×

The Warhol Dervish String Quartet looks to honour Beethoven in a new, contemporary setting

Interview by Stephan Boissonneault
Genres and styles : Classical / Indie Folk

Additional Information

The music scene in Montreal, circa 2007, welcomed a new unorthodox, one-of-a-kind chamber music quartet whose members went on to collaborate with artists such as Arcade Fire, Hey Rosetta, The Barr Brothers, Sarah Pagé, Chilly Gonzales, Patrick Watson, etc. This quartet is called the Warhol Dervish String Quartet, and is more of a collective—a rotating cast of chamber music players, that in the beginning, cut their teeth in punk rock DIY arts venues around Montreal and now often tour as the strings section for a number names in the music world.

Violist and director of Warhol Dervish, Pemi Paull, has been with the collective since day one. Along with the collective, his performances over the next few weeks are during a concert series called Beethoven Mystique. The concert series is a collaboration between Warhol Dervish and local acts Paper Beat Scissors (Mar 23) Katie Moore (April 20), Brad Barr (May 1), Sarah Pagé (May 11), and Thanya Iyer (June 22). The idea is to put new life into the last string quartets of one of history’s greatest composers while conveying the synergy and potential of chamber music and contemporary music artists. 

PAN M 360 spoke with Pemi Paull ahead of the second Beethoven Mystique show, about the inspiration behind the concert series, choosing which artists to feature, and the gradual shift of acceptance for chamber music and contemporary collaborations in North America. 

Beethoven Mystique Concert Dates at La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines
Wednesday, April 20th – Quartet No 15, Op. 132 + Katie Moore
Sunday, May 1st – Quartet No 14, Op. 131 + Brad Barr
Wednesday, May 11th – Quartet No 16, Op. 135 + Sarah Pagé
Wednesday, June 22nd – Quartet No 13 and 17, Op. 130/133 + Thanya Iyer

PAN M 360: Hey Pemi how are you today? 

Pemi Paull: I’m OK. Sorry, my voice is a little off today ‘cause I’m on the tail end of COVID. I just got back from touring on Monday with another group and like half of us got COVID.

PAN M 360: That definitely seems to be the reality of touring nowadays. Which group was that?

Pemi Paull: Ensemble Caprice. It’s a baroque music collective. So we lost a singer at the beginning of the tour and then a trumpet player and yeah, it was COVID. Some of the people in my Warhol Dervish group were on tour as well, and five of them got COVID last week as well. 

PAN M 360: I guess you’ll all be cured by the times of the shows though? 

Pemi Paull: Yeah we’re gonna be super vaxxed by then. Have all three of the vaccines plus a case of COVID. So super immunity.

PAN M 360: So is Warhol Dervish like a rotating cast of players?

Pemi Paull: Yeah it’s a collection. It’s always been a collective, but there are certain core members in the string quartet and it’s flexible because we’re all over the place all the time doing a million different things. For this performance, we have four violinists that are rotating between shows.

PAN M 360: Where did the initial idea for this concert series come from?

Pemi Paull: Well we first made contact with theatre La Chapelle when we did a run of shows in 2017. And we talked about doing a series of concerts around some themes. I’ve always wanted to do a Beethoven cycle all my life. I’ve played all the Beethoven quartets and that’s the type of music that allows me to express myself as a classical player. These quartets are at the top of my musical repertoire. 

So the theatre came back to us to do these shows and then COVID happened and I proposed five concerts around the five late Beethoven string quartets. Those pieces are like at the summit of chamber music, but they can be quite dense and profound so the idea was to be to experience these quartets with little breaks where people in the Montreal indie community play. The idea is to make the whole time listening to the music as enjoyable and flowing as possible, especially for people who have never heard them before. 

PAN M 360: And how did you go about choosing with Montreal acts would be accompanying which quartet?

Pemi Paull: Well we’ve always collaborated with people outside of the classical world and made many musician friends along the way. But it’s different for everyone. Like Katie (Moore) is playing her own music and choosing her program more in reaction to the fact that we’re playing Beethoven’s Opus 132 rather than the other way around. So we play the quartet and then Katie performs a solo set she’s heard the quartet before, but I’m not even 100 percent sure what she will play.

PAN M 360: So it’s going to be pretty spontaneous?

Pemi Paull: Yeah and like when we did it with Tim (Paper Beat Scissors) it seems like it went even better than expected. Because I think the pacing is really good, where you have that kind of like really high-intensity chamber music that is very visceral, but it doesn’t last very long. The release comes without having to sit there for two hours. It’s very complimentary. 

Katie Moore is performing with Warhol Dervish on Wednesday, April 20

PAN M 360: You and other members of Warhol Dervish have classical, Conservatory training behind you. Has it been hard to kind of leave that when collaborating outside classical music?

Pemi Paull: The culture has really changed. There’s a lot more collaboration now. But I think for me,—I think I’m the oldest person of the Dervishes—I’m a real Gen X guy. There was a big separation when we were young, growing up with classical music and what it represented and what popular music represented. But I think our group was made up of a lot of people who probably had band aspirations, but we started out on string instruments, and the journey with stringed instruments invariably leads you into the classical world, at least at some point. We started at this anarchist art gallery called Zeke’s as the house band. So we were playing pretty independently, booking shows at La Sala Rossa and keeping away from the classical music world. It was easier to operate as a sort of band and play the music we wanted to. 

PAN M 360: So back then, was there kind of a disconnect between you guys and your peers who were playing classical music in a different setting?

Pemi Paull: I think that everyone thought it was cool for the most part, but there is definitely an element of classical music that is all about status with fancy instruments and fancy education. And the way you promote yourself is with that fancy notoriety. But as soon as you start working with bands and things like that, people recognize you because of capitalism. It’s like ‘Oh, we have heard of the bands that you work with’ even more than our own repertoire. It’s just a different way into people’s consciousness.

But there’s a classical world that only wants to have chamber music with competitions and rich kids going to expensive music schools, and you know, it’s a very rarefied field. So I think in North America, it’s really changed. And I think it’s a lot easier to be who you are if you’re trying to promote your own group. And what you are is fine, but there’s also parallel to that—a network of concert series, and competitions, like a classical music establishment of chamber music—and we only have a peripheral amount to do with that.

PAN M 360: You mentioned fancy instruments and you yourself have a viola from the 18th century correct? 

Pemi Paull: Yes so I do a lot of historical performances—which is to say that we play on old instruments and try to recreate the sort of conditions of 18th-century performance. So like using older bows and instruments and everybody in our group does that. Actually, Montreal is a pretty big centre for historical performance. 

But yeah I bought a French viola that was built in 1789, the year of the French revolution, and the guy who built it was a revolutionary who got guillotined, so it has a great story behind it. It’s had a lot of mojo put into it and it’s my main instrument. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Le Quatuor à cordes Warhol Dervish honore Beethoven dans un nouveau contexte

Interview réalisé par Stephan Boissonneault
Genres et styles : Classical Period / classique / indie folk

renseignements supplémentaires

Vers 2007, la scène musicale montréalaise a accueilli un nouveau quatuor de musique de chambre peu orthodoxe et unique en son genre, dont les membres ont collaboré avec des artistes comme Arcade Fire, Hey Rosetta, The Barr Brothers, Sarah Pagé, Chilly Gonzales, Patrick Watson, etc. Ce quatuor, Warhol Dervish String Quartet, est plutôt un collectif – une équipe tournante de chambristes qui, au début, se sont fait les dents dans des salles de spectacles punk rock DIY de Montréal et qui, maintenant, font souvent des tournées en tant que section des cordes pour de nombreux noms du monde de la musique.

L’altiste et directeur de Warhol Dervish, Pemi Paull, fait partie du collectif depuis le premier jour. Avec le collectif, il se produira au cours des prochaines semaines dans le cadre d’une série de concerts intitulée Beethoven Mystique. Cette série de concerts est une collaboration entre Warhol Dervish et les artistes locaux Paper Beat Scissors (23 mars), Katie Moore (20 avril), Brad Barr (1er mai), Sarah Pagé (11 mai) et Thanya Iyer (22 juin).

L’idée est de donner une nouvelle vie aux derniers quatuors à cordes de l’un des plus grands compositeurs de l’histoire, tout en transmettant la synergie et le potentiel de la musique de chambre et des artistes de musique contemporaine.

PAN M 360 s’est entretenu avec Pemi Paull à l’approche du deuxième concert Beethoven Mystique, pour évoquer l’inspiration derrière la série de concerts, le choix des artistes à présenter et le changement progressif de l’acceptation de la musique de chambre et des collaborations contemporaines en Amérique du Nord.

Dates des concerts Beethoven Mystique à La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines

Mercredi 20 avril – Quatuor no 15, op. 132 + Katie Moore

Dimanche 1er mai – Quatuor no 14, op. 131 + Brad Barr

Mercredi 11 mai – Quatuor No 16, Op. 135 + Sarah Pagé

Mercredi 22 juin – Quatuor no 13 et 17, op. 130/133 + Thanya Iyer

PAN M 360 : Hey Pemi comment vas-tu aujourd’hui ?

Pemi Paull : Je vais bien. Désolé, ma voix est un peu faible aujourd’hui parce que je suis à la fin de la COVID. Je viens de rentrer de tournée lundi avec un autre groupe et la moitié d’entre nous a eu la COVID.

PAN M 360 : Cela semble clairement être la réalité des tournées de nos jours. Quel groupe était-ce ?

Pemi Paull : L’Ensemble Caprice, un collectif de musique baroque. Nous avons donc perdu un chanteur au début de la tournée, puis un trompettiste et oui, c’était la COVID. Certains musiciens de Warhol Dervish étaient également en tournée, et cinq d’entre eux ont eu la COVID la semaine dernière également.

PAN M 360 : Je suppose que vous serez tous guéris à l’heure des concerts ?

Pemi Paull : Oui, nous serons super vaccinés d’ici là. On a les trois vaccins et une boîte de tests COVID. Donc une super immunité.

PAN M 360 : Alors, est-ce que Warhol Dervish est un groupe d’interprètes en rotation ?

Pemi Paull : Oui, c’est une collection de membres. Cela a toujours été un collectif, mais il y des membres principaux dans le quatuor à cordes et c’est souple parce que nous sommes partout tout le temps à faire un million de choses différentes. Pour cette performance, nous avons quatre violonistes qui tournent entre les spectacles.

PAN M 360 : D’où est venue l’idée initiale de cette série de concerts ?

Pemi Paull : Eh bien nous avons d’abord pris contact avec le théâtre La Chapelle lorsque nous avons fait une série de spectacles en 2017. Et nous avons parlé de faire une série de concerts autour de certains thèmes. J’ai toujours voulu faire un cycle Beethoven toute ma vie. J’ai joué tous les quatuors de Beethoven et c’est le type de musique qui me permet de m’exprimer en tant que musicien classique. Ces quatuors sont au sommet de mon répertoire musical.

Le théâtre est donc revenu vers nous pour faire ces spectacles, puis le COVID est arrivé et j’ai proposé cinq concerts autour des cinq derniers quatuors à cordes de Beethoven. Ces pièces sont au sommet de la musique de chambre, elles sont denses et profondes. L’idée était donc de faire l’expérience de ces quatuors avec de petites pauses où jouent des gens de la communauté indie de Montréal. L’idée est de rendre l’écoute de la musique aussi agréable et fluide que possible, surtout pour les personnes qui n’ont jamais entendu ces pièces auparavant.

PAN M 360 : Et comment avez-vous choisi les groupes montréalais qui accompagneront le quatuor?

Pemi Paull : Eh bien, nous avons toujours collaboré avec des gens en dehors du monde classique et fait de nombreux amis musiciens le long du chemin. Mais c’est différent pour chacun. Par exemple, Katie (Moore) joue sa propre musique et choisit son programme plus en réaction au fait que nous jouons l’Opus 132 de Beethoven que l’inverse. Donc, nous jouons le quatuor et puis Katie exécute un ensemble solo, elle a entendu le quatuor avant, mais je ne suis même pas sûr à 100% ce qu’elle va jouer.

PAN M 360 : Donc, il va être assez spontanée ?

Pemi Paull : Oui et comme lorsque nous l’avons fait avec Tim (Paper Beat Scissors), il semble que cela s’est passé encore mieux que prévu. Parce que je pense que le rythme est vraiment bon, où vous avez cette sorte de musique de chambre à haute intensité qui est très viscérale, mais qui ne dure pas très longtemps. La libération se fait sans avoir à rester assis pendant deux heures. C’est très complémentaire.

Katie Moore se produit avec Warhol Dervish ce mercredi 20 avril

PAN M 360 : Vous et les autres membres de Warhol Dervish avez reçu une formation classique de haut niveau. A-t-il été difficile d’adapter votre éducation musicale pour travailler hors de la musique classique ?

Pemi Paull : La culture a vraiment changé. Il y a beaucoup plus de collaboration maintenant. Mais je pense que pour moi, – qui suis, je pense, la personne la plus âgée des Derviches – je suis un vrai gars de la génération X. Il y a eu une grande séparation quand nous étions des musiciens. Il y avait une grande séparation quand nous étions jeunes, en grandissant avec la musique classique et ce qu’elle représentait et ce que la musique populaire représentait. Mais je pense que notre groupe était composé de beaucoup de gens qui avaient probablement des aspirations de groupe, mais nous avons commencé avec des instruments à cordes… et le voyage avec des instruments à cordes vous mène invariablement dans le monde classique, du moins à un moment donné. Nous avons commencé dans cette galerie d’art anarchiste appelée Zeke’s en tant que groupe maison. On jouait donc de manière assez indépendante, en donnant des concerts à La Sala Rossa et en se tenant à l’écart du monde de la musique classique. C’était plus facile de fonctionner comme une sorte de groupe tout en jouant la musique que nous voulions.

PAN M 360 : À l’époque, y avait-il une sorte de déconnexion entre vous et vos pairs qui jouaient de la musique classique dans un cadre différent ?

Pemi Paull : Je pense que la plupart des gens pensaient que c’était cool, mais il y a définitivement un élément de la musique classique qui est tout sur le statut avec des instruments sophistiqués et une éducation sophistiquée. Et la façon dont vous vous faites connaître, c’est avec cette notoriété « de luxe ». Mais dès que vous commencez à travailler avec des groupes et des choses comme ça, les gens vous reconnaissent grâce au capitalisme. On nous dit : “Oh, nous avons entendu parler des groupes avec lesquels vous travaillez”, même plus que de notre propre répertoire. C’est juste une façon différente d’entrer dans la conscience des gens.

Mais il y a un monde classique qui ne veut que de la musique de chambre avec des concours et des enfants riches qui vont dans des écoles de musique coûteuses, et vous savez, c’est un domaine très rare. Alors je pense qu’en Amérique du Nord, ça a vraiment changé. Et je pense qu’il est beaucoup plus facile d’être qui on est si on essaie de promouvoir son propre groupe. Et ce que vous êtes, c’est bien, mais il y a aussi un parallèle à cela – un réseau de séries de concerts et de compétitions, comme un édifice de musique classique et de musique de chambre – et nous n’avons qu’un rôle périphérique à jouer dans ce domaine.

PAN M 360 : Vous avez mentionné l’utilisation d’instruments sophistiqués et vous avez vous-même un alto du 18e siècle, n’est-ce pas ?

Pemi Paull : Oui, je fais beaucoup d’interprétations de musique ancienne, c’est-à-dire que nous jouons sur des instruments anciens et nous essayons de recréer les conditions d’exécution du XVIIIe siècle. Nous utilisons des archets et des instruments anciens, et tous les membres de notre groupe le font. En fait, Montréal est un centre assez important pour les performances de musique ancienne.

Et oui, j’ai acheté un alto français fabriqué en 1789, l’année de la révolution française, et le gars qui l’a construit était un révolutionnaire qui fut guillotiné, donc l’instrument a une grande histoire derrière lui. Il a beaucoup de mojo et c’est mon instrument principal.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre