Quatuor Molinari: ACOUSTIC EXPLORATION FROM WEST TO EAST

Interview by Alain Brunet
Genres and styles : classique / Contemporary / période moderne

Additional Information

The COVID hit the Molinari Quartet just before Christmas, so much so that the ensemble had to reschedule this rich program entitled Acoustic Exploration.

Made up of the most daring and avant-garde modern and contemporary works, the menu proposed next Wednesday calls upon the genius of the Polish Krzysztof Penderecki, the Hungarian Belà Bartok, the Romanian (of Greek background) Iannis Xenakis, whose 100th birthday was in 2022, but also the singular proposals of composers born at the gates of the Orient, namely the Iranian Showan Tavakol and the Azeri Franghiz Ali-Zadeh.

First violinist, artistic director and founder of the Molinari Quartet, Olga Ranzenhofer provides us with some insight into these works before their performance, scheduled for January 18, 7:30 p.m., at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.

PAN M 360: We discussed this program very briefly last September in the context of the Molinari Quartet’s entire season, let’s be more specific this time with the program Exploration sonore / Acoustic Exploration.

OLGA RANZENHOFER: When I chose the theme Sound Odyssey/ Odyssée sonore (performed last fall), I had already forgotten that I had previously found the title Acoustic Exploration/ Exploration sonore (laughs). But there is a common thread between the two programs, Odissey & Exploration, because some music is played in each. So we start the concert with an exploratory work by Penderecki, his Quartet No.1 composed in the 60s. The “sonorism”, an avant-garde tendency in Poland, was in full swing at that time. It was not necessary about making real notes, it was completely free! So it’s great noise… you tap your left hand on the strings, on the instrument, there are col legnos, pizzicatos and other effects. It’s a very powerful work that begins with noise and is then punctuated by these pizzicatos that grow in size. So there is a variety of proposals in a solid structure.

PAN M 360: So this was at the peak of Penderecki’s experimental period!

OLGA RANZENHOFER: Kind of, and it must be said that his score is very beautiful to watch, you have to obey unconventional signs and that creates a kind of tension in the performers. They have to play intensely while deciphering. The execution is not thought notated in bars but in seconds, there is a time line and every 5 seconds. Within these sequences, a vertical line separates each second and the notes fit in these intervals illustrated by these lines. You may then have to play at the beginning, middle or end of this interval. And there is a lot of randomness, a lot of freedom in the interpretation. As much as the score is very precise in time, there is a lot of leeway in the execution. We really appreciate this piece that was originally conceived for the LaSalle Quartet and that we also recorded.

PAN M 360: There is no easy way out, since you have chosen Xenakis’ “Ergma” to mark the 100th anniversary of his birth – on May 29, to be precise.

OLGA RANZENHOFER: We start with Penderecki’s sonorism and then move on to Xenakis, whose work is incredibly dense. Sometimes it sounds like we’re an octet! The instruments often play two notes at a time, often sevenths. It is a block of sound that demands great intensity from its performers. The rhythm is slow, peppered with plated chords.  Really interesting, but not easy to play this Xenakis! In any case, it is a good introduction to this “mono-block” work, which includes a viola solo that plays fortissimo while the others play piano and make small interventions. Towards the end, we each play a note, a sort of lightening before we resume the octet effect.  It creates a kind of uneasiness haha! A whole course.

PAN M 360: Then we move to the East, more precisely to Iran, with this composer who has settled in Montreal for his graduate studies.

OLGA RANZENHOFER: Showan Tavakol is doing his doctorate in composition in Montreal with Ana Sokolovic, and has composed for us a piece that he entitled Modal Hologram in several movements.  From him, we propose this “Creation for quartet and kamancheh”. Showan, it must be said, is a virtuoso of this Persian hurdy-gurdy, played vertically. The work is thus conceived for quartet and kamancheh – two movements are planned with the soloist and the others for quartet alone. We explore Iranian modal music, which includes quarter tones or even two-thirds tones. We try to change our sound to meet the composer’s goal of merging his own traditions with contemporary Western music.

PAN M 360: From Iran we go to Azerbaijan.

OLGA RANZENHOFER: The work of the composer Franghiz Ali-Zadeh was written for Kronos Quartet, shortly after the tragic death of the son of the violinist David Harrington – musical director of the Kronos. It is more Western writing than that of her colleague, but it manages to bridge the gap between Western music and that of the desert territories of Azerbaijan. In this spirit, the work is entitled “Oasis”, which the composer herself describes as a place of calm, rest, refuge. The piece includes a recording with sounds of water drops, a song of the” gazelles of love”, of Iranian inspiration… I can hear the sound of caravans in the desert, I can perceive a human hubbub as we approach the oasis. And then we get there, aaaah! I also must say that it can have a double meaning, in the context of the deadly tragedy that occurred during the composition. The drops of water can also be tears…

PAN M 360: And we conclude with Bartok, his fantastic String Quartet No.3.


OLGA RANZENHOFER: We play recent works in this program: 1960, 1994, 2022 and… 1927! This piece by Bartok is of great modernity, it is the string quartet where he went the furthest in his research, with very particular effects for the time, and a very tight counterpoint. The second part arrives at the moment of the recapitulation of the first, this one arrives just before the recapitulation of the 2nd and so on. Everything is interwoven, tightly knit, it’s really great. A great sound exploration in 1927. So it will be a beautiful concert!

PROGRAM :

Krzysztof Penderecki: Quartet No. 1

Iannis Xenakis : Ergma

Showan Tavakol: Creation for Quartet and Kamancheh

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh : Oasis

Béla Bartók : Quartet No 3

FOR INFO AND TICKETS, IT’S HERE

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

Quatuor Molinari: Exploration sonore d’Ouest en Est

Entrevue réalisée par Alain Brunet

renseignements supplémentaires

Tardivement, la COVID a frappé le Quatuor Molinari peu avant Noël, à tel point que l’ensemble a dû remettre deux fois plutôt qu’une ce riche programme intitulé Exploration Sonore. 

Constitué d’œuvres modernes et contemporaines des plus audacieuses et avant-gardistes, le menu proposé mercredi prochain fait appel au génie du Polonais Krzysztof Penderecki, du Hongrois Belà Bartok, du Grec (né en Roumanie) Iannis Xenakis dont c’était le 100e anniversaire de naissance en 2022, mais aussi aux propositions singulières de compositeurs nés aux portes de l’Orient, soit l’Iranien Showan Tavakol et l’Azérie Franghiz Ali-Zadeh. 

Premier violon, directrice artistique et fondatrice du Quatuor Molinari, Olga Ranzenhofer nous fournit quelques éléments de compréhension de ces œuvres avant leur exécution, prévue le 18 janvier, 19h30, au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal.

PAN M 360 : Nous avons abordé très sommairement ce programme en septembre dernier dans le contexte de la saison entière du Quatuor Molinari, soyons cette fois plus spécifique avec le programme Exploration sonore.

OLGA RANZENHOFER : Lorsque j’ai choisi le thème Odyssée sonore (présenté l’automne dernier), j’avais déjà oublié que j’avais précédemment trouvé le titre Exploration sonore (rires). Mais il y a quand même un fil conducteur entre les deux programmes car certaines œuvres sont jouées dans chacun. Ainsi, on commence le concert avec une œuvre exploratoire de Penderecki, son Quatuor no.1 composé dans les années 60. Le sonorisme battait son plein à cette époque, il ne fallait surtout pas faire de vraies notes, c’était complètement free! Alors ce sont des bruits… on tape de la main gauche sur les cordes, sur l’instrument, il y a des col legnos, des pizzicatos d’autres effets. C’est une œuvre très puissante qui commence dans le bruitisme et qui est ensuite ponctuée par ces pizzicatos qui prennent de l’ampleur. Il y a donc une variété de propositions formulées dans une structure solide.

PAN M 360 : C’était donc au plus fort de la période expérimentale de Penderecki!

OLGA RANZENHOFER : Oui. Il faut aussi dire que sa partition est très belle à voir, on doit obéir à des signes non conventionnels et ça crée une espèce de tension chez les interprètes. Ils doivent jouer intensément tout en déchiffrant. L’exécution est pensée non pas en mesures mais en secondes,  il y a une ligne du temps et à toutes les 5 secondes. À l’intérieur de ces séquences, une ligne verticale sépare chaque seconde et les notes sont disposées dans ces intervalles illustrés par ces lignes. Tu peux alors devoir jouer au début, au milieu ou à la fin de cet intervalle. Et il y a beaucoup d’aléatoire, de liberté dans l’interprétation. Autant la partition est très précise dans le temps, autant il y a une grande marge de manœuvre dans l’exécution. On aime beaucoup cette pièce qui avait été conçue à l’origine pour le Quatuor LaSalle et que nous avons aussi enregistrée.

PAN M 360 : On ne poursuit pas dans la facilité, puisque vous avez choisi Ergma, de Xenakis, afin de souligner son 100e anniversaire de naissance – plus exactement le 29 mai dernier.

OLGA RANZENHOFER : On part du sonorisme de Penderecki pour ensuite aborder Xenakis, dont l’œuvre est d’une incroyable densité. Ça donne parfois l’impression que nous formons un octuor! Les instruments y jouent souvent deux notes à la fois, souvent des septièmes. C’est un bloc sonore qui exige de ses interprètes une grande intensité. Le rythme est lent, émaillé d’accords plaqués.  Vraiment intéressant, mais pas facile de jouer ce Xenakis! En tout cas, c’est une bonne entrée en matière avec cette œuvre « mono-bloc », qui inclut notamment un solo d’alto qui joue fortissimo pendant que les autres jouent piano et procèdent à de petites interventions. Vers la fin on joue chacun une note, une sorte d’éclaircie avant qu’on reprenne l’effet octuor.  Ça crée un genre de malaise haha ! Tout un parcours. 

PAN M 360 : On passe ensuite à l’Est, plus précisément en Iran avec ce compositeur installé à Montréal pour des études supérieures.

OLGA RANZENHOFER : Showan Tavakol  fait à Montréal son doctorat en composition avec Ana Sokolovic, et qui a composé pour nous une pièce qu’il a intitulée Hologramme modal en plusieurs mouvements.  De lui, nous proposons cette Création pour quatuor et kamânche. Showan, il faut dire, est un virtuose de cette  vielle à pic persane, jouée à la verticale. L’oeuvre est donc conçue pour quatuor et kamâche – deux mouvements sont  prévus avec le soliste et les autres pour quatuor seul. On y explore les musiques modales iraniennes, qui comprennent des quarts de ton ou même des deux-tiers de ton. On essaie ainsi de changer notre son pour satisfaire l’objectif du compositeur, soit fusionner ses propres traditions  à la musique contemporaine de l’Occident.

PAN M 360 : De l’Iran nous partons et nous voilà en Azerbaïdjan.

OLGA RANZENHOFER : L’œuvre de la compositrice Franghiz Ali-Zadeh  avait été écrite pour Kronos Quartet, peu après la mort tragique du fils du violoniste David Harrington – directeur musical du Kronos. C’est une écriture plus occidentale que celle de son collègue, mais elle réussit à faire le pont entre la musique occidentale et celle des territoires désertiques de l’Azerbaïdjan. Dans cet esprit, l’œuvre s’intitule Oasis que la compositrice décrit elle-même comme un lieu de calme, de repos, de refuge. La pièce compte un enregistrement avec des sons de gouttes d’eau, un chant des gazelles de l’amour, d’inspiration iranienne… Moi, j’y entends le bruit des caravanes dans le désert, j’y perçois un bouhaha humain à l’approche de l’oasis. Et puis on arrive, aaaah! Il faut dire que cette œuvre peut avoir un double sens, dans le contexte de  la tragédie mortelle survenue pendant la composition. Les gouttes d’eau peuvent aussi être des larmes…

PAN M 360 : Et on conclut avec Bartok, son fantastique Quatuor à cordes no.3.
OLGA RANZENHOFER : On joue des œuvres récentes dans l’ensemble de ce programme : 1960, 1994, 2022 et… 1927! Cette œuvre de Bartok est d’une grande modernité, c’est le quatuor à cordes où il est allé le plus loin dans la recherche, avec des effets très particuliers pour l’époque, et un contrepoint très serré. La deuxième partie arrive au moment de la récapitulation de la première, celle-ci arrive juste avant la récapitulation de la 2e et ainsi de suite. Tout est imbriqué, tricoté serré, c’est vraiment génial. Une grande exploration sonore en 1927. Alors ce sera un beau concert !

PROGRAMME :

Krzysztof Penderecki : Quatuor no 1

Iannis Xenakis : Ergma

Showan Tavakol : Création pour quatuor et kamânche

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh : Oasis

Béla Bartók : Quatuor no 3

POUR INFOS ET BILLETS, C’EST ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

Game ON! : le FILMharmonique dirigé par un pionnier

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

OPCM : Wallis Giunta devient Carmen

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Le compositeur d’All Quiet On The Western Front à Montréal en lumière sous le nom de Hauschka

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

Quelle époque pour être en vie ! Conversation avec Sarah Rossy

L’Ensemble à cordes de l’ONJ au service de Marianne Trudel et Yannick Rieu

L’Ensemble à cordes de l’ONJ au service de Marianne Trudel et Yannick Rieu

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser dirige l’Ensemble Obiora

Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser dirige l’Ensemble Obiora

Quatuor Molinari: John Rea et Dmitri Chostakovitch juxtaposés

Quatuor Molinari: John Rea et Dmitri Chostakovitch juxtaposés

Zaho de Sagazan, cette voix qui lance des éclairs

Zaho de Sagazan, cette voix qui lance des éclairs

Lorraine Klaasen, notre Mama Afro-Canada

Lorraine Klaasen, notre Mama Afro-Canada

Igloofest en coulisses : VJ, un métier de l’ombre… en pleine lumière

Igloofest en coulisses : VJ, un métier de l’ombre… en pleine lumière

Taverne Tour: Ducks Ltd, jangle pop accrocheuse et folies humaines

Taverne Tour: Ducks Ltd, jangle pop accrocheuse et folies humaines

Barbara Hannigan: double tâche avec l’OSM

Barbara Hannigan: double tâche avec l’OSM

Jowee Omicil convie les esprits libérateurs du Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil convie les esprits libérateurs du Bwa Kayman

Taverne Tour : Jon Spencer revu et corrigé

Taverne Tour : Jon Spencer revu et corrigé

Rosemarie et Jean-Michel au service de Ravel et Gershwin

Rosemarie et Jean-Michel au service de Ravel et Gershwin

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Taverne Tour: Laurence-Anne, visite d’un labyrinthe sans fin

Taverne Tour: Laurence-Anne, visite d’un labyrinthe sans fin

Taverne Tour: Deli Girls, punk queercore expérimental pour secouer votre monde

Taverne Tour: Deli Girls, punk queercore expérimental pour secouer votre monde

Zihua Tan: programme canado-malais à la soirée No Hay Banda

Zihua Tan: programme canado-malais à la soirée No Hay Banda

Le violoncelle non-binaire d’India Gailey

Le violoncelle non-binaire d’India Gailey

Igloofest en coulisses : découvrez les secrets de production de l’événement

Igloofest en coulisses : découvrez les secrets de production de l’événement

Rasas et autres sentiments: un programme trans-traditionnel de la SMCQ

Rasas et autres sentiments: un programme trans-traditionnel de la SMCQ

Festival classique hivernal de l’OSL: deux maestros nous en causent

Festival classique hivernal de l’OSL: deux maestros nous en causent

Cendrillon à McGill | La mise en scène d’un conte bien-aimé

Cendrillon à McGill | La mise en scène d’un conte bien-aimé

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre