classique / Modern Classical / période romantique

Kevin Chen, or the challenges of an 18-year-old virtuoso

by Alain Brunet

Budapest Liszt Competition, Geneva Competition, Arthur Rubinstein Competition… Between the ages of 16 and 18, Alberta’s Kevin Chen has already won top prizes in these international competitions, not to mention honorable mentions in several others. Clearly gifted, this instrumentalist has only just passed the threshold of adulthood, and we present him to the music-loving public always eager to discover an emerging virtuoso in the context of a recital.

Too soon, we might say, after this program presented on Sunday by Pro Musica at Salle Pierre-Mercure, but…. If Kevin Chen has won these competitions, it’s certainly not for his technical skills alone. Musicality, emotion, grace – in short, all the characteristics that distinguish great musicians from the best technicians – must also be present.

And yet, on Sunday, the young man did not experience his best afternoon, that is to say, a moment of grace when all the values of great music come together. Should we conclude from this that it’s always the same on his side?

From a strictly technical point of view, the ivories are perfectly mastered, and both left and right hands do their job in this program. The articulation is very solid, the pedal play interesting, the sonority ample. The problem with this Sunday performance, in fact, is one of style, voluptuousness and even pianistic personality.

Here again, we can’t be peremptory on this question, as a musician of this age probably hasn’t yet acquired the consistency of his elders.  Nevertheless, we assume that he can sometimes be inhabited by the great spirits of music and … as was the case on Sunday, it happens that pressure, fatigue and other worries of life can block their harnessing on the performer.

Nevertheless, we assume that he can  sometimes be inhabited by the great spirits of music and … as was the case on Sunday, it happens that pressure, fatigue and other worries of life can block their harnessing on the performer.

At this early stage of a potentially remarkable career, Kevin Chen is not immune to the irritants that limit him to a clinical, albeit technically remarkable interpretation for anyone who rarely has access to such a level of execution. Although… I heard several doubts expressed, and these doubts did not come from the patented critics.

The 28th of Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas, it has to be said,  is no mean feat to pull off early in one’s career, but one imagines he’s done it before since it was a big part of this program. Calculated risk? As for Felix Mendelssohn’s Fantaisie en fa dièse mineur, op.28, we felt he was more fluid, but not exactly on the side of magic and transcendence.  To conclude the first part, the version for solo piano of Ravel’s “La Valse”, a ternary course certainly influenced by the jazz of the 20s, starting with that of George Gershwin and the stride piano then in vogue in New York, is played with… abrupt precision. As if emotion exploded through a form of pianistic violence…

The second part was dedicated to Franz Liszt, who was himself a piano virtuoso and part of the obligatory career path of every aspiring concert pianist. He played three sonnets from the Années de pèlerinage, taken from the 2nde year of the cycle, nos. 47, 104 and 123.  And concluded with Réminiscences de Norma, S.394, also by Liszt. At the encore, he will play Liederkreis, Op. 39: XII. Frühlingsnacht, by Robert Schumann, arranged by Liszt.

In short, we’ve seen Kevin Chen’s immense talent, but we haven’t yet seen the immense musician he could become. High virtuosity in classical music is more and more remarkable in this world, and never before have so many musicians reached such a level, but… life must take its toll, and the challenge for the best like Kevin Chen lies in the quest for style and personality. Let’s bet he’ll be different and better by his next recital, of course, if he’s aware of these issues and those around him grasp them too.

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

classique / classique moderne / période romantique

Kevin Chen, ou les enjeux d’un virtuose à 18 ans

par Alain Brunet

Concours Liszt de Budapest, Concours de Genève, Concours Arthur Rubinstein… Entre 16 et 18 ans, l’Albertain Kevin Chen a déjà remporté les premiers prix de ces compétitions internationales sans compter les mentions positives de plusieurs autres. À l’évidence surdoué, cet instrumentiste vient à peine d’avoir franchi le cap de l’âge adulte, et on le présente au public mélomane toujours désireux de découvrir un virtuose émergent dans le contexte d’un récital.

Trop tôt, pourrions-nous conclure au sortir de cette performance plutôt sèche, présentée dimanche par Pro Musica à la Salle Pierre-Mercure. Mais à bien y penser…. si Kevin Chen a remporté ces concours prestigieux, ce n’est sûrement pas pour ses seules compétences techniques. La musicalité doit aussi faire corps, l’émotion, la grâce, enfin toutes les caractéristiques qui distinguent les grands musiciens des meilleurs techniciens.

Or, dimanche, le jeune homme n’a pas connu son meilleur après-midi, c’est-à-dire un moment de grâce où toutes les valeurs de la grande musique sont réunies. Doit-on en déduire qu’il est est toujours de même de son côté ?

D’un point de vue strictement technique, les ivoires sont parfaitement maîtrisés, main gauche et main droite font ce qu’elles ont à faire dans ce programme. L’articulation est très solide, le jeu de pédale est intéressant, la sonorité est ample. Le problème de cette exécution dominicale, en fait, relève du style, de la volupté, voire de la personnalité pianistique.

Encore là, on ne peut être péremptoire sur cette question car un musicien de cet âge n’a probablement pas encore acquis la constance de ses aînés.  On présume néanmoins qu’il puisse  être parfois habité par les grands esprits de la musique et … comme c’était le cas dimanche, il arrive que la pression, la fatigue et autres soucis de la vie puissent faire barrage à leur harnachement sur l’interprète.

À ce stade précoce d’une carrière qui pourrait s’avérer remarquable, Kevin Chen n’est pas à l’abri de ces irritants le limitant à une interprétation clinique, quoique techniquement remarquable pour quiconque a rarement accès à un tel niveau d’exécution. Quoique… j’ai entendu plusieurs doutes s’exprimer, et ces doutes ne provenaient pas de la critique patentée. 

La 28e des 32 sonates pour piano de Beethoven, il faut dire,  n’est pas une mince affaire à réussir en début de carrière, mais on imagine qu’il l’a déjà fait auparavant puisque c’était un gros morceau de ce programme. Risque calculé ? Quant à la Fantaisie en fa dièse mineur, op.28 de Felix Mendelssohn, on l’a senti plus fluide mais pas vraiment du côté de la magie et de la transcendance.  Pour conclure la première partie, la version pour piano seul de La Valse de Ravel, un parcours ternaire certes influencé par le jazz des années 20, à commencer par celui de George Gershwin et du  piano stride alors en vogue à New York, est jouée avec une précision… abrupte. Comme si l’émotion expl par une forme de violence pianistique…

La deuxième partie était consacrée à Franz Liszt, qui fut lui-même un virtuose pianistique et qui fait partie du parcours obligatoire de tout pianiste de concert en devenir. Il jouera trois sonnets des Années de pèlerinage, tirés de la 2e année du cycle, soit les no 47, 104 et 123.  Et il conclut par Réminiscences de Norma, S.394, également de Liszt. Au rappel, il jouera Liederkreis, Op. 39: XII. Frühlingsnacht, de Robert Schumann, sur un arrangement de Liszt.

En somme, on a bien vu l’immense talent de Kevin Chen et on n’a pas encore vu l’immense musicien qu’il pourrait devenir, ce qui n’est pas chose faite. La haute virtuosité en musique classique est de plus en plus remarquable en ce bas monde, jamais n’avons eu droit à autant de musiciens ayant atteint un tel niveau mais… la vie doit faire son œuvre et le défi des meilleurs comme Kevin Chen repose sur la quête du style et de la personnalité. Parions qu’il sera déjà différent et meilleur à son prochain récital, bien sûr s’il est conscient de ces enjeux et que son entourage les saisisse également.

Tout le contenu 360

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

ARC – ARC

ARC – ARC

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre