×
Country : United States Label : independent Genres and styles : Balkan music / Eastern European Year : 2020
Slavic Soul Party!

Tuesdays at Barbès

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Named after the funky, heterogeneous neighbourhood in Paris, and founded by the two Frenchmen behind the label of the same name as well as the Chicha Libre project, Barbès is an unassuming little sweatbox in Brooklyn’s Park Slope district. Its reputation dwarfs its limited legal capacity, thanks to the booker’s enlightened discernment and rigorous standards. It’s a joint where you might walk in on a champeta party, an all-nite gnawa rite, or a Nigerian revision of the Georges Brassens songbook. And like any other live-music venue these days, its doors are shut tight.

For 16 years, every Tuesday without fail – squeezed in between Tropical Vortex Mondays and the Mandingo Ambassadors’ mid-week residency – the nonet Slavic Soul Party! have filled the cramped back room of Barbès with eruptions of furiously energetic Balkan brass funk. They even recorded their raw, chunky rendition of Duke Ellington’s Far East Suite there.

Now, of course, their perfect attendance record has been spoiled. As they wait impatiently to return to the stage, they’ve rooted through their files for live recordings of their sets at Barbès, and are sharing a new one every Tuesday. The first is this medley of material captured last summer. Okay, it’s not quite the same as the real thing, but kill a bottle of vodka, plant yourself face down on the floor, and crank this shit… it makes a passable placebo.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Autoproduction Genres et styles : européen de l'Est / musique des Balkans Année : 2020
Slavic Soul Party!

Tuesdays at Barbès

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Tirant son nom du quartier populaire et bigarré de Paris, et fondé par les deux Français à l’origine du label du même nom et du projet Chicha Libre, Barbès est une petite boîte sans prétention dans le quartier de Park Slope à Brooklyn. Grâce au flair et à la rigueur de son directeur musical, sa réputation éclipse largement sa capacité d’occupation limitée. On peut autant y tomber sur un party de champeta, un rite gnawa durant jusqu’au petit matin ou un récital de versions nigérianes des chansons de Georges Brassens. Et comme toutes les boîtes de ce genre ces jours-ci, ses portes sont closes.

Depuis 16 ans, tous les mardis invariablement, entre les lundis Tropical Vortex et les mercredis des Mandingo Ambassadors, le nonet Slavic Soul Party! remplit la petite salle du Barbès du charivari des cuivres de son énergique funk balkanique. Il y a même enregistré une interprétation musclée de la Far East Suite de Duke Ellington.

Maintenant que sa remarquable assiduité a été fâcheusement interrompue et qu’il attend avec impatience de remonter sur scène, le groupe pige dans les enregistrements de ses concerts à Barbès et en transmet un nouveau chaque mardi. Le premier est ce pot-pourri capté l’été dernier. Bien sûr, ce n’est pas comme y être, mais calez une bouteille de vodka, mettez-vous à plat ventre et grimpez le volume… vous obtiendrez une solution de rechange acceptable.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre