Rani Jambak | Experimental Sumatra

Entrevue réalisée par Laurent Bellemare

renseignements supplémentaires

Rani Jambak is a composer, producer and vocalist based in Medan, North Sumatra (Indonesia). She began her performance career by working on the Goethe Institute’s Sound of X project and launching Medan Soundspectives, a festival celebrating the acoustic diversity of her home city. Jambak is a dedicated environmentalist who produces music to raise awareness on environmental issues through a music-ecological campaign entitled #FORMYNATURE. Her new project #FUTUREANCESTOR is inspired by her Minangkabau ethnic identity and uses sound to explore connections between traditional knowledge and nature. For her purposes, she built a unique invented instrument called the Kincia Aia, inspired by the traditional west sumatran water wheels. 

This October, Rani Jambak will be touring Canada alongside electronic duo Gabber Modus Operandi and DJ Wok the Rock, showcasing some of Indonesia’s best experimental music of the hour. All the artists have released music through Yogyakarta-based label YesNoWave, a force in the javanese underground. The artists’ October 15 stop in Montreal will be a rare occasion to hear new music from maritime Southeast Asia in this part of the world. We took the opportunity to ask a few questions to Jambak in preparation for the event. 

Pan M 360 : Can you describe your sound and artistic approach to Canadian audiences who may never have heard of your music?

Rani Jambak : My music is a mixture of nature and city soundscapes, including animals and traditional instruments of Sumatra, Indonesia. Those sounds are part of my personal journey on finding ancestral roots as Minangkabau (ethnicity in West Sumatra) living in Medan (North Sumatra). In 2019 I started a field recording journey and found a way to learn my history and culture through sounds. One of Minangkabau philosophy, “Alam takambang jadi guru” (nature is our teacher), is a big theme of my music. So I will talk about environmental problems and how nature, humans and ancestors are connected to each other. I call it #futureancestor , as how I see the connection of humans from the past and future.

Pan M 360 : What are the artforms or music traditions that influence you as an artist?

Rani Jambak : I got influenced by many traditions and musical culture from my own roots as Minangkabau and the place where I was born, Medan. Medan is a unique city as it has 8 original ethnicities and it makes Medan very rich in sound diversity. For the last 3 years, Minangkabau philosophy and ancestral knowledge has been my main focus to re-interpret in musical form. Starting from learning the culture and history through sounds, to creating instruments from water wheels named “Kincia Aia”, then understanding history through “Tambo Alam Minangkabau”, a manuscript about the origin of Minangkabau from the early 19th century.

Pan M 360 : Those who are not familiar with the Javanese music scene may not know, but there is a strong community around experimental music in Java and Indonesia in general. What role do you feel that you play in this community? 

Jani Jambak : Women in the electronic experimental scene in Indonesia are still very rare. So I hope my music could inspire other women artists to embrace their confidence to share their music and believe that women are also important in this music community and for the diversity of music itself. 

Pan M 360 : How much do you identify with collectives such as Jogja Noise Bombing or a band like Senyawa, which is now well-known in North America? Is there any connection or are these different networks from yours?

Rani Jambak : Because I live in Sumatra, I never experienced Jogja Noise Bombing. But I follow their activity online. However, I met Rully (vocalist of Senyawa) many times and we had a good chat. Since I also connected with Wok The Rock and YesNoWave, I feel the network between electronic experimental artists around Indonesia is so much easier. Also, the presence of Yes No Stage in the 2022 Pestapora Festival (in Jakarta) made the connection even stronger because we could meet in person.

Pan M 360 : What are your plans for the near future? Any notable releases or upcoming performances?

Rani Jambak :After this tour I will perform in Jakarta for Pekan Kebudayaan Nasional (October 22nd), playing new compositions with my instrument Kincia Aia.

Pan M 360 : Thank you!

Rani Jambak : Thank you so much for the questions.

The Montreal stop for the Indonesian YesNoWave Tour is Co-presented with Festival Phénomena, Festival Accès Asie, Québec Musiques Parallèles and Arts in the Margins. Catch it on October 15th at La Sala Rosa

INFOS + TICKETS HERE

Tout le contenu 360

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

Rani Jambak | Sumatra expérimental

Entrevue réalisée par Laurent Bellemare

renseignements supplémentaires

Rani Jambak est une compositrice, productrice et chanteuse basée à Medan, au nord de Sumatra (Indonésie). Elle a commencé sa carrière en travaillant sur le projet Sound of X de l’Institut Goethe et en lançant Medan Soundspectives, un festival mettant l’emphase sur la diversité acoustique de sa ville natale. 

Jambak est une écologiste convaincue qui produit de la musique pour sensibiliser aux questions environnementales par le biais d’une campagne musico-écologique intitulée #FORMYNATURE. Son nouveau projet #FUTUREANCESTOR s’inspire de son identité ethnique Minangkabau et utilise le son pour explorer les liens entre les connaissances traditionnelles et la nature. Pour ce faire, elle a construit un instrument inventé unique appelé Kincia Aia, inspiré des moulins à eau traditionnels de l’ouest de Sumatra.

En octobre, Rani Jambak sera en tournée au Canada aux côtés du duo électronique Gabber Modus Operandi et du DJ Wok the Rock, pour présenter quelques-unes des meilleures musiques expérimentales indonésiennes de l’heure. Tous les artistes sont affiliés au label YesNoWave, basé à Yogyakarta, une force dans l’underground javanais. Le passage des artistes à Montréal le 15 octobre sera une rare occasion d’entendre de la nouvelle musique de l’Asie du Sud-Est maritime dans notre coin de pays. Nous avons profité de l’occasion pour poser quelques questions à Jambak en préparation de l’événement.

Pan M 360 : Pouvez-vous décrire votre son et votre approche artistique au public canadien qui n’a peut-être jamais entendu parler de votre musique ?

Rani Jambak : Ma musique est un mélange de paysages sonores de la nature et de la ville, incluant des animaux et des instruments traditionnels de Sumatra, en Indonésie. Ces sons font partie de mon voyage personnel à la recherche de mes racines ancestrales en tant que Minangkabau (ethnie du Sumatra ouest)  vivant à Medan (Sumatra nord). En 2019, j’ai commencé un voyage d’enregistrement sur le terrain et j’ai trouvé un moyen d’apprendre mon histoire et ma culture à travers les sons. L’une des philosophies Minangkabau, « Alam takambang jadi guru » (la nature est notre professeur), est un thème important de ma musique. Je parlerai donc des problèmes environnementaux et de la façon dont la nature, les humains et les ancêtres sont liés les uns aux autres. Je l’appelle #futureancestor, comme je vois la connexion entre les humains du passé et du futur.

Pan M 360 : Quelles sont les formes d’art ou les traditions musicales qui vous influencent en tant qu’artiste ?

Rani Jambak : J’ai été influencée par de nombreuses traditions et cultures musicales à partir de mes propres racines Minangkabau et de l’endroit où je suis née, Medan. Medan est une ville unique qui compte 8 ethnies originales, ce qui la rend très riche en diversité sonore. Au cours des trois dernières années, la philosophie Minangkabau et les connaissances ancestrales ont été mon principal centre d’intérêt pour la réinterprétation sous forme musicale. J’ai commencé par apprendre la culture et l’histoire à travers les sons, en créant des instruments à partir de roues à eau appelées « Kincia Aia », puis en comprenant l’histoire grâce au « Tambo Alam Minangkabau », un manuscrit sur l’origine du Minangkabau datant du début du 19e siècle.

Pan M 360 : Ceux qui ne connaissent pas la scène musicale javanaise ne le savent peut-être pas, mais il existe une forte communauté autour de la musique expérimentale à Java et en Indonésie en général. Quel rôle pensez-vous jouer dans cette communauté ?

Jani Jambak : Les femmes sont encore très rares dans la scène électronique expérimentale en Indonésie. J’espère donc que ma musique pourra inspirer d’autres femmes artistes à prendre confiance en elles pour partager leur musique et à croire que les femmes sont également importantes dans cette communauté musicale et pour la diversité de la musique elle-même.

Pan M 360 : Dans quelle mesure vous identifiez-vous à des collectifs tels que Jogja Noise Bombing ou à un groupe comme Senyawa, qui est aujourd’hui connu en Amérique du Nord ? Y a-t-il un lien ou s’agit-il de réseaux différents des vôtres ?

Rani Jambak : Comme je vis à Sumatra, je n’ai jamais connu Jogja Noise Bombing. Mais je suis leurs activités en ligne. Cependant, j’ai rencontré Rully (chanteur de Senyawa) à plusieurs reprises et nous avons discuté. Depuis que je suis en contact avec Wok The Rock et YesNoWave, j’ai l’impression que le réseau entre les artistes électroniques expérimentaux d’Indonésie est beaucoup plus facile. De plus, la présence du Yes No Stage au festival Pestapora 2022 (à Jakarta) a rendu la connexion encore plus forte car nous avons pu nous rencontrer en personne.


Pan M 360 : Quels sont vos projets pour l’avenir proche ? Des sorties notables ou des performances à venir ?

Rani Jambak : Après cette tournée, je me produirai à Jakarta pour Pekan Kebudayaan Nasional (22 octobre), jouant de nouvelles compositions avec mon instrument Kincia Aia.

Pan M 360 : Merci !

Rani Jambak : Merci beaucoup pour ces questions.

Rani Jambak se produit ce dimanche à la Sala Rossa, 20h. Infos et billets ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre