Our Afro-descendant hip-hop: rap, consciousness… under-representation

by Gabriella Kinté

In this Black History Month, PAN M 360 proudly highlights the thinking of its new collaborator Gabriella Kinté, a committed bookseller, Montreal author and avid hip-hop fan. Adjacent to the Ausgang Plaza space on Plaza Saint-Hubert, the Racines bookshop she founded offers a wide range of writings on the history, culture and living conditions of racialized people in Quebec. Gabriella’s work now continues on the pages of PAN M 360!

In this month dedicated to celebrating black history, I want to share with you my impressions of hip-hop, a culture I adore and that my Afro-descendant community has actively helped to create. My favorite elements of this culture are rap and consciousness.

So here it is:

It’s impossible to walk the streets of Montreal without seeing the influence of this global movement. In Quebec, I’m very well served by the supply of local talent, but I’m annoyed that it’s too often misrepresented in the mainstream media. In fact, it seems to me that these institutional media tend to highlight the same type of artists … male, cis, white.It’s impossible to walk the streets of Montreal without seeing the influence of this global movement. In Quebec, I’m very well served by the supply of local talent, but I’m annoyed that it’s too often misrepresented in the mainstream media. In fact, it seems to me that these institutional media tend to highlight the same type of artists … male, cis, white.

In any case, there are very few who sound like me and whose recordings are played on commercial radio or invited on major TV shows. I find that mainstream media favor the visibility of white rappers, which can be attributed to a variety of factors, including the preconceived opinions of decision-makers.

Some journalists, probably unconsciously, integrate the negative perceptions ingrained in society, directing them towards a preference for artists from non-minority backgrounds. This contributes to an imbalance in the representation of diversity within the Quebec hip-hop scene, as in other cultural sectors.

What I really don’t like to hear is that the lack of diversity in the media is linked to a lack of good emerging artists from that diversity. I don’t believe that there is a directly proportional link between talent and media presence. In 2024, we can no longer turn a blind eye! We all know that discriminatory behaviors persist in the media landscape, even if they are complex to perceive.

Regularly, I have to access to independent media such as Onz Montréal, Hit’Story, Da Main Source and Rapolitik, in order to stay abreast of the latest trends. I have no choice, because what the “media leaders” offer me is often boring, disconnected or puts forward American talent, whereas we can count on excellent local artists. That’s why independent media fascinates me, because it’s closer to artists of all kinds.

It’s thanks to them that I’ve had the pleasure of discovering artists such as Chung, Planet Giza, SLM, Ya Cetidon and others. If I’d stuck to what’s offered on traditional channels, it would have taken a long time for their work to reach my ears. It would have been disappointing for me to discover them only once their international success had been established. It’s a shame, given their talent. With so many platforms out there, I think they deserve to be seen/heard more.

But how, in fact, can you contribute to improving things, whether you’re a fan or a media player? First of all, put yourself in a better frame of mind:

For fans: reach out to what’s not like them, broaden their field of vision and challenge our own unconscious prejudices.

For columnists: go beyond simply writing down their preferences, explore different perspectives and question their unconscious biases;

Fans or columnists, I believe we all have a certain power to influence.  While we wait for changes in rigid media spheres, let’s act together by exploring and sharing the profile of often overlooked talents, and thus contribute to enriching the cultural scene ourselves.  Why? To ensure more equitable and authentic coverage of hip-hop in Quebec.

Nevertheless… shout out for the following positive advances:

  • The documentary serie Les Racines du Hip-Hop au Québec. At the origin of this nugget is a diverse, competent team, offering the general public the opportunity to discover major players. 
  • The rapper Lost, the only Montrealer or even the only Canadian to be part of YouTube Music’s new Fifty Deep campaign. It was a proud moment for me!
  • The independent media for their exceptional and authentic work, a breath of fresh air in the media landscape.

Although the road to fair, authentic and equitable representation is a long one, my confidence in the emergence of new local musical talent persists.  In any case, the current era offers creative minds many opportunities to make themselves heard. My wish for 2024? That the quest for new audiences will be less arduous for racialized artists. That we base ourselves exclusively on real artistic ability rather than status or privilege.

Latest 360 Content

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Single of the Day – “The Vampire” – Tanz Akademie

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Subscribe to our newsletter

Notre hip-hop afro-descendant: rap, conscience… sous-représentation

par Gabriella Kinté

En ce Mois de l’histoire des Noirs, PAN M 360 met fièrement en relief la pensée de sa nouvelle collaboratrice Gabriella Kinté, libraire engagée, autrice montréalaise et grande fan de hip-hop. Jouxtant l’espace Ausgang Plaza sur la Plaza Saint-Hubert, la librairie Racines qu’elle a fondée propose une vaste éventail d’ouvrages concernant les histoires, la culture ou les conditions de vie des personnes racisé.e.s au Québec. Le travail de Gabriella se prolonge désormais sur les pages de PAN M 360 !

En ce mois dédié à la célébration de l’histoire des Noirs, j’ai envie de vous partager mes impressions concernant le hip-hop, une culture que j’adore et que ma communauté afro-descendante a activement contribué à créer. Mes éléments préférés de cette culture sont le rap et la conscience. 

Alors voici:

Il est impossible de se promener dans les rues de Montréal sans y voir l’influence de ce mouvement mondial. Au Québec, je suis très bien servie par l’offre de talents locaux mais je suis agacée qu’ils soient trop souvent mal représentés dans les médias grand public. Il me semble en fait que ces médias institutionnels aient tendance à mettre en évidence le même type d’artistes … hommes, cis, blancs.

En tout cas, rares sont ceux qui me ressemblent et dont les enregistrements sont joués à la radio commerciale ou encore sont invités sur les grands plateaux de télé. Je trouve que les médias traditionnels favorisent la visibilité de rappeurs blancs, ce qui peut être attribué à divers facteurs, dont les opinions préconçues des décideurs.

Certains journalistes, probablement de manière inconsciente, intègrent les perceptions négatives ancrées dans la société, les orientant vers une préférence envers les artistes aux origines non minoritaires. Cela contribue à créer un déséquilibre dans la représentation de la diversité au sein de la scène hip-hop québécoise, tout comme dans d’autres secteurs de la culture.

Ce que je n’aime surtout pas entendre, c’est que la non présence de la diversité dans les médias est liée au manque de bons artistes émergents issus de cette diversité. Je ne crois donc pas qu’il y ait un lien directement proportionnel entre le talent et la présence médiatique. En 2024, on ne doit plus fermer les yeux! Nous savons toustes que persistent dans le paysage médiatique des comportements discriminatoires, même si complexes à percevoir. 

Régulièrement, je dois consulter des médias indépendants tels que Onz Montréal, Hit’Story, Da Main Source et Rapolitik, afin de demeurer informée des dernières tendances. Je n’ai pas le choix, car ce que me proposent les “leaders médiatiques’’ est souvent ennuyeux, déconnecté ou encore met de l’avant des talents américains, alors que nous pouvons compter sur d’excellents artistes locaux. C’est pourquoi les médias indépendants me passionnent car ils sont plus proches des artistes de toutes sortes. 

C’est grâce à eux que j’ai eu le plaisir de découvrir des artistes tels que Chung, Planet Giza, SLM, Ya Cetidon, etc. Si je m’en tenais qu’à ce qui est offert sur les canaux traditionnels il en aurait fallu du temps pour que leurs œuvres atteignent mes oreilles. Ça aurait été décevant pour moi de les découvrir qu’une fois leur succès international établi. C’est très regrettable étant donné leur talent. Avec la multitudes de plateformes existantes je crois qu’ils méritent d’être plus vus/entendus.

Mais comment, au fait, peut-on contribuer à l’amélioration des choses, que l’on soit fan ou acteur médiatique ? D’abord se mettre dans de meilleures dispositions :

Pour les fans: aller vers ce qui ne leur ressemble pas, élargir leur champ de vision et remettre en question nos propres préjugés inconscients.

Pour les chroniqueurs : dépasser la simple rédaction de leurs préférences, explorer des perspectives différentes et s’interroger sur leurs biais inconscients. 

Fans ou chroniqueurs, je crois que nous avons toustes un certain pouvoir d’influence.  En attendant les changements dans des sphères médiatiques rigides, agissons ensemble en explorant et en partageant le profil de talents souvent méconnus, et contribuons ainsi à enrichir nous-mêmes la scène culturelle.  Pourquoi? Pour assurer une couverture plus équitable et authentique du hip-hop au Québec. 

Néanmoins… shout out pour les avancées positives suivantes :

  • Le documentaire Les Racines du Hip-Hop au Québec. À l’origine de cette pépite se trouve une équipe diversifiée, compétente, offrant au grand public l’occasion de découvrir des acteurs majeurs. 
  • Le rappeur Lost, le seul Montréalais ou même carrément le seul Canadien à faire partie de la nouvelle campagne Fifty Deep de YouTube Music. C’était une fierté pour moi de voir cela! 
  • Les médias indépendants pour leur travail exceptionnel et authentique, une bouffée d’air frais au sein du paysage médiatique.

Bien que la route vers une représentation juste, authentique et équitable s’annonce longue, ma confiance dans l’émergence de nouveaux talents musicaux locaux persiste.  De toute façon, l’ère actuelle offre aux esprits créatifs plusieurs occasions de se faire entendre. Mon souhait pour 2024 ? Que la quête de nouveaux publics soit moins ardue pour les artistes racisés. Qu’on se base exclusivement sur les capacités artistiques réelles plutôt que sur le statut ou les privilèges.

Tout le contenu 360

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

ARC – ARC

ARC – ARC

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Anti Jazz Police Festival – Jour 4

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Les Supersaxes de l’ONJM

Anti-Jazz Police Festival – Jour 3

Anti-Jazz Police Festival – Jour 3

Louise Jallu – Jeu

Louise Jallu – Jeu

Anti-Jazz Police Festival – Jour 2

Anti-Jazz Police Festival – Jour 2

Shaina Hayes et son Kindergarten Heart

Shaina Hayes et son Kindergarten Heart

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre