×
Country : Egypt / Italy / Portugal / Turkey Label : Alpha Genres and styles : Jazz / Middle Eastern / musique métissée Year : 2022

Cairo Jazz Station

· by Frédéric Cardin

Cairo Jazz Station is an unusual quartet composed of a saz (a Turkish lute), an Egyptian darbouka, an accordion and a double bass. It is also the meeting of improvised jazz and the traditional and art music of Turkey, Egypt, Portugal, and Italy. It is above all a Mediterranean fusion that is both sophisticated and instinctive.

Abdallah Abozekry (saz), Ismail Altunbas (darbouka), João Barradas (accordion) and Loris Leo Lari (double bass) met at the Aix-en-Provence Festival Academy. Proof, if were needed, of the importance of this type of meeting space for exchanging artistic visions.

The result is as good as the combined curriculum of the four musicians, all trained in the best schools of their respective instruments/styles: a journey into an authentic and refined inspiration, where music lovers will be delighted. From the solemnity of the introduction to Cathedral to the channeled energy of Orient Espresso, one appreciates the sense of proportion and sensitive musicality of the quartet members. One also enjoys the enriched dialogue between the combined sonorities of the ensemble and the harmonic spaces, both chromatic and modal, of the compositions. In addition to intertwining naturally, all these elements are balanced in a respectful way.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Égypte / Italie / Portugal / Turquie Label : Alpha Genres et styles : jazz / moyen-oriental Année : 2022

Cairo Jazz Station

· par Frédéric Cardin

Cairo Jazz Station, c’est un quatuor hors norme composé d’un saz (un luth turc), de darbouka égyptienne, d’un accordéon et d’une contrebasse. C’est aussi la rencontre entre la musique improvisée jazz et les musiques traditionnelles et savantes de la Turquie, de l’Égypte, du Portugal et de l’Italie. C’est surtout un syncrétisme méditerranéen à la fois savant et instinctif.

Abdallah Abozekry (saz), Ismail Altunbas (darbouka), João Barradas (accordéon) et Loris Leo Lari (contrebasse) se sont rencontrés à l’Académie du Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. La preuve, si besoin était, de l’importance de ce type d’espaces d’échanges de visions artistiques.

Le résultat est à la hauteur du curriculum combiné des quatre musiciens, tous formés aux meilleures écoles de leurs instruments/styles respectifs : un voyage dans une inspiration authentique et sophistiquée, où les mélomanes seront comblés. De la solennité de l’introduction de Cathedral à l’énergie canalisée de Orient Espresso, on apprécie le sens de la mesure et la musicalité sensible des membres du quatuor. On aime également ce dialogue enrichi entre les sonorités combinées de l’ensemble et les espaces harmoniques, à la fois chromatique et modal, des compositions. En plus de s’entrelacer naturellement, tous ces éléments s’équilibrent de façon respectueuse.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre