Chamber Folk / Indie Folk / Indie Pop

Patrick Watson, winter comfort food at MTELUS

par Alain Brunet

Two decades of musical great practice have led Patrick Watson to engage and nourish the souls of a loyal audience. This winter rendez-vous set by the Montrealer allowed this fervent relationship to continue. Once again witnessed at MTELUS, on this first weekend of February.

And so the musician invited us to continue his journey alongside him, without however presenting a large batch of recent material. Let’s talk about a program involving several classics. A comfort food show, then, with no major surprises apart from the improvisations and call-and-response games with the audience devised on the spot.

We spent a couple of nourishing hours watching this relaxed performance, peppered with humor, renewed arrangements and special collaborations.

Singers included Lisa LeBlanc (opening for folkie and during the concert), Ariel Engle (La Force) and Ourielle Auvé (Ouri), who swapped electro beatmaking for voice and cello. The singer and keyboardist’s staff included drummer Olivier Fairfield (Fet.Nat, Timber Timbre, Andy Shauf, Leif Vollebekk ), bassist Mishka Stein (Teke::Teke, among others) and a string quartet (Yubin Kim and Robert Margaryan, violins, Jérémie Cloutier, cello, Lana Tomlin, viola).

The curtains were closed when the impressionist piano and the interpreter’s head voice imposed silence on the auditorium. A few tens of seconds passed, the stage curtain opened, the musicians appeared and large tulle canvases could be seen behind them.

On a moderato rhythm, we follow with “Dream For Dreamin”, waved by a bridge of well-felt vocals and strings that are too unintelligible in the final crescendo. It’s always a demanding contract for a sound engineer to make acoustic strings sound good with amplified bass, drums and keyboards… But hey, things got better as the performance went on.

“Wave”, title track from the penultimate album, arrives on the program, preceded by some Watsonian moods and Transylvanian laughter. The orchestral ballad is tinged with the colors of a prepared piano. We stay with the gentle vocals, this time punctuated by pizzicato strings with another title track, from the album “Wooden Arms”. 

Accompanied by a beautiful countertenor vocal complement, this waltz is one of many opportunities to grasp Pat Watson’s harmonic influences,  clearly impressionistic (Ravel, Debussy, Satie).  This is all the more obvious with the ballad “Ode to Vivian”, inspired by the American photographer Vivian Maier. You’d think PW could explore other harmonies, but… we know that songwriters rarely deviate from the collection of chords that have defined their style.  

The singer continued with “To Build a Home”, which he had created with the band Cinematic Orchestra. Here we are, plunged back into the great indie era from which the majority of the fans present – aged 35-40 and over – hail. 

Then it’s the turn of the ballad “Melody Noirto seduce, this time inspired by Venezuelan Simon Diaz, and performed in concert with La Force. The latter occupies even more stage space with the fade-out that follows, “Love Song For Robots” and “Height Of A Feeling”, created and recorded in tandem. The occasion is ripe for a rendition of How Do You Love A Man, an indie folk song by La Force.In the same spirit, it’s a good idea to opt for a chamber music version of “Lost With You”.

The audience starts clapping, as if politely asking for a little more muscle,  a binary rhythm then unfolds, a wandering melody flies over it : “Drifters”. 

Ouri and her cello are summoned to center stage. Known for her electronic productions, Ouri was obviously classically trained before turning to electro, but this is a rare occasion when we get the full measure of it, namely with the piece “In Circles”, matched with  vocalizations and bow strokes. Simple and beautiful.

A little further on, PW will sing one of his rare French tracks, Je te laisserai des mots, a nice effort from the singer who grew up in a bilingual hamlet (Hudson) and has always been close to and admiring of the French-speaking portion of our indie scene. 

We head towards the conclusion with a game of improvised retorts, led by the singer, string section and audience. The aptly titled “Big Bird in a Small Cage” requires the participation of the guest singers. Right to the end, our host and his colleagues will have served music lovers a convincing example of North American indie folk magnified by vocal harmonies and bird sounds from the stage and also from the hall. 

At the encores, we recognized the tracks “Is Anything Wrong” (Lhasa de Sela), “Slip Into Your Skin”, “Lighthouse”, “Sit Down Beside Me”. Klô Pelgag arrives wearing a cap and carrying a backpack, and we dare say his voice has acquired additional maturity and assurance… Singer-songwriters topped it all off with a warm bivouac… By the way, we weren’t sure if the concert was over, when suddenly Pat Watson returned to the stage alone, belted out with spotlights and portable amplification. He sang his way through the MTELUS, just to bring this delightful evening to a close.

PATRICK WATSON SE PRODUIT AU MTELUS LES 2, 4 ET 5 FÉVRIER , 20H. INFOS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

folk de chambre / indie folk / indie pop

Patrick Watson, comfort food hivernal au MTELUS

par Alain Brunet

Deux décennies de pratique musicale ont conduit Patrick Watson à mobiliser et nourrir les âmes d’un auditoire fidèle. Ce rendez-vous hivernal fixé par le Montréalais a permis la poursuite de cette relation fervente. Une fois de plus constaté au MTELUS, en ce premier week-end de février.

Ainsi, le musicien nous a invité à poursuivre sa route à ses côtés, sans toutefois présenter un lot important de matière récente. Parlons plutôt d’un programme impliquant plusieurs classiques. Spectacle comfort food, donc, sans surprises majeures sauf les improvisations et jeux d’appels et réponses avec l’auditoire imaginés sur place. 

Nous avons passé une paire d’heures fort nourrissantes devant cette exécution décontractée, émaillée d’humour, d’arrangements renouvelés et de collaborations spéciales. 

On a pu effectivement entendre les chanteuses Lisa LeBlanc (en première partie folkie et pendant le concert), Ariel Engle (La Force) et Ourielle Auvé (Ouri) qui a troqué à cette occasion le beatmaking électro pour la voix et le violoncelle. Le personnel du chanteur et claviériste était constitué du batteur Olivier Fairfield (Fet.Nat, Timber Timbre, Andy Shauf, Leif Vollebekk ), du bassiste Mishka Stein (Teke::Teke, entre autres) et un quatuor à cordes (Yubin Kim et Robert Margaryan, violons, Jérémie Cloutier, violoncelle, Lana Tomlin, alto).

Les rideaux étaient fermés lorsque le piano impressionniste et la voix de tête de l’interprète ont imposé le silence dans la salle. Quelques dizaines de secondes se sont écoulées, le rideau de scène s’est ouvert, les musiciens sont apparus, on pouvait contempler de grandes toiles de tulle derrière eux.

Sur un rythme moderato, on enchaîne avec Dream For Dreamin, assorti d’un pont de vocalises bien senties et de cordes trop peu intelligibles dans le crescendo final. Toujours un  contrat exigeant pour un sonorisateur que de faire sonner les cordes acoustiques avec  basse, batterie et claviers amplifiés… Mais bon, les choses se sont améliorées au fil de la prestation.

Wave , chanson titre de l’avant dernier album, arrive au programme, précédée de quelques états d’âme watsoniens et de rires transylvaniens. La ballade orchestrale est teinte des couleurs d’un piano préparé. On reste dans la douceur vocale, cette fois ponctuée de cordes pizzicatos avec  une autre chanson titre, celle de l’album Wooden Arms

Assorti d’un fort beau complément vocal du contre-ténor, cette valse est une des nombreuses occasions de saisir les influences harmoniques,  clairement impressionnistes (Ravel, Debussy, Satie), de Pat Watson.  C’est d’autant plus patent avec la ballade Ode to Vivian, inspirée de la photographe américaine Vivian Maier. On se dit alors que PW pourrait explorer d’autres harmonies mais… on sait que les compositeurs de chansons dérogent rarement à la collection d’accords ayant défini leur style.  

Le chanteur poursuit avec To Build a Home, qu’il avait créé avec la formation Cinematic Orchestra. Nous voilà replongés dans la grande époque indie d’où sont issus la majorité des fans présents – 35-40 ans et plus. 

Puis c’est  au tour de la ballade Melody Noir de séduire, inspirée cette fois du Vénézuélien Simon Diaz, et interprétée de concert avec La Force. Cette dernière occupe encore plus d’espace sur scène avec le fondu enchaîné qui suit, soit Love Song For Robots et Height Of A Feeling, créée et enregistrée en tandem. L’occasion est belle pour l’interprétation de How Do You Love A Man, une chanson indie folk signée La Force.Dans le même esprit, il est de bon ton de choisir l’interprétation de Lost With You en version musique de chambre. Le public se met à taper des mains, comme s’il réclamait poliment un peu plus de muscle,  un rythme binaire se déploie alors, une mélodie vagabonde le survole : Drifters

Ouri et son violoncelle sont convoqués aux devants de la scène. Connue pour ses productions électroniques, Ouri a visiblement reçu une formation classique avant de se mettre à l’électro, mais c’est une rare fois où l’on peut en prendre la pleine mesure, soit avec la pièce In Circles, assortie de  vocalises et coups d’archets. Simple et beau.

Un peu plus loin, PW chantera un de ses rares titres français, Je te laisserai des mots, effort sympa du chanteur ayant grandi dans un hameau bilingue (Hudson) et qui a toujours été proche et admiratif de la portion francophone de notre scène indie. 

On se dirige vers la conclusion avec un jeu de répliques improvisées, mené par le chanteur, la section de cordes et le public. Ça marche à tout coup!  La chanson Big Bird in a Small Cage, qui porte très bien son titre et qui requiert la participation des chanteuses invitées. Jusqu’à la fin, notre hôte et ses collègues auront servi aux mélomanes un exemple probant d’indie folk nord-américain magnifié par les harmonies vocales et les sons aviaires issus de la scène et aussi de la salle. 

Aux rappels, on a reconnu les titres Is Anything Wrong (Lhasa de Sela), Slip Into Your Skin, Lighthouse, Sit Down Beside Me. Une spectatrice sera invitée sur les planches, et pas la moindre : Klô Pelgag débarque avec casquette et sac à dos avec toutou, on oserve que sa voix a acquis une maturité et une assurance supplémentaires.. Chanteuses et chanteur ont coiffé le tout d’un bivouac chaleureux… Au fait, on ne savait pas trop si le concert était terminé, soudain Pat Watson est revenu seul sur le parquet, ceinturé de spots et d’une amplification portative. Il traversera le MTELUS en chantonnant, question de mettre un terme à cette charmante soirée.

PATRICK WATSON SE PRODUIT AU MTELUS LES 2, 4 ET 5 FÉVRIER , 20H. INFOS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Monica Freire – Ilhada

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Laetitia Sadier – Rooting for Love

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

Vendredi soir à l’OM : un violon spectaculaire, une petite sirène et des sables émouvants et enchanteurs

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

8e concert annuel du ViU | Les différentes avenues de la relève

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Frank Peter Zimmermann/Orchestre symphonique de Bamberg, dir. Jakub Hrůša – Stravinsky – Bartók – Martinů

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Susie Arioli – Embraceable

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Orchestre classique de Montréal, dir. : Alain Trudel/Suzanne Taffot/Brandon Coleman – David Bontemps : La Flambeau

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Chromeo – Adult Contemporary

Little Simz – Drop 7

Little Simz – Drop 7

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Surhumaine Barbara Hannigan !

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Alix Fernz – Muselière

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

Quatuor Bozzini : micro tonalités, grandes musiques

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

SMCQ: Prana, respiration, « comprovisation »

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Leslie Ting – What Brings You In

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Hannah Hurwitz/Colin Stokes/Daniel Pesca – The Night Shall Break

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

The First Eloi – Low Glow

The First Eloi – Low Glow

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Ruins of Azur – Ruins of Azur

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre