×
Country : United States Label : Merge Genres and styles : Americana / Country / Folk Year : 2020
H.C. McEntire

Eno Axis

· by Steve Naud

Two years ago, your faithful scribe swooned before Lionheart, the first solo album by H.C. McEntire, singer of the groups Bellafea and Mount Moriah. On that record, she’d left behind the muddy rock of these two bands, shifting to a much less dirty country sound, more like the tunes that marked her childhood spent in the North Carolina countryside. Singing about her love for another woman, using this reputedly conservative music as well as the religious imagery imposed on her in her youth, was a tour de force.

Eno Axis derives its title from the Eno River, a North Carolina waterway along which Heather McEntire and her partner took up residence. That’s what this beautiful record is all about: peace in the arms of your loved one, in the quiet beauty of nature. Eno Axis is the logical sequel to Lionheart‘s work, in that after settling accounts with the demons of her past, the singer can now lay down her arms.

Even if a few listens are required to appreciate this album at its true value, the soft light that emanates from it seduces from the very first bars of “Hands for the Harvest”, a superb opening track with an intimate atmosphere. A little later, a cloud passes over, the darkest one here, for the duration of the excellent “River’s Jaw”, then we continue with “One Eye Open”, a gospel-flavoured anthem condemning white supremacism and its senseless violence. As things continue, the richness is revealed in the roots instrumentation (guitar, banjo, pedal steel…), the warmth of the production, and the sound of McEntire’s voice, so touching right to the last track of the record, a pure and very successful rereading of Led Zeppelin’s “Houses of the Holy”. With Eno Axis, we finally have the great record that H.C. McEntire’s talent has been promising us since the beginning of her career.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Merge Genres et styles : americana / country / folk Année : 2020
H.C. McEntire

Eno Axis

· par Steve Naud

Il y a deux ans, votre humble serviteur s’était pâmé devant Lionheart, premier album en solo de H.C. McEntire, chanteuse des groupes Bellafea et Mount Moriah. Sur ce disque, elle délaissait le son rock boueux de ces deux formations pour se tourner vers une country beaucoup moins sale, ressemblant davantage aux airs qui ont bercé son enfance passée dans la campagne de la Caroline du Nord. Chanter son amour pour une autre femme en ayant recours à cette musique réputée conservatrice ainsi qu’à l’imagerie religieuse qu’on lui avait imposée dans sa jeunesse relevait du tour de force.

Eno Axis tire son titre de la rivière Eno, cours d’eau nord-carolinien au bord duquel Heather McEntire a élu domicile avec sa compagne. C’est d’ailleurs principalement de cela qu’il est question sur ce très beau disque : de la paix retrouvée entre les bras de l’être aimé, dans la beauté tranquille de la nature. Eno Axis est la suite logique de Lionheart dans la mesure où après avoir réglé ses comptes avec les démons de son passé, la chanteuse peut maintenant déposer les armes.

Même si quelques écoutes sont requises pour apprécier cet album à sa juste valeur, la lumière douce qui en émane séduit dès les premières mesures de Hands for the Harvest, superbe premier morceau à l’atmosphère intimiste. Un peu plus tard, un nuage passe, le temps que joue la plus sombre, mais excellente, River’s Jaw, puis on poursuit avec One Eye Open, hymne à saveur gospel condamnant le suprémacisme blanc et ses violences insensées. Ensuite, nous sommes bercés par l’instrumentation roots (guitare, banjo, pedal steel…), la chaleur de la réalisation et le son de cette voix si touchante jusqu’au dernier titre du disque, une relecture épurée et fort réussie du Houses of the Holy de Led Zeppelin. Avec Eno Axis, nous avons enfin droit au grand disque que nous promettait le talent de H.C. McEntire depuis le début de sa carrière.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre