POP Montréal Day 3 | Annahstasia, in league with the greats?

par Alain Brunet

crédit photo: Sarah ODriscoll

POP Montréal is undoubtedly one of the major fall events for true music fans. From Wednesday, September 27 to Sunday, October 1, dozens and dozens of discoveries and acclaims from artists nestled in pop are taking place in Montreal. Follow the PAN M 360 team until Sunday!

Make no mistake, Afro-American folk is not a new thing – it’s all a question of distribution and perception. It’s been around for a long time, and on Friday we had a more than convincing example of it in the Hall du Rialto.

Admittedly, it’s far too early to assert that Californian Annahstasia is of the musical caliber of a Nina Simone or that her writing could one day reach the level of Langston Hughes. Let’s not get carried away, but… It’s crystal clear that this artist exudes depth, singularity and uncommon talent. We can’t but bow down before the absolute elegance of her being, her voice (a tad flayed at the end of the program), her folk, her instrumentation – acoustic and electric guitars, cello, bass, percussion.

Content and form combine perfectly, personal commitment expressed with the poetic distance necessary for the best songwriting. In short, there are no apparent flaws in this brilliant, magnificent woman, blessed by the gods. Admittedly, she uses materials that are a tad dated (folk, jazz, chamber music), but… what a use! To make something new out of something old, and to revitalize classical forms, is reserved for very few artists. Our relationship with Annahstasia is still in its infancy, we assure you.

M.I. Blue

In first part of program, M.I. Blue a fact his talent. With a penchant for soul/R&B, folk and jazz, she took to the stage with a sober instrumentation of guitar/bass and drums, and carried off her original repertoire, including an evocation of Nat King Cole or even a bossa nova interlude. Her classicism and refinement are immediately seductive, and her alto voice reveals an artist in full emergence of her musical identity. That said, M.I. Blue has not yet won her spurs, and more stones will have to be added to her edifice before we can conclude that she has truly asserted her identity. For the instant, on recognizing his talent and observing the development suite.

Fraud Perry et Backxwash

At the end of the evening at Piccolo Rialto, we enjoyed the spectacular presence of Montreal rapper and singer Fraud Perry. She plays it very sensually and fully assumes her hypersexualized persona, yet thirsts for freedom, autonomy, and self-assertion. Her lyrics often evoke virtual conversations, and muscular dialogues with various interlocutors, often men and women who don’t approach her at the desired level and whom she soon brings down to her level, i.e. face to face. The beat-making is solid and multi-genre, drawing on grime, hip-hop, trap and soul/R&B. The general drawl can be vulgar and direct but doesn’t leave anyone indifferent. Without question, Fraud Perry is something special.

At the end of the night’s program, African-born trans artist Backxwash was summoned to replace rapper Junglepussy at short notice. The Montrealer reminded us why she won the Polaris Prize in 2020. Expressive bombast! Hardcore and metal beatmaking propel this paroxysmal, extremely violent and oh-so-addictive rap. Backxwash’s return to Montreal heralds the next chapter in her atypical career.

Tout le contenu 360

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

POP Montréal Jour 3 | Annahstasia, de la trempe des plus grandes ?

par Alain Brunet

crédit photo: Sarah ODriscoll

POP Montréal est sans conteste un des événements majeurs de l’automne pour les vrais fans de musique. Du mercredi 27 septembre au dimanche 1er octobre, des dizaines et des dizaines de découvertes et acclamations d’artistes nichés dans la pop se produisent à Montréal. Suivez l’équipe de PAN M 360 jusqu’à dimanche !

Détrompez-vous, le folk afro-américain n’est pas un nouveau truc, tout est question de diffusion et de perception.  Il s’en crée depuis longtemps, et nous en avions vendredi un exemple plus que probant, dans le Hall du Rialto.

Certes, il est beaucoup trop tôt pour affirmer que la Californienne Annahstasia est de la trempe musicale d’une Nina Simone ou que sa plume pourrait atteindre un jour le niveau d’un Langston Hughes . Ne partons pas en peur mais… Il est clair comme de l’eau de roche que cette artiste exhale une profondeur, une singularité et un talent hors du commun. On ne peut que se prosterner devant l’élégance absolue de son être, de sa voix (un tantinet écorchée en fin de programme), de son folk, de son instrumentation – guitares acoustique et électrique, violoncelle, basse, percussion. 

Le contenu et la forme se conjuguent parfaitement, l’engagement personnel est exprimé avec la distance poétique nécessaire aux meilleurs écrits chansonniers.  Bref, on ne trouve pas de travers apparents chez cette femme brillante et magnifique, bénie des dieux. Convenons qu’elle use de matériaux un tantinet datés (folk, jazz, musique de chambre) mais… quel usage!  Faire du neuf avec du vieux et revivifier des formes classiques, cela est réservé à très peu d’artistes. Notre relation avec Annahstasia n’en est qu’à ses débuts, on vous l’assure.

M.I. Blue

En première partie de programme, M.I. Blue a fait valoir son talent. Encline à la soul / R&B, au folk et au jazz, elle se présente sur scène avec une instrumentation sobre, guitare/basse et batterie, elle mène à bien son répertoire original, incluant une évocation Nat King Cole ou même une parenthèse bossa nova. Son classicisme et son raffinement séduisent d’emblée, sa voix d’alto révèle une artiste en pleine émergence de son identité musicale. Cela dit, rien n’est totalement gagné pour M.I. Blue, d’autres pierres devront être ajoutées à son édifice pour que l’on puisse conclure à une identité vraiment affirmée. Pour l’instant, on doit reconnaître son talent et observer la suite de son développement.

Fraud Perry et Backxwash

En fin de soirée au Piccolo Rialto, on a pu apprécier la présence spectaculaire de la rappeuse et chanteuse montréalaise Fraud Perry. Elle se la joue très sensuelle et elle assume pleinement son personnage hypersexualisé, néanmoins assoiffée de liberté, d’autonomie et d’affirmation de soi. Ses textes évoquent souvent des conversations virtuelles, dialogues musclés avec divers interlocuteurs, souvent des hommes et des femmes qui ne l’abordent pas à la hauteur souhaitée et dont elle a tôt fait de ramener à son niveau, c’est-à-dire face à face. Le beatmaking est solide et multigenres, puise dans le grime, le hip-hop, le trap, la soul/R&B. La dégaine générale peut être vulgaire et directe, mais ne laisse pas indifférent. Sans conteste, Fraud Perry a quelque chose de spécial.

En fin de programme nocturne, l’artiste trans d’origine africaine Backxwash a été convoquée pour remplacer au pied levé la rappeuse Junglepussy. La Montréalaise nous a rappelé pourquoi elle avait remporté le Prix Polaris en 2020. Bombe d’expressivité! Le beatmaking hardcore et métal propulse ce rap paroxystique, extrêmement violent et ô combien addictif. Backxwash a ainsi renoué avec Montréal, laissant présager un prochain chapitre de sa trajectoire pour le moins atypique.

Tout le contenu 360

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Qiik – Demo

Qiik – Demo

HABITAT SONORE :  la musique qui fait vibrer Montréal… et le Centre Phi !

HABITAT SONORE :  la musique qui fait vibrer Montréal… et le Centre Phi !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

The Nausea – Requiem

The Nausea – Requiem

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Truck Violence – He Ended the Bender Hanging

Truck Violence – He Ended the Bender Hanging

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Dompierre et l’OPCM | Création d’un Requiem et puis… réflexion sur un Requiem

Dompierre et l’OPCM | Création d’un Requiem et puis… réflexion sur un Requiem

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Der Kaiser von Atlantis : malgré sa modestie, une production importante

Der Kaiser von Atlantis : malgré sa modestie, une production importante

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Kaytranada – Timeless

Kaytranada – Timeless

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre