Faten Kanaan: The choice of minimalism and repetitious cycles

Entrevue réalisée par Alain Brunet

Faten Kanaan is one of the most prominent of the new generation of composers emerging on the international scene, given to repetitious and post-minimalist music.

Genres et styles : Ambient / Contemporary / Electronic / Minimalist

renseignements supplémentaires

(Photo: Lena Shkoda)

A resident of Brooklyn, Faten Kanaan rakes through the territory of minimalism and repetition. With a passion for keyboards, from the piano to analog synthesizers, this young composer with Middle Eastern roots is part of a third generation to follow this path laid out by Steve Reich and Philip Glass. A Mythology of Circles, her fourth album, this time on the British label Fire Records, was celebrated by music media interested in the post-minimalist corpus. PAN M 360 is one of these cutting-edge platforms, and Kanaan connected with us from Brooklyn, to explain her background and her creative choices.

PAN M 360: As a composer, you seem to have carefully studied contemporary minimalism and repetitious music from the USA and Europe. Can you explain your own path in that sense?

Faten Kanaan:  I studied piano at a young age, and then very briefly played the cello, harp, and oud later on. I never studied composition, but leant towards minimalism in music because it relayed an intentionality that I admire. Every note chosen serves a purpose. And with repetition, the smallest change can have a profound effect.  

PAN M 360: What, for you, are the next steps in these post-minimalist explorations?

FK: With genres blurring and artists exploring the depths of overlapping electronic and acoustic instruments, I think it’s a really exciting time for music to expand its potential as a language. It’s not just about harmonies and structure, but also pushing the possibilities in timbre and texture.

PAN M 360: Your culture in music is obviously broader than minimalism in contemporary music. What other music styles or forms are involved?

FK: Film scores are definitely a big influence on me, as is some folkloric music from various cultures. And the music I love listening to generally finds its way into my own sensibilities.

PAN M 360: You seem to use different keyboards (including piano and organ) and other electronic devices, it’s part of your overdubs and general sounds, can you explain?

FK: I like to be minimal with the gear I use, so that I can really get to know an instrument and fully utilise its possibilities. Every synthesizer and instrument has a sound that its voice can shine in. On my early albums, I used a vintage Sequential Circuits Prophet 600 – but I wanted something more compact and solid for touring, and with a brighter filter, so I’ve been using an OB-6 desktop synth for the last three years.

My set-up for live shows and for recording are two rather different things. For live shows, I exclusively use the OB-6 desktop synth, with a midi controller keyboard and an old Boss 20-xl looper guitar pedal (without Midi) that I have. The looper has a nice natural drift to it, and I’ve gotten so used to its timing. Sometimes its constraints hold me back a bit, so I’m considering getting a new looper that will allow me more freedom on stage, compositionally. Since my introduction to performance was through classical music/piano, it’s important for me to perform everything live, so the audience can take that journey with me and understand how a song is being built, layer by layer. 

For recordings, I can fully explore a composition without these restraints. The looper’s drift doesn’t translate well into recordings for me, so I manually play the repeating parts without it. 

I use the OB-6, then add some VST instruments, depending on what the song needs.

Each track is born differently… but most often, I overdub the main harmonies and chords of a song in five- to seven-minute single takes (yes, my hands get tired), until I have the spine of a track. I then start recording all the shorter segments for the arrangement, editing, and mixing as I go along. The mixing process is very much part of the arrangement. It’s a lovely experience to hear a song becoming more nuanced as its structure and spirit take shape. 

PAN M 360: What’s your training as a musician? Where did you study?

FK:  I studied piano as a kid and loved it. I’d thought about applying to a conservatory, but decided to attend a liberal arts university. I moved to America, and started off as a double major in Fine Arts and Biology (w a focus in genetics). I quickly dropped the bio/pre-med bit, and did a minor in French literature instead. During this time I continued playing, just for fun, and occasionally sitting-in informally with friends’ bands. I did my Masters in Fine Arts (painting & sculpture), but often felt more comfortable expressing myself through music & performance work. It would be years before I took the leap into considering music as a main path, and am so glad I finally did.  

PAN M 360: As a listener, what are your favourite genres, artists or periods of music history?

FK:  Oh I can’t really pick one favourite genre…film scores, ambient drones, medieval and renaissance choral music, Arabic music, French and Italian 60s pop that my parents often listened to, folk, industrial, no wave, electronica…

PAN M 360: Do you relate to a music community? Do you share creative activities with other artists?

FK:   I’m so grateful for the music community in New York and other cities – artists and engineers alike. It’s heartwarming to see how supportive people are of each other while still maintaining their own practice. And with the internet making international connections easier, it’s been wonderful to reconnect with the music community in Beirut, Lebanon (and in Amman, Jordan) recently. It’s been very fulfilling to find colleagues back ‘home’. Also, the UK has been especially supportive these last few years, I’ve really made a connection with artists, labels, and the audience there.

PAN M 360: Do you still enjoy your Brooklyn neighbourhood?

FK:  I do still love Brooklyn and my community here, but am hoping to move back to Europe next year.

PAN M 360: Your background is diversified. Can you explain where you come from, where your ancestors come from, where you have been raised, and how this specific background had an impact on your craft, consciously or unconsciously?

FK: I’m Syrian-Palestinian-Jordanian-Lebanese, born in Germany, and was living between Europe and the Middle East before moving to the U.S. for university. Sometimes it’s a strange feeling not belonging to one place, or being able to call one place “home”, but on a positive note, every place I have a connection with becomes a home. And musically, I can draw from all these experiences.

PAN M 360: Is asking you about being a woman composer relevant? Some women composers refuse to talk about it, even think it’s lazy journalism. Others think it’s relevant and say there are specific ways and sensibilities to women’s composing processes. What do you think?

FK: I think it’s important whenever talking about gender, race, or ethnicity, to always remember that within each group is a diversity of voices. No one woman speaks for all, each will have different experiences, boundaries, goals. For myself, I don’t like being lugged as a “woman composer”, as it’s only one aspect of my identity. At the forefront, I’m a human. The music doesn’t sound any different because I’m a woman, it sounds the way it does because it draws from the various experiences that make up who I am… just like every musician’s vision is unique to them. My gender has never dictated what I do musically, nor who I associate with or relate to. I believe in the spirit of inclusivity.

Tout le contenu 360

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Tribute to John Williams: the darling of musicians and audiences alike

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

Corridor: From Analog Legacy to Electronic Exploration

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

FIMAV 2024 | Scott Thomson, new artistic director, explains and reveals his favorites

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

Nastasia Y, her ukrainian culture infused with Canada

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

CMIM: Shira Gilbert and Zarin Mehta talk about Piano 2024 edition

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Before the CMIM kicks off, Chantal Poulin talks to us about the Piano 2024 edition.

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Wake Island at the Phi Center: multidimensional!

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Alex Henry Foster Talks About Overcoming Death and his new album, Kimiyo

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

Information: Montreal Oct. 1970 by Tim Brady: a first opera about the October ’70 Crisis

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×

Faten Kanaan : le choix du minimalisme et des cycles répétitifs

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Issue de cette nouvelle génération de compositeurs.trices sur la scène internationale, artistes enclins aux musiques répétitives et post-minimalistes, Faten Kanaan mérite notre plus grande attention.

renseignements supplémentaires

(Crédit photo : Lena Shkoda)

Résidante de Brooklyn, cette jeune compositrice aux origines moyen-orientales a choisi de ratisser le territoire du minimalisme et de la répétition. Férue de claviers, du piano aux synthétiseurs analogiques, Faten Kanaan fait partie d’une troisième génération à emprunter cette voie depuis les Steve Reich et Philip Glass de ce monde. A Mythology of Circles, son quatrième album, cette fois sous l’étiquette britannique Fire Records, a été primé par les médias spécialisés en musique qui s’intéressent au corpus post-minimaliste. PAN M 360 est l’une de ces plateformes de pointe, et voilà que Faten Kanaan accepte notre demande d’interview que voici. Jointe à Brooklyn, elle nous explique son parcours et ses choix.

PAN M 360 :  En tant que compositrice, vous semblez avoir étudié attentivement le minimalisme contemporain et la musique répétitive des États-Unis ou d’Europe, quel a été votre parcours à cet égard ?

FATEN KANAAN : J’ai étudié le piano et la musique classique quand j’étais plus jeune, puis j’ai joué très brièvement du violoncelle, de la harpe et du oud plus tard. Je n’ai jamais étudié la composition mais je me suis orientée vers le minimalisme en musique parce qu’il transmet une intentionnalité que j’admire. Chaque note choisie a un but. Et avec la répétition, le moindre changement peut avoir un effet profond. 

PAN M 360 : Quels sont pour vous les prochaines étapes de ces explorations post-minimalistes ?

FATEN KANAAN : Avec les frontières qui s’estompent entre les genres musicaux et ces artistes qui explorent les richesses d’instruments électroniques et acoustiques qui se chevauchent, je pense que c’est une période vraiment passionnante pour la musique, qui lui permet de développer son potentiel en tant que langage. Ce n’est pas seulement une question d’harmonies et de structure, mais aussi de mettre à profit les possibilités de timbre et de texture.

PAN M 360 : Votre culture musicale est évidemment plus vaste que le minimalisme de la musique contemporaine, quels sont les autres styles ou formes de musique qui vous intéressent ?

FATEN KANAAN : Les musiques de film ont une grande influence sur moi, tout comme certaines musiques folkloriques de différentes cultures. Et la musique que j’aime écouter fait généralement écho à ma propre sensibilité.

PAN M 360 : Vous semblez utiliser différents claviers (y compris le piano et l’orgue) et d’autres appareils électroniques, tant pour les overdubs que votre son d’ensemble, pouvez-vous nous expliquer ?

FATEN KANAAN : J’aime être minimale dans le matériel que j’utilise, afin de pouvoir vraiment apprendre à connaître un instrument et exploiter pleinement ses possibilités. Chaque synthétiseur/instrument possède un son qui lui permet de briller. Sur mes premiers albums, je me suis servi d’un vieux Sequential Circuits Prophet 600, mais je voulais quelque chose de plus compact et solide pour les tournées, et avec un filtre plus brillant, alors j’utilise un synthé OB-6 depuis trois ans.

Ma configuration pour les concerts et pour l’enregistrement sont deux choses assez différentes. Pour les concerts, j’utilise exclusivement le synthé OB-6, avec un clavier contrôleur MIDI et une vieille pédale de guitare Loop Station Boss RC-20XL (sans MIDI). Le boucleur possède un flot naturel agréable et je m’y suis habituée. Parfois, ses limites me freinent un peu, j’envisage donc me procurer un nouveau boucleur qui me donnera plus de liberté sur scène d’un point de vue compositionnel. Comme j’ai commencé à me produire sur scène en tant que pianiste classique, il demeure important pour moi de tout jouer en direct, afin que le public puisse faire le voyage avec moi et comprendre comment une chanson se construit, strate par strate. 

Pour les enregistrements, je peux explorer pleinement une composition sans les limites en question. Pour moi, le flot de la boucle ne se prête pas aux enregistrements, alors je joue manuellement les parties répétitives sans elle. J’utilise l’OB-6, puis j’ajoute quelques instruments VST selon les besoins de la pièce. Chaque morceau naît différemment mais la plupart du temps, je superpose les harmonies/accords principaux d’une chanson en prises individuelles de 5 à 7 minutes (oui, mes mains se fatiguent) jusqu’à ce que j’obtienne la charpente d’une piste. Je commence alors à enregistrer tous les segments plus courts de l’arrangement; le montage et le mixage se font au fur et à mesure. Le processus de mixage fait partie intégrante de l’arrangement. C’est formidable d’entendre une chanson se nuancer au fur et à mesure que sa structure et son esprit prennent forme. 

PAN M 360 : En tant que musicienne, comment avez-vous été formée ? Où avez-vous étudié ?

FATEN KANAAN : J’ai étudié le piano quand j’étais enfant et j’ai adoré. J’avais envisagé de postuler pour un conservatoire, mais j’ai décidé de m’inscrire en arts libéraux à l’université. J’ai déménagé aux États-Unis et j’ai commencé par faire deux majeurs en beaux-arts et en biologie (avec une spécialisation en génétique). J’ai rapidement laissé tomber la bio/prémédecine et j’ai fait une mineure en littérature française à la place. Pendant ce temps, j’ai continué à jouer, juste pour le plaisir, et j’ai occasionnellement participé à des réunions informelles avec des groupes d’amis. J’ai fait ma maîtrise en beaux-arts (peinture et sculpture), mais je me suis souvent sentie plus à l’aise pour m’exprimer par la musique et les performances. Il m’a fallu des années avant de faire le saut et de considérer la musique comme une voie principale, et je suis si heureuse de l’avoir finalement fait.  

PAN M 360 : En tant qu’auditrice et mélomane, quels sont les genres, artistes ou périodes de l’histoire de la musique que vous préférez ?

FATEN KANAAN : Oh, je n’ai pas vraiment un genre musical préféré… J’aime les musiques de films, les drones ambient, la musique chorale du Moyen-Âge et de la Renaissance, la musique arabe, la pop française et italienne des années 60 que mes parents écoutaient souvent, la musique folk, industrielle, no wave, électronique…

PAN M 360 : Appartenez-vous à une communauté musicale ? Partagez-vous des activités créatives avec d’autres artistes ?

FATEN KANAAN : Je suis très reconnaissante envers la communauté musicale de New York et celles d’autres villes – les artistes comme les ingénieurs du son. Il m’est réconfortant de voir à quel point les gens se soutiennent les uns les autres tout en conservant leur propre pratique. Et comme l’internet facilite les connexions internationales, il a été merveilleux de renouer avec la communauté musicale de Beyrouth, au Liban (et d’Amman, en Jordanie) récemment. Cela a été très satisfaisant de retrouver des collègues « chez eux ». De plus, le Royaume-Uni m’a particulièrement soutenu ces dernières années. J’ai vraiment établi un lien avec les artistes, les labels et le public de ce pays.

PAN M 360 : A propos de Brooklyn, aimez-vous toujours y vivre ?

FATEN KANAAN : J’aime toujours Brooklyn et ma communauté d’ici, mais j’espère retourner en Europe l’an prochain.

PAN M 360 : Votre parcours est diversifié. Pouvez-vous expliquer d’où vous venez, d’où viennent vos ancêtres, où vous avez été élevée et comment ce contexte spécifique a eu un impact sur votre métier, consciemment ou inconsciemment ?

FATEN KANAAN : Je suis d’origine syrienne, palestinienne, jordanienne et libanaise. Je suis née en Allemagne et j’ai vécu entre l’Europe et le Moyen-Orient avant de partir aux États-Unis pour étudier à l’université. Parfois, j’ai le sentiment étrange de ne pas appartenir à un endroit ou de ne pas me sentir chez moi nulle part, mais, de façon plus positive, chaque lieu avec lequel j’ai des affinités devient un port d’attache. Et, musicalement, je peux tirer profit de toutes ces expériences.

PAN M 360 : Vous questionner sur votre condition de femme compositrice est-il selon vous encore pertinent ? Certaines femmes compositrices refusent d’en parler… Certaines croient même que c’est du journalisme paresseux que de poser cette question. D’autres pensent que cela demeure pertinent et disent qu’il y a des manières et des sensibilités spécifiques dans les processus de composition au féminin, qu’en pensez-vous ?

FATEN KANAAN : Je pense qu’il est important, lorsque l’on parle de genre, de race ou d’ethnicité, de toujours se rappeler qu’au sein de chaque groupe existe une diversité de voix. Aucune femme ne parle au nom de toutes, chacune aura des expériences, des limites et des objectifs différents. Pour ma part, je n’aime pas être étiquetée « femme compositrice », car ce n’est qu’un aspect de mon identité. Je suis d’abord un être humain. Ma musique ne sonne pas différemment parce que je suis une femme, mais plutôt parce qu’elle puise dans les diverses expériences qui font qui je suis… tout comme la vision de chaque musicien est unique. Mon sexe n’a jamais dicté ce que je fais musicalement, ni à qui je m’associe ou à qui je me rapporte. Je crois en l’esprit d’inclusion.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre