×
Country : Canada Label : Marlow Genres and styles : Acid-Jazz / Groove / Instrumental Hip Hop / Orchestral Pop / Soundtrack Year : 2020
Cinephonic

Les Paradis artificiels

· by Frédéric Cardin

Oh, did I have fun listening to Les Paradis artificiels by Cinephonic, the brand new project by Pierre Chrétien of Souljazz Orchestra and Slim Moore and the Mar-Kays. The guy, hailing from Ontario, is first pianist, vibraphonist, mellotronist and leader/composer.

All nine irresistibly groovy and mellowy tracks on the album are as many neo-vintage strolls through a certain kind of seductive French cinema music of the ’60s and ’70s. But not only! Chrétien brings in his own ingredients, of orchestral jazz, of colours and rhythmic swings that would have suited the likes of Isaac Hayes or Bobby Womack, and all that with circa big, fat, juicy instrumental hip-hop beats.

Of course, the pioneering inspirations in the genre are recognizable: Air, Cinematic Orchestra, Jocelyn Tellier, Saint Etienne. Les Paradis artificiels doesn’t reinvent the wheel of instrumental pop, but, when it works so well, why bother? In this case, it means playing it over and over, and just enjoy life!

Chrétien benefits from the services of two other great musicians, Robert Biesewig (Wu-Tang Clan, Ghostface Killah, Alchemist) and Marielle Rivard, percussionist brought from Souljazz Orchestra and the Mar-Kays. Concerning the orchestral arrangements, without any money for a real orchestra (thanks for nothing, Ontario Arts Council!), Chrétien played everything himself (strings on mellotron, and then flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, etc.)! Kudos and hats off for that!

Press play, and let it go on repeat the whole day! Be it while reading, contemplating the outside world on a rainy day, or going out for a walk or a quick jog through city streets. It works, whatever you’re doing, and it plunges you into a bewitching atmosphere with wonderfully evocative and imaginary panoramas.

Cinephonic’s Les Paradis artificiels, it’s like being the hero in your own personal movie.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : Marlow Genres et styles : acid jazz / groove / hip-hop instrumental / pop orchestrale / trame sonore Année : 2020
Cinephonic

Les Paradis artificiels

· par Frédéric Cardin

J’ai eu bien du plaisir à écouter Les Paradis artificiels de Cinephonic, le nouveau projet de Pierre Chrétien, pianiste, vibraphoniste, mellotroniste et aussi leader de collectifs juteusement funky tels que le Souljazz Orchestra et Slim Moore & the Mar-Kays!

Les Paradis artificiels et ses neuf plages à la fois groovy et jouissivement moelleuses sont autant de déambulations néo-vintage dans l’esprit d’une certaine musique pour le cinéma français des années 60 et 70. Mais pas que, loin s’en faut ! Chrétien l’assaisonne ici de jazz orchestral, là de couleurs et de déhanchements qui n’auraient pas déplu à Isaac Hayes ou Bobby Womack, le tout bien enrobé de beats bien gras style hip-hop instrumental, voire symphonique contemporain.

Oui, bien entendu, on reconnaît les inspirations pionnières d’Air, Cinematic Orchestra, Jocelyn Tellier, Saint Etienne… Les Paradis artificiels ne réinvente pas la roue de la pop instrumentale, mais quand une roue tourne aussi bien et est aussi efficace, pourquoi ne pas l’utiliser pleinement ? Dans ce cas-ci, ça veut dire l’écouter en boucle et se laisser emporter !

Chrétien s’est adjoint les services de deux belles pointures du rythme : le batteur Robert Biesewig (Wu-Tang Clan, Ghostface Killah, Alchemist) et la percussionniste tous azimuts Marielle Rivard, ramenée du Souljazz Orchestra et des Mar-Kays. Pour les arrangements orchestraux, Chrétien fait des miracles avec peu de moyens. Le mellotron remplit assez bien la fonction des cordes, mais il y a aussi la flûte, le hautbois, la clarinette, le basson, etc. Tout, je dis bien tout, est joué par Chrétien. Chapeau !

Laissez rouler en boucle en lisant, en regardant tomber la pluie ou en se promenant (ou en joggant) un samedi matin ensoleillé à travers les rues de la ville. Ça marche peu importe le contexte et ça vous envoûte l’ambiance avec des milliers d’évocations bienfaisantes. 

Les Paradis artificiels de Cinephonic est la trame sonore d’un cinéma dont vous êtes le héros.

4 commentaires sur “Les Paradis artificiels

Laisser un commentaire

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre