqué l’exécution des succès suivants: I Told Them (également le titre de la tournée), Gbona, Pull Up, On The Low, On Form, Giza et plus encore.

Nous savons tous que l’humanité traverse une période critique de sa présence sur Terre, mais il n’y a pas que des mauvaises nouvelles. Le rééquilibrage des forces culturelles planétaires en est une bonne ! Burna Boy est là pour nous rappeler qu’il y a toujours de l’espoir pour les humains de bonne volonté.

Crédit photos: Stephan Boissonneault

Tout le contenu 360

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

ARC – ARC

ARC – ARC

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre