A bit of Montréal magic

by Frédéric Cardin

You had to be in the know. A Facebook post, maybe a couple of others on competing networks, that’s about all a small magical concert got to announce its presence. Or maybe you just had to pass by on Duluth Street East in Montreal to get an idea that it was coming and notice the handwriting on the wood border surrounding Stromboli Square, announcing the show of a band called Kolonien, identified as doing Swedish folk-pop. In short, you had to be lucky, or almost. I was, and what chance!

First of all, let’s introduce the protagonists: Kolonien, a Swedish folk-pop quartet (yes, we said it). A family affair, two brothers, a cousin, and a childhood friend who lived in the same hippie commune near Stockholm (in fact, he and one of the brothers mixed blood as Vikings do in movies when they were kids; so they are now eternally related, really). The organizer: Jacob Edgar, founder and committed head of the Cumbancha label, a favourite of any self-respecting world music lover. Jacob, now a Canadian citizen living in Montreal, wanted his band (their album Till Skogen was just released on his label) to come to the metropolis, even though it had not been planned. Ottawa and Sherbrooke were all that was in the cards. Not Montreal? Jacob wrote to the agent and remedied the situation some two weeks before, knowing that the band’s vibe, on such a beautiful and mellow evening, would curl up like a silk glove on the Montreal audience, especially the one on the Plateau. And oh, how right he was!

The band’s unpretentious repertoire, largely taken from Till Skogen and played with precision and musicality, immediately seduced the multicultural ears of the crowd (a given in this city) that quickly gathered around the small square recently set up as an outdoor stage, animated every Saturday and Sunday evening in the summer (did you know that? I didn’t!). The band members (Anna Möller, new mother, was replaced by the exuberant Thea Åslund… another cousin!) clearly enjoyed the intimate and spontaneous atmosphere of the Montreal street and they showed it. They generously played for over an hour, moving from upbeat, folkish-sounding dances to moments of introspective, even contemplative sweetness, where the four artists performed in rustic, but utterly charming vocal harmonies. They have fallen in love with Montreal it seems. Jacob told me so. No doubt about it, the feeling was mutual!

 

Montreal is thirsty for world music, not only from elsewhere but also from within, thanks to its own numerous artists, and the arrival of Jacob Edgar, an immigrant already well rooted in the spirit of this city, is a good omen. Till Skogen, which came out last April, was in my (stratospheric) pile of albums to listen to and review. Lacking time, I eventually forgot about it. Well, yesterday’s inspiring encounter forces me to come back to it. In a few days, I’ll come back to you with a text on the album in question. Better late than never, as the saying goes. So stay tuned. And above all: take a trip to Duluth East, right next to Mollie, a Portuguese resto-bar, on the remaining Saturday and Sunday evenings of the summer: moments of pure magic await you.

Latest 360 Content

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Petite magie typiquement montréalaise

par Frédéric Cardin

Il fallait le savoir. Une publication Facebook, peut-être d’autres sur les réseaux concurrents, c’est à peu près tout ce dont a bénéficié un concert magique pour annoncer sa présence. Ou il fallait peut-être passer comme ça sur la rue Duluth est pour avoir une idée que ça s’en venait, et remarquer l’écriture à la main sur la bande encerclant le square Stromboli qui annonçait le show d’un band nommé Kolonien, identifié comme faisant du folk-pop suédois. Bref fallait être chanceux, ou presque. Je le fut, et quelle chance!

D’abord présentons les protagonistes : Kolonien, quartette de folk-pop (oui ça on l’a dit) suédois. Une affaire de famille, deux frères, une cousine et un ami d’enfance qui vivait dans la même commune hippie au sud de Stockholm (vu l’aspect fluide des relations personnelles de ce genre de communauté, c’est probablement aussi un membre de la famille). L’organisateur : Jacob Edgar, fondateur et tête dirigeante engagée du label Cumbancha, un favori de n’importe quel mélomane world qui se respecte. Jacob, désormais citoyen canadien établit à Montréal, voulait que son band (leur album Till Skogen vient de sortir sous son étiquette) vienne faire un tour dans la métropole, alors que ça n’avait pas été prévu. Ottawa et Sherbrooke, c’est tout ce qui avait été planifié. Pas Montréal? Jacob a écrit à l’agent et remédié à la situation quelque deux semaines avant, sachant que la vibe du groupe, par une soirée si belle et douce, se loverait comme un gant de soie sur le public montréalais, particulièrement celui du Plateau. Et oh! qu’il avait raison! 

Le répertoire sans prétention du band, tiré en grande partie de Till Skogen et joué avec précision et musicalité, a tout de suite séduit les oreilles bigarrées de la foule qui s’est amassée rapidement autour du petit square aménagé récemment en scène extérieure, animée chaque samedi et dimanche soirs de l’été (vous le saviez vous? Pas moi!). Les membres du groupe (Anna Möller, nouvelle maman, était remplacée par l’exubérante Thea Åslund… une autre cousine!) se sont manifestement plu énormément dans l’atmosphère intimiste et spontanée de la rue montréalaise et ils le montraient. Ils ont généreusement joué plus d’une heure, passant de danses enlevantes aux sonorités qui paraîtront celtiques à certains, à des moments de douceur introspective, voire contemplative, où les quatre artistes s’exécutaient dans des harmonies vocales rustiques, mais absolument charmantes. Ils sont tombés en amour avec Montréal semble-t-il. C’est Jacob qui me l’a dit. Pas de doute, ce fut réciproque! 

Montréal a soif de world music, celle d’ailleurs mais aussi celle qui vibre en elle grâce à ses propres artistes, et l’arrivée de Jacob Edgar, immigrant déjà bien enraciné dans l’esprit de cette ville, est de bonne augure. Till Skogen, qui est sorti en avril dernier, faisait partie de ma pile (stratosphérique) d’album à écouter et commenter. Manquant de temps, j’ai fini par oublier. Eh bien, cette rencontre inspirante d’hier me force à y revenir. D’ici quelques jours, je vous reviens avec un texte sur l’album en question. Mieux vaut tard que jamais. Restez scotchés, donc. Et surtout : allez faire un tour sur Duluth est, juste à côté de Mollie, resto-bar portugais, les samedis et dimanches soirs qui restent de l’été : des moments de pure magie vous y attendent.

Tout le contenu 360

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Hommage à la Callas: Simon Rivard dirige l’OSL

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Lucile Boulanger/Simon Pierre/Olivier Fortin – The Golden Hour

Will Régnier – Traces

Will Régnier – Traces

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre