×
Country : Canada Label : Island Genres and styles : Hip Hop / Pop / R&B / soul-pop / Soul/R&B / Trap Year : 2020
Jessie Reyez

Before Love Came to Kill Us

· by Jean Bourbeau

Since the release of her single “Figures” at the end of 2016, the Colombian-born, Toronto-based artist has distinguished herself as a committed multidisciplinary artist with numerous high-level collaborations (Calvin Harris, Sam Smith, 6lack, Eminem). An integral part of the new generation of artists coming from a hip and unabashed Brampton, Reyez brilliantly delivers Before Love Came to Kill Us, a very first album after two award-winning EPs and many prestigious nominations.

Lascivious pop-soul with hints of Latin and trap flavour, his music is distinguished by a mature R&B approach with delicate arrangements. Like the album’s title, the lyrical essence is tinged with a recurring thanatos, magnified by a hoarse and nasal vocal signature. While Reyez has a predilection for the symptoms of expired love, she also tackles with panache topical subjects such as migratory struggles and women’s emancipation.

This painstaking effort unfolds over 14 tracks with an instinctive sensitivity which, in addition to confirming rumours of obvious charisma, reveals the conquering vulnerability of this young musician with a brilliant future.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : Island Genres et styles : hip-hop / pop / R&B / soul-pop / soul/R&B / trap Année : 2020
Jessie Reyez

Before Love Came to Kill Us

· par Jean Bourbeau

Depuis la parution de son single Figures fin 2016, la Torontoise d’origine colombienne s’est démarquée comme artiste multidisciplinaire engagée multipliant les collaborations de haut niveau (Calvin Harris, Sam Smith, 6lack, Eminem). Partie intégrante de cette nouvelle génération d’artistes issus d’un Brampton hip et sans complexe, Reyez nous livre avec éclat Before Love Came to Kill Us, un tout premier album après deux EP lauréats de nombreux prix et nominations prestigieuses.

Pop-soul lascive avec des soupçons de saveur latine et trap, sa musique se distingue par un R&B mature aux arrangements délicats. À l’image du titre de l’album, l’essence lyrique est teintée d’un thanatos récurrent, magnifié par une signature vocale rauque et nasillarde. Jessie Reyez a certes une prédilection pour les symptômes de l’amour périmé, mais elle aborde également avec panache des sujets d’actualité comme la douleur migratoire et l’émancipation au féminin.

Cet effort millimétré se déploie sur quatorze morceaux à la sensibilité épidermique qui, en plus de confirmer les rumeurs d’un charisme évident, révèlent la vulnérabilité conquérante de cette jeune musicienne à l’avenir brillant.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre