Country : United Kingdom Label : XL Recordings Genres and styles : Électro / expérimental / contemporain / Jazz / Rock Year : 2024

The Smile – Wall Of Eyes

· by Alain Brunet

Do walls have ears? They have eyes, suggests this audio recording at the beginning of 2024. Let’s see … or listen up! On this Wall Of Eyes, The Smile has pinned down eight rather long-format songs, ranging from 4 minutes and 35 seconds to 8 minutes and 3 seconds. In all, nearly 40 minutes of studio-recorded music, produced by Sam Petts-Davies. To fully understand where the Thom Yorke-Jonny Greenwood pairing now resides, we need to go back to 1997.

After the release of OK Computer, the album that made them famous that year, Radiohead’s aesthetic leaders went through their own evolution while consolidating their flagship, still today the most innovative of its size. The big transcendental blows were struck with the albums Kid A and Amnesiac, and what followed was always exciting, a rarity in the world of mass-market music. 

It’s worth noting, however, that the conceptual evolution of its most gifted members was more tangible in their individual approaches.

Since the soundtrack to the film There Will Be Blood (2007), Jonny Greenwood has gradually acquired mastery of writing and orchestral direction. He has also distinguished himself in electronic composition, initially in the service of soundtracks for cinema and complex songs. His aesthetic is influenced by contemporary jazz, math rock, prog rock, space rock, modern classical guitar, Western and Eastern classical music, electroacoustic, and IDM. Trained in contemporary forms of chamber (or symphonic) music, a formidable beatmaker in electro, guitarist Jonny Greenwood has become a complete musician. And a Radiohead mastermind at that.

An emblematic figure of the ’90s, Thom Yorke best marked out the electronic trail in Radiohead’s rock territory, an existential rock laden with epidermal melodies, well-constructed choruses, autistic halos, themes and reflections of a bitter-sweet everyday life, perfectly representative of how Generation X felt in the ’90s. The Eraser (2006) was for him the start of songs built with much more electronic material. We have fond memories of a masterful electro concert following his opus Anima (2019).

It seems that, at the end of Radiohead’s most recent cycle (A Moon Shaped Pool, released in 2016 and the tour that followed), Jonny Greenwood would have expressed a certain weariness of creating all this Radiohead circus with special effects, destined for arenas and stadiums.  

Until then, the two main heads hadn’t usually worked together in the context of their parallel projects, hence the interest of The Smile, which brought them together and linked them to the excellent drummer Tom Skinner of Sons of Kemet. Released in spring 2022, the album A Light For Attracting Attention had indeed captured our attention. For more or less a couple of years, The Smile has been the main creative vehicle for Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards), Jonny Greenwood (guitar, bass, keyboards), and Tom Skinner.

A Light for Attracting Attention, the first album was great news as it brought together the two key artists of the famous Oxford quintet. A power trio of this level could make us forget, momentarily at least, three other radio heads with inferior technical resources. However… it’s not exactly the same sound, the execution is certainly more virtuoso, but the musical concepts could well have been explored by the famous quintet.

Most fans had subsequently enjoyed a much rockier, more muscular concert, nonetheless devoid of the most refined elements of  A Light For Attracting Attention.  Didn’t these elements constitute the main advances? But then again, you feel young and dashing again when it rocks. Why deny yourself the pleasure? Well… some have shunned the unpleasant listening conditions.

In the second chapter of the experience, Wall of Eyes follows in the same breath as the first: calm, airy songs, prog rock, or space rock at the confluence of jazz, chamber music (London Contemporary Orchestra, notably inFriend Of A Friend” and “I Quit”), syncopated psych-folk around an acoustic guitar, in short, a generally subtle, elevated fracture, of which one hopes for a live performance close to this delightful recording, for few pieces on this album are rock in their conception – “Under Our Pillows,” built on composed bars, or “Bending Hectic,” which evokes an unfortunate relationship with the car.  

In this case, looking for the best hook, the ideal hit, or the perfect compact rock song is beside the point; Wall of Eyes is not an album of that type, but rather one where the song form is a basis for compositional extensions. Instead of crafting rock songs with small elements of avant-garde, its creators and performers adopt now a deep creative posture via which a forest of subtlety emerges. A real grower.

Latest 360 Content

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : Royaume-Uni Label : XL Recordings Genres et styles : Électro / expérimental / contemporain / jazz / rock Année : 2024

The Smile – Wall Of Eyes

· par Alain Brunet

Les murs ont des oreilles? Ils ont des yeux, suggère plutôt cet enregistrement audio en ce début de 2024. Voyons voir… à l’écoute! The Smile a épinglé sur ce Wall Of Eyes 8 chansons de format plutôt long, soit de 4 minutes et 35 secondes à 8 minutes et 3 secondes. En tout, près d’une quarantaine de minutes de musique enregistrée en studio, une réalisation de Sam Petts-Davies.  

Pour bien comprendre où loge aujourd’hui le binôme Thom Yorke- Jonny Greenwood, il faut remonter en 1997.

Après la sortie de l’album OK Computer, l’album qui les a consacrés cette année-là, les leaders esthétiques de Radiohead ont connu une évolution propre tout en consolidant leur vaisseau amiral, encore aujourd’hui le plus innovant de cette taille. Les grands coups de transcendance furent assénés avec les albums Kid A et Amnesiac, la suite a toujours été excitante, fait rarissime dans l’univers de la musique de masse. 

Notons cependant que  l’évolution conceptuelle de ses membres les plus doués fut plus tangible dans leurs démarches individuelles.

Depuis la bande originale du film There Will Be Blood (2007), Jonny Greenwood a acquis  progressivement la maîtrise de l’écriture et la direction orchestrale. Il s’est aussi illustré dans  la composition électronique, d’abord au service de trames sonores pour le cinéma et aussi de chansons complexes. Une esthétique traversée par le jazz actuel, le math rock, le prog rock, le space rock, la guitare classique moderne, les musiques classiques occidentale et orientale, l’électroacoustique et autres IDM. Éduqué aux formes contemporaines de la musique de chambre (ou symphonique), redoutable beatmaker côté électro, le guitariste Jonny Greenwood est devenu un musicien complet. De surcroît, un cerveau de Radiohead.

Figure emblématique des années 90, Thom Yorke a le mieux balisé la piste électronique  dans le massif rock de Radiohead, un rock existentiel chargé de mélodies épidermiques, des refrains bien construits, de halos autistiques, des thèmes et réflexions d’un quotidien doux amer, parfaitement représentatifs de ce que ressentait la génération X dans les années 90. The Eraser (2006) fut pour lui l’amorce de chansons construites avec  beaucoup plus de matériaux électroniques. On conserve un souvenir lumineux d’un magistral concert électro à la suite de son opus Anima (2019).

Semble-t-il qu’au terme du plus récent cycle de Radiohead (A Moon Shaped Pool, sorti en 2016 et la tournée qui s’ensuivit), Jonny Greenwood aurait exprimé une certaine lassitude à créer tout ce cirque Radiohead avec effets spéciaux, destiné aux arénas et stades.  

Jusque-là, les deux têtes principales n’avaient pas l’habitude de travailler ensemble dans  le contexte de leurs projets parallèles, d’où l’intérêt de The Smile qui les a réunis  et liés à l’excellent batteur Tom Skinner des Sons of Kemet. Sorti au printemps 2022, l’album A Light For Attracting Attention avait effectivement capté notre attention. Depuis plus ou moins une paire d’années, The Smile serait le principal vecteur de création de Thom Yorke (chant, guitare, basse, clavier),et Jonny Greenwood (guitare, basse, claviers), auxquels s’est joint Tom Skinner, l’excellent batteur du groupe jazz Sons of Kemet.

A Light for Attracting Attention, le premier album était une excellente nouvelle car il regroupait les deux artiste-clés du fameux quintette d’Oxford. Un power trio de ce niveau pouvait faire oublier, momentanément du moins, trois autres têtes de radio au ressources techniques inférieures. Quoique… ce n’est pas exactement le même son, l’exécution est certes plus virtuose mais les concepts musicaux auraient fort bien pu être explorées par le fameux quintette. 

La plupart des fans avaient ensuite apprécié un concert beaucoup plus rock, plus musclé, néanmoins dénué des éléments les plus raffinés de  A Light For Attracting Attention.  Ces éléments n’en constituaient-ils pas  les principales avancées ? Mais bon, on se sent de nouveau  jeune et fringuant lorsque ça rocke, lorsque ça décoiffe.

Pourquoi bouder son plaisir? Enfin… certains en ont boudé les conditions d’écoute ingrates.

Au deuxième chapitre de l’expérience, Wall Of Eyes s’inscrit dans le même souffle que le premier : chansons calmes et aériennes, prog rock ou space rock au confluent du jazz, musiques de chambre (London Contemporary Orchestra, notamment dans Friend Of A Friend et I Quit), psych-folk syncopé autour d’une guitare acoustique, bref une facture généralement subtile, élevée, dont on espère une exécution live proche de cet enregistrement délicieux car peu pièces de cet album sont rock dans leur conception – Under Our Pillows, construite sur des mesures composées, ou Bending Hektic, qui évoque une relation malencontreuse avec l’auto.  

Chercher le tube ou la chanson rock idéale dans le cas qui nous occupe, n’est pas à propos. Wall of Eyes n’est pas un album de grandes accroches mais plutôt un album où la forme chanson est un prétexte au prolongement compositionnel. Ses créateurs et interprètes y adoptent plutôt une posture de création profonde via laquelle émerge une forêt de subtilité. Authentique grower, en somme.

Tout le contenu 360

Will Régnier – Traces

Will Régnier – Traces

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

The First Eloi – Low Glow

The First Eloi – Low Glow

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre