Country : United States Label : Planet Mu Genres and styles : Ambient / breakcore / Electronic / Experimental Techno / Footwork Year : 2023

Nondi_ – Flood City Trax 

· by Théo Reinhardt

How do you bear witness to the loss? Of a loss which is unknown to us but which we nevertheless know is irrecoverable? And how do you do it with music? On Flood City Trax, producer, and electronic artist Nondi_, aka Tatiana Triplin, explores this affective desert. Completely by sound. 

From Johnstown, Pennsylvania, the artist’s musical profile has been built online. She draws inspiration from genres such as footwork, breakcore and Detroit techno, which she experiences on the web. This online mode of sourcing and creation comes out very clearly in Nondi’s music. It gives off an impression of dreamy loneliness, which also has something to do with the physical place of its creation. 

The artist says of her album that she seeks to capture the feeling of life in Johnstown, particularly the isolation of poverty there. The history of this city is dark: several floods ravaged it, in 1889 and in 1977 (hence the nickname “Flood City,”) and left a tragic mark from which it is still struggling to recover. “There is very little to do, the buildings are destroyed or condemned. Everything is old, but at the same time, it’s as if the past has disappeared,” she explains on her Bandcamp page.

It is therefore a deep feeling of desolation that Tatiana Triplin manages to communicate on this album, so much so that we almost have the impression of having lost something without really knowing what. To have escaped something that escapes us. This melancholic loss, of which even the object is unknown, haunts the music but, at the same time, pushes it to exist. Triplin is right in going lo-fi, this intentional data loss fits the concept perfectly. The same is true for the album cover, designed to look like a yellowed and found historical photo, a little creepy, just enough to sow doubt. A lost story among many others.

On the sound side, we have here a talented artist. Nondi_ crafts ethereal atmospheres borrowing from genres we know (techno, breakcore, glitch), but she makes them almost extraterrestrial. The beginnings of the first piece leave this impression of being inside a pinball game lost in space. In fact, the whole album sounds a bit like retro-indie-experimental video game music from another dimension. A three-quarters developed game whose greatest beauty would be the bugs. It’s exotic but strangely enchanting, and we don’t complain about staying there.

I would say that even if the sound in the strict sense doesn’t always match, the spirit of the album is definitely ambient. The different pieces aim to put us in this contemplative state as if passing through time. As much with the softer tracks as with the pounding ones, the objective is achieved: as the album progresses, we feel transported into a space with fuzzy details, with disintegrated corners, as if we were in a virtual reconstruction of Johnstown which disintegrates a little more over our steps. A ghost town in a computer, with no wind; remnants of unoriginated sounds; rays of light without heat.

With a single idea, an image, and an ability to handle sound, Nondi_ tells this story of which we only know the end. We feel the old voices trying to come to the surface, but they are too far away for us to reach out to them. It’s helplessness in the face of time, the disturbing feeling of no longer remembering the face of an old acquaintance. Despite everything, by mixing Johnstown and electronic music; historical tragedy, and web phenomena, we are perhaps trying to prove the impossible, to make music a defibrillator. Perhaps, on the contrary, it is only a last look, immortalization on the contrary. 

In short, Flood City Trax seems to play even louder in our heads when we stop it. Failing to be able to find the lost past, the album finally surprises by making memory its home. It’s completely successful.

Latest 360 Content

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Convulsing – Perdurance

Convulsing – Perdurance

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Botanist – Paleobotany

Botanist – Paleobotany

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Nino Carlos &  Friends – Placenta

Nino Carlos & Friends – Placenta

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : États-Unis Label : Planet Mu Genres et styles : ambient / breakcore / électronique / footwork / techno expérimentale Année : 2023

Nondi_ – Flood City Trax 

· par Théo Reinhardt

Comment témoigner de la perte? D’une perte qui nous est inconnue mais qu’on sait néanmoins irrécupérable ? Et comment le faire en musique? Sur Flood City Trax, la productrice et artiste électronique Nondi_, alias Tatiana Triplin, explore ce désert affectif. Entièrement par le son. 

De Johnstown, Pennsylvanie, le profil musical de l’artiste a été bâti en ligne. Elle s’inspire de genres tels que le footwork, le breakcore et la techno de Détroit, dont elle fait l’expérience sur le web. Ce mode d’approvisionnement et de création en ligne ressort très clairement dans la musique de Nondi. S’en dégage une impression de solitude rêveuse, qui a aussi quelque chose à voir avec le lieu physique de sa création. 

L’artiste dit de son album qu’il cherche à capturer le sentiment de la vie à Johnstown, particulièrement l’isolement de la pauvreté qui y règnent. L’histoire de cette ville est sombre: plusieurs inondations l’ont ravagée, comme en 1889 et en 1977 (d’où le surnom « Flood City »), et y ont laissé une marque tragique dont elle peine encore à se relever. « Il y a très peu à faire, les bâtiments sont détruits ou condamnés. Tout est vieux, mais en même temps, c’est comme si le passé avait disparu. », explique-t-elle sur sa page Bandcamp.

C’est donc un profond sentiment de désolation que Tatiana Triplin arrive à communiquer sur cet album, à tel point qu’on a presque l’impression d’avoir perdu quelque chose sans trop savoir quoi. D’avoir échappé quelque chose qui nous échappe. Cette perte mélancolique, dont même l’objet est inconnu, hante la musique mais, du même coup, la pousse à exister. Triplin a raison en allant vers le lo-fi, cette perte de données intentionnelle épouse à merveille le concept. Il en est de même pour la pochette de l’album, conçue pour ressembler à une photo historique jaunie et retrouvée, un peu glauque, juste assez pour semer le doute. Une histoire perdue parmi tant d’autres.

Côté sonore, on a ici une artiste de talent. Nondi_ confectionne des atmosphères éthérées empruntant à des genres qu’on connaît (techno, breakcore, glitch), mais elle les rend quasi-extraterrestres. Les débuts de la première pièce laissent cette impression d’être à l’intérieur d’un jeu de Pinball perdu dans l’espace. En fait, tout l’album sonne un peu comme la musique d’un jeu vidéo rétro-indie-expérimental venu d’une autre dimension. Un jeu développé aux trois-quarts dont la plus grande beauté serait les bogues. C’est dépaysant, mais étrangement enchanteur, et on ne se plaint pas d’y rester.

Je dirais que, même si le son au sens strict ne concorde pas toujours, l’esprit de l’album est définitivement celui de l’ambient. Les différents morceaux visent à nous mettre dans cet état contemplatif, comme passant à travers le temps. Autant par les morceaux plus doux qu’avec ceux qui martèlent, l’objectif est atteint: au fil de l’album, on se sent transporté dans un espace aux détails flous, aux coins désagrégés, comme si nous étions dans une reconstruction virtuelle de Johnstown qui se désintègre un peu plus au fil de nos pas. Une ville fantôme dans un ordinateur, sans vent; des vestiges de sons sans origine; des rayons de lumière sans chaleur.

Avec une seule idée, une image et une capacité à manier le son, Nondi_ raconte cette histoire dont on ne connaît que la fin. On sent les voix anciennes tenter de remonter à la surface, mais elles sont trop loin pour qu’on leur tende la main. C’est l’impuissance face au temps, le sentiment troublant de ne plus se rappeler le visage d’une vieille connaissance. Malgré tout, en mêlant Johnstown et musique électronique; tragédie historique et phénomènes web, on essaie peut-être de prouver l’impossible, de faire de la musique un défibrillateur. Peut-être n’est-ce au contraire qu’un dernier regard, une immortalisation à l’inverse. 
En somme, Flood City Trax semble jouer encore plus fort dans notre tête lorsqu’on l’arrête. À défaut de pouvoir retrouver le passé perdu, l’album étonne finalement en faisant de la mémoire sa maison. C’est complètement réussi.

Tout le contenu 360

 Madame Autruche – Sm58 (prochaine chance la meilleure fois) 

 Madame Autruche – Sm58 (prochaine chance la meilleure fois) 

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poet Department: The Anthology

Le niveau supérieur de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie

Le niveau supérieur de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

L’OSL et Naomi Woo : un parcours énergique au Nouveau Monde

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

Constantinople | Kiya Tabassian nous parle de Dimitrie Cantemir

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

SMCQ | Comment vivre différentes temporalités? Sandeep Bhagwati propose une vaste métaphore

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Oumou Sangaré | La superdiva du Wassoulou chante Timbuktu à MTL

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre