×
Country : United States Label : Genres and styles : Hip Hop / rap Year : 2022

Open Mike Eagle – Component With the Auto Reverse

· by CCJ Gabriel

Underground emcee and legend in the freestyle rap scene, Open Mike Eagle is back with his latest project entitled Component System With the Auto Reverse. In what is true to Open Mike and his style over the years, Component System is also seemingly an ode to the legendary and iconic MF DOOM, a clear inspiration and former peer of Eagle. As it were, you can hear DOOM’s influence in Eagle’s rhyme schemes, cadences, flows, and production, with not only Madlib producing the beat for the track “Circuit City,” but also the song titled “For DOOM” is a letter to Mike’s fallen friend. As an avid fan of DOOM myself, I appreciate this project’s efforts in that regard very much, as he was a GOAT to many of us “old heads.” RIP Villain. 

The weird, unorthodox, and often comedic stylings of Open Mike, along with his lo-fi, throwback, and simplistic beat selection, are quite refreshing in 2022. Hearing a song like “79th and Stony Island,” where Mike explains who he is and why he is the way that he is—a product of his Chicago and Crenshaw environment, told to get out there and chase the American Dream (whatever that even means anymore)—is relatable to regular people. Most rap music today consists of unfathomable, “Disney-esque” love stories or ultra-violence and gangster dealings between million and billionaires. In contrast, Mike Eagle’s songs like “I’ll Fight You” and “I Retired Then I Changed My Mind” explore his unique mentality while touching on realistic thoughts and feelings that average people have every day. 

A couple of other highlights of this project lie within the songs “Burner Account” featuring Armand Hammer and “Kites.” The former has an impeccable lyricism and a beat that really slaps. The latter song “Kites” is rather genius, consisting of a series of “letters” left behind by Mike and fellow emcees once they’re gone. It is one of those songs I feel like I will carry with me for the rest of my life. Staying true to myself, as I always do, I will offer one criticism of Component System, that a lot of the songs were fairly short and similar. Although every track does bleed together seamlessly, I can understand how these sorts of songs can be an “acquired vibe,” if you will, especially in this day and age. Still, if you’re a fan of the abstract, obscure and old school like me, and if you were a fan of MF DOOM, then Component System With the Auto Reverse is a must-listen.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : États-Unis Label : Genres et styles : hip-hop / rap Année : 2022

Open Mike Eagle – Component with the Auto Reverse

· par CCJ Gabriel

Open Mike Eagle, MC marginal et légende de la scène rap freestyle, est de retour avec un album intitulé Component System with the Auto Reverse. Conforme au style prôné par Open Mike au fil des ans, Component System semble également être une ode à l’iconique MF DOOM, une inspiration manifeste et un ancien collègue d’Eagle. On perçoit l’influence de DOOM dans la structure des rimes, dans les cadences, les flux et la production d’Eagle. De plus, il y a Madlib qui s’occupe des rythmes de Circuit City, puis un morceau intitulé For DOOM, sous forme de lettre à cet ami disparu. Puisque je suis un ardent admirateur de MF DOOM, ces gestes me touchent; c’était l’un des très grands, pour nombre de vieux hip-hopophiles comme moi. RIP Villain.

Les trouvailles stylistiques bizarres, peu orthodoxes et souvent loufoques d’Open Mike, ainsi que ses choix de rythmes lo-fi, rétro et simplistes, sont assez rafraîchissants en 2022. Entendre une chanson comme 79th and Stony Island, où Mike explique sa nature et l’origine de celle-ci (un produit de son milieu à Chicago et Crenshaw, à qui on a dit de réaliser le rêve américain, peu importe ce que ça signifie de nos jours), ça rejoint le public. La plupart des chansons rap actuelles consistent soit en histoires d’amour disneyennes, soit en ultra-violence mettant aux prises des gangsters millionnaires ou même milliardaires. En revanche, dans des chansons comme I’ll Fight You et I Retired Then I Changed My Mind, Open Mike Eagle explore son unicité, tout en abordant des pensées et des sentiments réalistes que les gens ordinaires éprouvent tous les jours.

Au nombre des autres points forts de cet album, mentionnons Burner Account – avec Armand Hammer – et Kites : la première comporte des paroles impeccables et des rythmes qui cognent, alors que Kites, plutôt ingénieuse, consiste en une série de missives qu’auraient laissées Mike et d’autres MC une fois disparus. Le genre de chanson qui me restera toute ma vie. Fidèle à moi-même, j’émettrai une critique sur Component System, à savoir que beaucoup de chansons sont assez courtes et semblables. Bien que toutes les pièces s’imbriquent parfaitement les unes dans les autres, j’en conviens qu’il s’agit d’un genre auquel on doit s’habituer, surtout à notre époque. Néanmoins, si vous aimez les trucs abstraits, obscurs et old school comme moi, et si vous étiez un fan de MF DOOM, alors vous devez absolument écouter Component System With the Auto Reverse.

Tout le contenu 360

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

The First Eloi – Low Glow

The First Eloi – Low Glow

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Joel Ross – nublues

Joel Ross – nublues

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

Apolline Jesupret – Lueurs

Influences d’Obiora

Influences d’Obiora

Très élégant mariage de cordes et de jazz

Très élégant mariage de cordes et de jazz

Nathalie Joachim – Ki Moun Ou Ye

Nathalie Joachim – Ki Moun Ou Ye

Marc-André Hamelin – New Piano Works

Marc-André Hamelin – New Piano Works

L’Ensemble à cordes de l’ONJ au service de Marianne Trudel et Yannick Rieu

L’Ensemble à cordes de l’ONJ au service de Marianne Trudel et Yannick Rieu

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser dirige l’Ensemble Obiora

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser dirige l’Ensemble Obiora

OSM | Thèmes et variations avec Louis Lortie et Eun Sun Kim

OSM | Thèmes et variations avec Louis Lortie et Eun Sun Kim

Alex Southey – God’s Green Earth

Alex Southey – God’s Green Earth

Pendant que meurt Alexeï Navalny, renaît Mireille Mathieu… toujours pro-Poutine ?

Pendant que meurt Alexeï Navalny, renaît Mireille Mathieu… toujours pro-Poutine ?

Galan Trio – Kinesis vol. 2

Galan Trio – Kinesis vol. 2

Vanessa Marcoux – Cendres

Vanessa Marcoux – Cendres

Waxamillion – Steezy

Waxamillion – Steezy

Single du jour – ChabiFönK Experience – Pandora Project

Single du jour – ChabiFönK Experience – Pandora Project

CRAWL – Damned

CRAWL – Damned

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre