×
Country : Mali / United States Label : Craft Genres and styles : Americana / Blues / West African Traditional Year : 2020
Béla Fleck & Toumani Diabaté

The Ripple Effect

· by Michel Rondeau

In 2008, wishing to go back to the origins of his instrument, Béla Fleck travelled to the African continent. Africa is indeed the cradle of the banjo, or rather of the instrument that inspired its conception: the akonting, a rustic lute originating from the Diola region in Senegal, Gambia and Guinea, made with a half-calabash covered with goatskin and equipped with a long, very thin neck to which three strings are attached. Fleck took advantage of his stay there to shoot a documentary film and glean numerous songs, which he then grouped together in two volumes under the title Throw Down your Heart, after a Gambian expression – literally throwing down your heart – that expresses the “sinking feeling” that the slaves felt when they saw the slave ship at the time of their deportation, and understood that they would never return. 

It seems that akonting and other instruments were often brought on board and helped save lives. As the conditions of the crossing were atrocious – many perished – music was often the only thing that connected these uprooted and dispossessed people to their culture and life.

On his trip, Fleck had the opportunity to meet and play with a host of local musicians, including D’Gary, Oumou Sangaré, Baba Maal and Bassekou Kouyaté, but Toumani Diabaté, the Malian virtuoso of the kora (another African instrument made with half a calabash and an animal skin, though related to the harp), was not free at the time. The two musicians finally met and were able to play together a few months later at a workshop at the Winnipeg Folk Festival, followed by a tour of some 20 concerts in 2009. The Ripple Effect brings together about ten of the best moments of this tour. Fleck and Diabaté seem to get along like gangbusters, dialoguing and rivaling in skill, mixing all the styles of their respective countries, country, blues, Malian and Appalachian folk, bluegrass… quoting melodies from each other’s traditions to end with a cheerful version of the famous banjo-and-guitar exchange from the film Deliverance.

The Ripple Effect is available on double vinyl, or with the Throw Down Your Heart: The Complete Africa Sessions compilation, which includes three CDs and a DVD of the film.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis / Mali Label : Craft Genres et styles : americana / blues / musique traditionnelle ouest-africaine Année : 2020
Béla Fleck & Toumani Diabaté

The Ripple Effect

· par Michel Rondeau

En 2008, souhaitant remonter aux origines de son instrument, Béla Fleck s’est rendu sur le continent africain. L’Afrique est effectivement le berceau du banjo, ou plutôt de l’instrument dont on s’est inspiré pour sa conception : l’écontine ou ekonting, un luth rustique originaire du pays diola au Sénégal, en Gambie et en Guinée fabriqué avec une demi-calebasse recouverte d’une peau de chèvre et dotée d’un long manche très fin auquel sont fixées trois cordes. Fleck a profité de son séjour là-bas pour y tourner un film documentaire et y glaner de nombreuses chansons qu’il a ensuite regroupées en deux volumes sous le titre Throw Down your Heart, d’après une expression gambienne – littéralement jeter son cœur – qui exprime bien le « sinking feeling » (sentiment de naufrage) qu’éprouvaient les esclaves lorsqu’en apercevant le navire négrier au moment de leur déportation, ils comprenaient qu’ils ne reviendraient jamais. 

Il semble d’ailleurs qu’écontines et autres instruments étaient alors souvent apportés à bord et qu’ils aient contribué à y sauver des vies. Comme les conditions de traversée étaient atroces – nombreux ont été ceux qui périrent – la musique étaient souvent la seule chose qui rattachait ces gens déracinés et dépossédés à leur culture et à la vie.

Lors de ce voyage, Fleck a eu l’occasion de rencontrer et de jouer avec une foule de musiciens de là-bas, D’Gary, Oumou Sangaré, Baba Maal et Bassekou Kouyaté notamment, mais Toumani Diabaté, le virtuose malien de la kora, autre instrument africain – bien qu’apparenté à la harpe celui-là – fabriqué avec demi-callebasse et une peau de bête, n’était pas libre à ce moment-là. Les deux musiciens se sont finalement rencontrés et ont pu jouer ensemble quelques mois plus tard à l’occasion d’un atelier au Winnipeg Folk Festival, puis d’une tournée d’une vingtaine de concerts en 2009. The Ripple Effect réunit une dizaine des meilleurs moments de cette tournée. Fleck et Diabaté semblent s’entendre comme larrons en foire, dialoguant et rivalisant d’adresse, mêlant tous les styles de leurs pays respectifs, country, blues, folklore malien, folklore des Appalaches, bluegrass… citant au passage des mélodies des traditions de l’un et l’autre pour terminer avec une version enjouée du fameux dialogue banjo et guitare du film Deliverance.

On peut se procurer The Ripple Effect sur disque vinyle double ou avec la compilation Throw Down Your Heart: The Complete Africa Sessions, qui comprend trois CD et le DVD du film.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre