Shanta Nurullah – A Spirit Musician at Suoni

Interview by Varun Swarup

Additional Information

Shanta Nurullah has distinguished herself as a sitarist and bassist exploring African-American improvisational music throughout her career. A legendary Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) member, Shanta will be performing with her trio at this year’s Suoni Per Il Popolo.

PAN M 360: Hi Shanta, looking forward to your Suoni show! Can you tell us a little bit more about the performance?

SHANTA NURULLAH: Oh, I’m very much looking forward to it as well. We’ll be doing a trio thing. I’ll be playing the sitar and a little bit of small percussion. I might bring a sansula, it’s a type of mbira or kalimba, but this particular one was actually made in Germany. It’s like a kalimba that’s mounted on a little drum, mounted on a membrane and a frame. I might play a little electric bass as well.

Alex Wing is coming with me, he’ll be playing electric guitar and an oud, which is a Middle Eastern instrument. Fred Jackson Jr. plays alto saxophone and might be playing some percussion as well. 

PAN M 360:  That’s a lot of “might”. Sounds like a lot is going to be left to the moment. 

SHANTA NURULLAH: Ha, yes. We’re going to improvise and perhaps play one or two compositions. And we might do some singing as well.

PAN M 360: Such is the nature of, of what shall we call this music exactly?

SHANTA NURULLAH: Creative music.

PAN M 360: Creative music, that’s it.  I would love to know about your relationship with the sitar. I’m sure you’ve got a story to tell. 

SHANTA NURULLAH: Well, when I was 19 years old, I went to India with a group of college students, and we each had a project that we were to research and study while we were there. And my project was to be about the untouchables. I had done all of my previous research on this group of people that had, in my mind, a plight that was very similar to that of my people, the African-Americans. But when we got to Pune, we were based at Deccan College, and we were being given all sorts of these cultural presentations. One of them was a concert, a sitar concert. And from the moment I first heard the instrument, I just fell in love with it. I told the director of the program, that is what I have to do. And he’s like, no, no, you came here to do this social science, political science project. And I’m like, no, no, no, this is what I have to do. 

So I found a teacher and he got me an instrument. I studied for about five months before I left.  I was able to get the basics of the instrument, you know, how to hold it, how to play it. I learned my Sa Re Ga Ma, you know, I learned the scale, and one raag, and he sent me on my way.  But he also had a beautiful sitar made for me while I was there. Before I left he took me to the village of Marashkar to pick up that sitar, it’s the one that I’m still playing.

And I wasn’t able to find a teacher when I came back to Chicago to continue my studies. Before I left India, there were these guys that basically hung out in my teacher’s studio and they kind of brushed me off and told me that you’ll never really be able to play this instrument, because you need to study at least for five years and play every day for eight hours a day. I took that to heart and basically just sat in my room and played it. Now, when I was sitting in my room just playing like that, I discovered that I could play some of the songs that I had grown up hearing, singing like, you know, Negro spirituals. Motherless Child, Wade in the Water. And that’s what I did in my room. I also had a Ruth Brown blues record and I would often play along with it. 

PAN M 360: Your music crosses so many boundaries and the sitar seems to be but a part of a much larger artistic vision. How did things begin to take shape?

SHANTA NURULLAH: At the same time I was a literature student, and I got so enamoured with the Black Arts Movement that when I finished my studies, I wanted to get involved. I wanted to be a part of the Black Arts Movement. That’s how I learned about the Kuumba workshop, which was headquartered at the Southside Community Arts Center, which was a hub that dated back to the 20s, 30s, 40s, and the years of the WPA and just had a long history of the arts in Chicago. The workshop met regularly and welcomed me into their theatre company. They had regular one-act plays they put on on Saturday night, after the play, they would have what they called a ritual. And the ritual was that every member of the company would come up and present something, a song or a poem or something, kind of like an open mic.

Well, one Monday evening after the rehearsal, I drove one of the company members home. I came into her house for a minute and noticed that in the corner of the room was a bass guitar. And I had never seen one before. I asked her if I could, if I could play it. I had never held a bass before let alone played one but once I began playing it, she was so amazed that she gave me the bass and the amp to take home. 

So all week long, I’m practicing on this bass, And I took it on Saturday night to Kuumba and played it at the ritual. You know, I was arrogant enough to think that just after one week, I was ready to play this instrument in public. So Val Gray Ward, the director of the company, after the ritual, she said, well, that was nice, but you know, you really do need some lessons. She suggested I see Pete Cosey. I didn’t know who he was but I went to see him. 

I later found out that Pete was the guitarist that put the electric in Muddy Waters’ Electric Mud album. He also played with Miles Davis, and was one of the regulars at Chess Records, so he was just a phenomenal musician. 

Ater a couple of bass lessons from Pete Cosey, he said, you know, you really need to go see Phil Cohran. Phil was one of the founders of the AACM, the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians, and I stayed with him for almost four or five years. He had this thing called Black Music Workshop on Saturday morning. I took my bass to Phil and he said you’re welcome to join the workshop, but what other instruments do you play? I said, well, I have this sitar at home, but I can’t really play it because the people in India said that I have to study for five years and practice eight hours a day, so I can’t bring it out. He said, sister, that instrument’s from Africa, so are you. Bring it on over here. And that gave me permission to just stretch out and express myself, express myself. on the sitar and that’s what I’ve been doing ever since.

He wrote music for me and he wrote this harp and sitar duet that was just really beautiful. He wrote me a sitar blues and you know, it was just a wonderful experience learning from him, and that just launched me into my career, basically.

PAN M 360: I can’t help but think of Alice Coltrane when I hear about your music. Was she one of your influences? Are you on the same kind of quest as her?

SHANTA NURULLAH: Oh, absolutely. Alice Coltrane is one of my greatest inspirations. I had the honour of actually spending an afternoon with her. That was just one of the highlights of my entire life, getting to meet her and talk to her. It continues to inspire me. When I listen to her music, I’m hearing new things even now that I’ve never heard before. Her music speaks to universality, to love, to freedom. I’m a spirit musician like that, musicians who are, how can I say it, open to the energy of the universe, of the moment. I play what I feel and I play what I hear and mostly I like to play with other people and explore communication with other musicians. It’s creating, collective creation. 

PAN M 360: That’s creative music. Thanks a lot Shanta. 

SHANTA NURULLAH IS PERFORMING AT SUONI PER IL POPOLO, SALA ROSSA, ON WEDNESDAY JUNE 14. INFOS & TICKETS HERE

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

Shanta Nurullah – un esprit de la musique aux Suoni

Entrevue réalisée par Varun Swarup

renseignements supplémentaires

Shanta Nurullah s’est distinguée comme sitariste et bassiste en explorant la musique d’improvisation afro-américaine tout au long de sa carrière. Membre légendaire de l’Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM), Shanta se produira avec son trio lors du festival Suoni Per Il Popolo de cette année.

PAN M 360 : Bonjour Shanta, on attend avec impatience votre concert aux Suoni ! Pouvez-vous nous en dire certains éléments ?

SHANTA NURULLAH : Oh, j’ai vraiment hâte d’y être. Nous allons jouer en trio. Je jouerai du sitar et d’un peu de petites percussions. J’apporterai peut-être un sansula, une sorte de mbira ou de kalimba, mais celui-ci a été fabriqué en Allemagne. C’est une sorte de kalimba montée sur un petit tambour, sur une membrane et un cadre. Je jouerai peut-être aussi un peu de basse électrique.

Alex Wing vient avec moi, il jouera de la guitare électrique et de l’oud, un instrument du Moyen-Orient. Fred Jackson Jr. joue du saxophone alto et pourrait également jouer des percussions.

PAN M 360 : Cela fait beaucoup de « pourrait ». On dirait que beaucoup de choses vont être laissées au hasard.

SHANTA NURULLAH : Oui. Nous allons improviser et peut-être jouer une ou deux compositions. Et nous pourrions aussi chanter un peu.

PAN M 360 : Quelle est la nature de cette musique, comment la nommer exactement ?

SHANTA NURULLAH : De la musique créative.

PAN M 360 : La musique créative, c’est ça. J’aimerais connaître votre relation avec le sitar. Je suis sûre que vous avez une histoire à raconter.

SHANTA NURULLAH : Eh bien, quand j’avais 19 ans, je suis allée en Inde avec un groupe d’étudiants, et chacun d’entre nous avait un projet de recherche et d’étude à réaliser pendant son séjour. Mon projet devait porter sur les intouchables. J’avais déjà effectué toutes mes recherches sur ce groupe de personnes dont la situation était, à mon avis, très similaire à celle de mon peuple, les Afro-Américains. Mais lorsque nous sommes arrivés à Pune, nous étions basés au Deccan College et nous avons assisté à toutes sortes de présentations culturelles. L’une d’entre elles était un concert, un concert de sitar. Dès que j’ai entendu cet instrument pour la première fois, j’en suis tombée amoureuse. J’ai dit au directeur du programme que c’était ce que je devais faire. Il m’a dit : « Non, non, vous êtes venu ici pour faire ce projet de sciences sociales, de sciences politiques. Et je lui ai répondu : « Non, non, non, c’est ce que je dois faire ».

J’ai donc trouvé un professeur et il m’a procuré un instrument. J’ai étudié pendant environ cinq mois avant de partir. J’ai pu acquérir les bases de l’instrument, vous savez, comment le tenir, comment en jouer. J’ai appris mon Sa Re Ga Ma, j’ai appris les gammes et les ragas, et il m’a laissé partir. Mais il m’a aussi fait fabriquer un magnifique sitar pendant que j’étais là-bas. Avant mon départ, il m’a emmené au village de Marashkar pour récupérer ce sitar, c’est celui avec lequel je joue encore.

Je n’ai pas pu trouver de professeur lorsque je suis revenu à Chicago pour poursuivre mes études. Avant de quitter l’Inde, il y avait ces types qui traînaient dans le studio de mon professeur et ils m’ont en quelque sorte balayé du revers de la main en me disant que je ne pourrais jamais vraiment jouer de cet instrument, parce qu’il faut étudier au moins pendant cinq ans et jouer tous les jours huit heures par jour. J’ai pris cela à cœur et je me suis contenté de m’asseoir dans ma chambre et de jouer. C’est en jouant comme ça, assise dans ma chambre, que j’ai découvert que je pouvais jouer certaines des chansons que j’avais entendues en grandissant, comme les negro spirituals. Motherless Child, Wade in the Water. C’est ce que j’ai fait dans ma chambre. J’avais aussi un disque de blues de Ruth Brown et je l’accompagnais souvent.

PAN M 360 : Votre musique franchit tant de frontières et le sitar semble n’être qu’une partie d’une vision artistique beaucoup plus large. Comment les choses ont-elles commencé à prendre forme ?

SHANTA NURULLAH : À la même époque, j’étais étudiante en littérature et j’ai été tellement séduite par le Black Arts Movement qu’à la fin de mes études, j’ai voulu m’y impliquer. Je voulais faire partie de ce mouvement. C’est ainsi que j’ai appris l’existence de l’atelier Kuumba, dont le siège se trouvait au Southside Community Arts Center, un centre qui remontait aux années 20, 30 et 40, aux années du WPA et à une longue histoire des arts à Chicago. L’atelier se réunissait régulièrement et m’a accueillie au sein de sa compagnie théâtrale. Ils montaient régulièrement des pièces en un acte le samedi soir, et après la pièce, ils avaient ce qu’ils appelaient un rituel. Après la pièce, ils organisaient ce qu’ils appelaient un rituel. Ce rituel consistait à ce que chaque membre de la compagnie vienne présenter quelque chose, une chanson, un poème ou autre chose, un peu comme un micro ouvert.

Un lundi soir, après la répétition, j’ai raccompagné l’un des membres de la compagnie chez elle. Je suis entré chez elle un instant et j’ai remarqué qu’il y avait une guitare basse dans un coin de la pièce. Je n’en avais jamais vu auparavant. Je lui ai demandé si je pouvais en jouer. Je n’avais jamais tenu une basse auparavant, et encore moins joué, mais une fois que j’ai commencé à en jouer, elle a été tellement étonnée qu’elle m’a donné la basse et l’ampli pour que je les emporte chez moi.

Toute la semaine, je me suis donc entraîné sur cette basse. Samedi soir, je l’ai emmenée à Kuumba et j’en ai joué lors du rituel. Vous savez, j’étais assez arrogant pour penser qu’après une semaine, j’étais prêt à jouer de cet instrument en public. Après le rituel, Val Gray Ward, la directrice de la compagnie, m’a dit que c’était bien, mais que j’avais vraiment besoin de leçons. Elle m’a suggéré de voir Pete Cosey. Je ne savais pas qui c’était, mais je suis allée le voir.

J’ai appris plus tard que Pete était le guitariste qui avait mis l’électricité dans l’album Electric Mud de Muddy Waters. Il a également joué avec Miles Davis et était l’un des habitués de Chess Records ; c’était donc un musicien phénoménal.

Après quelques leçons de basse avec Pete Cosey, il m’a dit : « Tu sais, il faut vraiment que tu ailles voir Phil Cohran. Phil était l’un des fondateurs de l’AACM, et je suis restée avec lui pendant quatre ou cinq ans. Il organisait un atelier de musique noire le samedi matin. J’ai apporté ma basse à Phil et il m’a dit que vous étiez le bienvenu à l’atelier, mais de quels autres instruments jouez-vous ? J’ai répondu que j’avais un sitar à la maison, mais que je ne pouvais pas vraiment en jouer parce que les Indiens m’ont dit que je devais étudier pendant cinq ans et m’entraîner huit heures par jour, et que je ne pouvais donc pas le sortir. Il m’a dit : « Sister, cet instrument vient d’Afrique, tout comme toi. Apporte-le ici. Cela m’a donné la permission de m’étendre et de m’exprimer, de m’exprimer sur le sitar et c’est ce que j’ai fait depuis.

Il a écrit de la musique pour moi et il a écrit un duo de harpe et de sitar qui était vraiment magnifique. Il m’a écrit un blues de sitar et vous savez, c’était juste une expérience merveilleuse d’apprendre de lui, et c’est ce qui a lancé ma carrière, en fait.

PAN M 360 : On ne peut s’empêcher de penser à Alice Coltrane lorsqu’on entend parler de votre musique. A-t-elle été l’une de vos influences ? Êtes-vous dans la même quête ?

SHANTA NURULLAH : Oh, absolument. Alice Coltrane est l’une de mes plus grandes inspirations. J’ai eu l’honneur de passer un après-midi avec elle. Cela a été l’un des moments les plus forts de ma vie, de pouvoir la rencontrer et lui parler. Elle continue de m’inspirer. Lorsque j’écoute sa musique, j’entends encore aujourd’hui des choses que je n’avais jamais entendues auparavant. Sa musique parle d’universalité, d’amour, de liberté. Je suis un musicien spirituel comme ça, un musicien qui est, comment dire, ouvert à l’énergie de l’univers, du moment. Je joue ce que je ressens et ce que j’entends, et surtout j’aime jouer avec d’autres personnes et explorer la communication avec d’autres musiciens. C’est de la création, de la création collective.

PAN M 360 : C’est de la musique créative. Merci beaucoup Shanta.

SHANTA NURULLAH SE PRODUIT AUX SUONI PER IL POPOLO, SALA ROSSA, MERCREDI 14 JUIN. INFOS & BILLETS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre