Contemporary Opera

6 women, 3 operas and a beautiful evening of premieres

by Frédéric Cardin

Female creation is abundant and wide-ranging, if the three new operas presented (in part) at Salle Bourgie last night are anything to go by. Together, these three operas cover a broad spectrum of contemporary and scholarly musical language. Indeed, the evening’s premiere, entitled Fables et légendes – Opéra d’aujourd’hui (Tales and Legends – Opera of Today) was perfectly balanced between one rigorously atonal work, another fundamentally melodic and consonant, and a third somewhere in between. Each opera is the fruit of a collaboration between two women, a composer and a librettist. All three works were partially staged, as Bourgie Hall (and probably also the organizers’ financial means) did not allow for complete scenography. 

FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE PROJECT IN AN INTERVIEW WITH KRISTIN HOFF OF 3 FEMMES MUSIC

The duo of composer Analia Llugdar and librettist Emné Nasereddine had the honor of launching the evening. Je suis fille de la fille (I am daughter of the daughter) is a musical setting of excerpts from the poetry book La danse du figuier, winner of the Prix Émile-Nelligan in 2021. Allow me to quote a comment from the jury that awarded the prize to Emné Nasereddine, about La danse du figuier

In a meditation on her origins, the poet Nasereddine evokes three women: her grandmother, Téta, her mother, Fadwa, and her daughter, Emné. After her mother’s death, Emné makes a pithy observation: “the women of my country die before they can write”. This terrible observation undoubtedly motivated the poet to disobey her grandmother, who urged her to find a husband. By choosing instead to become a writer, Nasereddine faced a number of challenges. Once in Montreal, the poet moved into a territory where there were no “familiar scents”. It is poetry that will enable her to forge her own path in her host country, to sow the scents of Lebanon.

Llugdar’s music is not intended to describe any particular ethnocultural background. It is rigorously atonal, made up of timbral splits and fragmented rhythms. Accompanied only by a flute (Josée Poirier) and percussion (Krystina Marcoux), soprano Andréanne Brisson Paquin gave a well-embodied and, above all, vocally impressive performance. Llugdar’s score is demanding : abruptly interrupted lyrical flights, varied onomatopoeia and cooing need to be projected powerfully. One passage particularly struck me: the one in which the main character seems to return to her memory to evoke her grandmother, Téta, who is preparing the tea. The percussive sounds on the words tea, teapot, Téta, cup, etc. are amusing and remarkably well projected by Andréanne. A parenthesis (ostentatiously defined in and out of the piece by unusually violent attacks from the percussion – Krystina Marcoux, excellent) that felt good in a rather harsh total product. As mentioned above, this was an extract of some twenty minutes from a total work that must be around forty minutes long. No date has been set for the complete premiere.

I’ll now move on to the second opera of the evening, a sort of symbolic fable that’s both zany and serious: Raccoon Opera, by sisters Rebecca and Rachel Gray. Yes, an opera featuring a… raccoon as one of the main characters. In truth, the animal seems more like a symbol, that of a force that draws us towards conformity, rather like Ionesco’s rhinoceros. But Rachel’s libretto (Rebecca is the composer) doesn’t levitate into the metaphysical for all that. It’s a rather plebeian tale of a millennial getting it on in a dingy Toronto apartment, and getting it on even harder with the landlord, obviously a viscerally insensitive person. The young woman, whose name is Erin, doesn’t hold a grudge. She despairs over the state of her life, but remains resigned, apathetic. Then the raccoon comes along and makes her rebel, and get angry! Yesterday’s excerpt stopped at the moment when Erin, pumped up by the animal, cringes and transforms emotionally. 

Rebecca’s music oscillates between an assertive lyricism that contrasts sharply with the previous work. The orchestra, by far the largest of the evening’s three operas (six musicians and a conductor), often offers a gritty, pointillist counterpoint, but not only that. At certain moments, it takes on a warmer aspect. It’s Raccoon who stimulates this duality, as a character who is both reassuring for Erin, but also, one senses, dangerous and manipulative. To what end? We’ll find out if the work ever gets the chance to be created in its entirety. Video projections of coffee stains, spaghetti metamorphosed into faces with disheveled hair, and other incongruities provide a visual complement to the Spartan life of a young adult in a (far too expensive) apartment. 

I loved the mix of topical social commentary (the housing crisis) and broader reflection on emotional repercussions, materialized by the absurdist symbolism of the raccoon, a raging conformist factor (again, very topical) and heir to a rich literary tradition. 

The evening ended with the last of the three proposals, probably also the most eye/ear-catching and attractive work. Nanatasis, with music by Alejandra Odgers and libretto by Nicole O’Bomsawin, could even be described as an opera “for the whole family”. The program features three Abenaki legends, of which, understandably, only one was presented yesterday. 

The story is that of an Abenaki warrior (Kl8sk8mba) who sets off for the Far North to solve the riddle of a never-ending winter that prevents his people from sowing and harvesting enough to survive. The character meets Pebon (Winter) and, with the help of Niben (Summer), convinces him to let go for part of the year, thus creating the cycle of the seasons. 

Of the three, Nanatasis is the opera that benefited from the most generous use of costumes. Pebon and Niben are very beautiful, characterized by huge faces made of colored paper, ribbons and other artifice, harnessed above the singers who interpret them. Pebon is sung by bass William Kraushaar, magnificent and perfectly cast, with his deep, rich timbre and irresistible roundness. Odéi Bilodeau is equally fine as Niben. Tenor Mishael Eusebio vocally embodies Kl8sk8mba, who is also doubled in his movements by a puppet. 

Alejandra Odgers’ music is tonal, melodic and accessible. She draws, appropriately and even skilfully, on tropes associated with native music, but also with those of her native Mexico (the character of Niben allows her to do this). The orchestration is sparing (a flute and percussion), but colorful. It’s easy to imagine Nanatasis going on tour and appealing to a very wide audience. In fact, it’s the only one of the three operas to have a full premiere date, in 2025 in Montreal. I’m really looking forward to it, and from the comments I heard after the evening, so is the audience. 

We owe a warm thank you to all the teams behind this important work of operatic renewal: Musique 3 femmes, the organization behind the project, Le Vivier and Sixtrum percussions. 

Bravo, bravo, and kudos on a job well done.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Kirá Was On Fire At Balattou

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

Lyric Opera of Kansas City/Gerard Schwarz – Paul Moravec : The Shining

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

James Ehnes/St.Louis Symphony Orchestra/Stéphane Denève – Bernstein : Serenade / Williams : Violin Concerto no 1

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

Karma Glider, The Wesleys, and Sun Entire Bring the Sunshine at Quai Des Brumes

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

PAN M 360 At FIJM I The Cinematic Orchestra’s mystifying, live movie world

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

The Gilsons have won the hearts of Montrealers

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | George Coleman at Upstairs, the bet of an almost nonagenarian

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Makaya McCraven Becomes Headliner

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch, one of the most beloved jazz pianists of our time

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Erick the Architect, A Guided Tour of Brooklyn

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Tevet Sela – Sweet Tears

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 AT FIJM 2024 | Fred Hersch – Silent, Listening

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 at FIJM 2024 | Dominique Poirier, to be followed closely

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 AT FIJM | Ana Moura, The Queen of Fado

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

PAN M 360 At FIJM I Killer Mike Brings His Gospel

Subscribe to our newsletter

opéra contemporain

6 femmes, 3 opéras et une belle soirée de création

par Frédéric Cardin

La création féminine est foisonnante et ratisse large, si l’on se fie aux trois nouvelles œuvres lyriques présentées (partiellement) à la salle Bourgie hier soir. Trois opéras qui, ensemble, couvrent un large spectre du langage musical contemporain et savant. En effet, la soirée de création, intitulée Fables et légendes – Opéra d’aujourd’hui, était parfaitement équilibrée entre une œuvre rigoureusement atonale, une autre fondamentalement mélodique et consonante, et une troisième quelque part à mi-chemin. Chaque opéra est le fruit de la collaboration entre deux femmes, une compositrice et une librettiste. Les trois œuvres étaient partiellement mises en scène, la salle Bourgie (et probablement aussi les moyens financiers des organisatrices) ne permettant pas de scénographie complète. 

DÉCOUVREZ PLUS DE DÉTAILS SUR LE PROJET EN ÉCOUTANT UNE ENTREVUE AVEC KRISTIN HOFF DE MUSIQUE 3 FEMMES

C’est le duo formé d’Analia Llugdar, compositrice et d’Emné Nasereddine, librettiste (à qui on peut ajouter Alice Ronfard à la dramaturgie), qui avait l’honneur de lancer la soirée. Je suis fille de la fille est la mise en musique d’extraits du recueil La danse du figuier de Nasereddine, prix Émile-Nelligan en 2021. Je me permets de citer un commentaire du jury qui a accordé le prix à Emné Nasereddine, à propos de La danse du figuier

Dans une méditation sur ses origines, la poète Nasereddine évoque trois figures de femmes : celle de la grand-mère, Téta, celle de la mère, Fadwa, ainsi que celle de la fille, Emné. Après la mort de sa mère, Emné dresse un constat lapidaire : « les femmes de mon pays meurent avant d’écrire ». Ce terrible constat motive sans nul doute la poète à désobéir à sa grand-mère, qui l’invitait à se trouver un mari. En choisissant plutôt de devenir écrivaine, n’en déplaise à la grand-mère, Nasereddine connaît plusieurs défis. Une fois arrivée à Montréal, la poète évolue sur un territoire où il n’y a pas de « senteurs familières ». C’est la poésie qui lui permettra de tracer son propre chemin dans son pays d’accueil, afin d’y semer les parfums du Liban.

La musique de Llugdar ne se veut pas descriptive de quelques origines ethnoculturelles que ce soit. Elle est rigoureusement atonale, faite d’écartèlements timbraux et de rythmes morcelés. Accompagnée uniquement d’une flûte (Josée Poirier) et de percussions (Krystina Marcoux), la soprano Andréanne Brisson Paquin a offert une prestation bien incarnée et, surtout, vocalement impressionnante. La partition de Llugdar est exigeante : envolées lyriques abruptement interrompues, onomatopées variées et roucoulements qui doivent être projetés puissamment. Un passage m’a particulièrement marqué : celui où le personnage principal semble retourner dans sa mémoire pour évoquer sa grand-mère, Téta, qui prépare le thé. Les sonorités percussives sur les mots thé, théière, Téta, tasse, etc. sont amusantes et très bien articulées par Andréanne. Une parenthèse (définie ostentatoirement en entrée et en sortie par des attaques d’une rare violence des percussions – Krystina Marcoux, excellente) qui faisait du bien dans un produit total plutôt sévère. Tel qu’indiqué plus haut, il s’agissait d’un extrait de quelque vingt minutes d’une œuvre totale qui doit en faire une quarantaine. Aucune date n’a été évoquée pour la création complète. 

Je passe maintenant au deuxième opéra de la soirée, une sorte de fable symbolique à la fois loufoque et sérieuse : Raccoon Opera, des frangines Rebecca et Rachel Gray. Oui, un opéra mettant en scène un… raton laveur comme l’un des personnages principaux. En vérité, l’animal ressemble plutôt à un symbole, celui d’une force qui nous attire vers le conformisme, un peu comme le rhinocéros de Ionesco. Mais, le livret de Rachel (Rebecca est la compositrice), ne lévite pas dans la métaphysique pour autant. Il s’agit d’une histoire assez plébéienne d’une millénariale qui en arrache dans un appart miteux de Toronto et qui en arrache encore plus avec le proprio, de toute évidence une personne viscéralement insensible. La jeune femme qui s’appelle Erin n’est pourtant pas rancunière. Elle désespère sur l’état de sa vie, mais demeure résignée, apathique. Puis, le raton laveur arrive et l’amène à se révolter, à être fâchée! L’extrait présenté hier s’est arrêté au moment où Erin, gonflée à bloc par l’animal, se crinque et se transforme émotionnellement. 

La musique de Rebecca oscille entre un lyrisme affirmé qui contraste fortement avec l’œuvre précédente. L’orchestre, de loin le plus étoffé des trois opéras de la soirée (six musiciens et un chef), offre souvent un contrepoint pointilliste et grinçant, mais pas que. À certains moments, il prend des atours plus chaleureux. C’est Raccoon qui stimule cette dualité, car c’est un personnage à la fois rassurant pour Erin, mais aussi, on le sent, dangereux et manipulateur. À quelles fins? On le saura si jamais l’œuvre a la chance d’être créée dans son entièreté. Des projections vidéo de taches de café, de spaghettis métamorphosés en visage à la chevelure ébouriffée, et autres incongruités apportent un complément visuel associé à la vie spartiate de jeune adulte en appartement (beaucoup trop cher). 

J’ai beaucoup aimé ce mariage de commentaire social actuel (la crise du logement) et de réflexion plus large sur ses répercussions émotionnelles, matérialisées par la symbolique absurdiste du raton, facteur de conformisme rageur (là aussi, très actuel) et héritier d’une riche tradition littéraire. 

La soirée s’est terminée avec la dernière des trois propositions, probablement aussi l’œuvre la plus accrocheuse et la plus attractive. Nanatasis, d’Alejandra Odgers à la musique et Nicole O’Bomsawin au livret, peut même être qualifié d’opéra ‘’pour toute la famille’’. Au programme, trois légendes abénakises, dont, on le comprendra, une seule était présentée hier. 

L’histoire est celle d’un guerrier abénaki (Kl8sk8mba) qui part vers le Grand Nord afin de résoudre l’énigme d’un hiver qui ne finit plus et qui empêche le peuple de semer et récolter de quoi survivre. Le personnage sera amené à rencontrer Pebon (l’Hiver) et à le convaincre, avec l’aide de Niben (l’Été), de lâcher prise une partie de l’année, engendrant ainsi le cycle des saisons. 

Des trois, Nanatasis est l’opéra qui a bénéficié des plus belles largesses en termes de costumes. Pebon et Niben sont très beaux, caractérisés par d’immenses visages fait de papier colorés, de rubans et autres artifices, harnachés au-dessus des chanteurs qui les interprètent. Pebon est chanté par la basse William Kraushaar, magnifique et parfaitement campé avec ce timbre riche et profond, d’une irrésistible rondeur. Odéi Bilodeau est bonne, également, en Niben. Le ténor Mishael Eusebio incarne vocalement Kl8sk8mba, qui est également doublé dans ses déplacements par une marionnette. 

La musique d’Alejandra Odgers est tonale, mélodique et accessible. Elle fait appel, adéquatement et même habilement, à des tropes associés à la musique autochtone, mais aussi à ceux de son pays d’origine, le Mexique (le personnage de Niben lui permet cela). L’orchestration est économe (une flûte et des percussions), mais bien colorée. On imagine sans mal Nanatasis partir en tournée et plaire à un très large public. D’ailleurs, c’est le seul des trois ouvrages lyriques qui possède une date de création complète, en 2025 à Montréal. J’ai très hâte et, d’après les commentaires entendus après la soirée, le public présent aussi. 

On doit remercier chaleureusement toutes les équipes derrière cet important travail de renouvellement de la chose opératique : l’organisme Musique 3 femmes, à l’origine du projet, Le Vivier et Sixtrum percussions. 

Bravo, bravo, et merci.

Tout le contenu 360

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

La meilleure version de Karkwa

La meilleure version de Karkwa

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Des filles qui rockent

Des filles qui rockent

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre