×

KUUNATIC: Same Different World

Interview by Rupert Bottenberg
Genres and styles : Psych-Rock

Additional Information

Like a new planet revealed in the far-flung reaches of the solar system, Tokyo trio KUUNATIC are a fairly recent and eminently worthy addition to the constellation of Japanese psych-rock, and the exciting pan-Asian wave of alternative music immersed in the continent’s folklore, faiths and ritualism. Founded five years ago, the tribal-psych trio of keyboardist Fumie Kikuchi, drummer Yuko Araki and bassist Shoko Yoshida (all three also handle vocals) has given shape to a strange yet engaging auditory realm sewn together from elements of ancient traditions from around the world, the more exploratory music of recent decades, and their own uninhibited imaginations. Their latest release is the album Gate of Klüna, produced by Tim DeWit of Gang Gang Dance, and stepping through that gate leads to an entire world, one that’s equally familiar and mysterious. PAN M 360 connected with these emissaries from the planet Kuurandia for further insights and revelations, which they provided collectively.

PAN M 360: Gate of Klüna tells a specific story over the course of the record, an arc of the history of your imagined planet Kuurandia. Can you briefly summarize that story cycle?

KUUNATIC: Our first EP’s title KUURANDIA is the name of a fantasy planet we live on—like a prologue of a story, the last song of the EP, “Battle of Goddesses”, was about Armageddon of deities, and as a result, a new planet, Kuurandia,was born. So we extended the concept for our new album Gate of Klüna, which is inspired by ancient myths, and the story goes like this… Sacred bells ring at the dawn of a new era. Our new empress rises with magical refrains. As the planet prospers, Kuurandians hold a ball under the full moon and celebrate the richness of the harvest. The peaceful time seems to last forever… until a gigantic volcano emerges in the middle of the moonrise mountains. KUUNATIC chant enigmatic mantras like praying, to prevent its eruption. However, unidentified invaders appear from its roaming lava, and the war of predation begins. KUUNATIC fight and release their magical spells, and finally they win the battle. Then three pythonesses sing a mystic triumph song, leading their people to a deep, dreamy forest. 

PAN M 360: You are not alone among artists in presenting to your audience your vision of a utopia, an imaginary land or even world (such as Kuurandia). Such an imagined place is not necessarily a paradise, but here is clearly a reward to exploring these ideas, for both artist and audience. For the members of KUUNATIC, what is the value in doing this?

KUUNATIC: For us, music is a surreal experience. You have your own reality, but you can escape to a different world while you create or listen to music. You know it’s a fantasy, but we would like to think that our music is something that coexists with your reality, a parallel universe you can experience. It’s very dreamy and thrilling at the same time. When the reactions from listeners come back to us, we can recall the surreal experience again as well.

PAN M 360: There are certainly uniquely Japanese elements in KUUNATIC’s music. I hear minyo, traditional festival music, in “Dewbow” and “Full Moon Spree”, for instance. But I also hear elements borrowed from other folkloric and spiritual traditions as well, from around the world. Can you offer some insights about this?

KUUNATIC: The image of Kuurandia is the ancient but also the future. There are no geographic borders on this planet. Probably, we are trying to picture a utopia by musically fusing cultures scattered all around the world. This always makes us realize that completely unrelated cultures can have very similar customs, and that the world is actually connected. Playing music with a primitive sense is also our main theme to embody mystical feelings that all human beings can have in common.

PAN M 360: Similarly, you use multiple languages in your lyrics, names and titles. Sometimes the languages are even mixed together. Japanese, English, Finnish, I think there is even some indigenous Hawaiian in the lyrics to “Lava Naksh”. What do you feel is the purpose of language in the art you make?

KUUNATIC: Each song we compose has a story and we like to adopt languages according to the narrative. Using and mixing different languages simply makes sense to us for colouring and shaping the tale. Some lyrics that you might think are Japanese are actually in our own language called Kuurandish, which is based on Japanese phonology. It is also a very fascinating experiment for us to find out how people will perceive our ideas, listening to our music and the languages.

PAN M 360: There are other current Asian musical artists mixing psych-rock with traditional and folkloric elements. Examples are Mong Tong from Taiwan, or Haepaary and TENGGER from South Korea. Do you feel a particular affinity or kinship with these bands? It sometimes seems that such music is more appreciated by foreign audiences than at home.

KUUNATIC: Our main concept is “fantasy”, so it might be slightly different from their styles, but we are big fans of tribal and traditional music, so we really like their music too. Music from different cultures often sounds very exotic and more exciting to people with other cultural backgrounds, that’s how we feel. But this fact also makes us cherish our own roots more.

Photo by Shawn Chao

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

KUUNATIC : monde différent, monde pareil

Interview réalisé par Rupert Bottenberg
Genres et styles : rock psychédélique

renseignements supplémentaires

Comme une nouvelle planète révélée aux confins du système solaire, le trio tokyoïte KUUNATIC est un ajout relativement récent et éminemment digne d’intérêt à la constellation du psycho-rock japonais, ainsi qu’à la passionnante vague panasiatique de musique alternative imprégnée de folklore, de croyances et de rituels. Fondé il y a cinq ans, le trio tribal-psychique composé de la claviériste Fumie Kikuchi, de la batteuse Yuko Araki et de la bassiste Shoko Yoshida (toutes les trois chantent) a donné naissance à un univers sonore étrange mais attrayant, conçu à partir d’éléments d’anciennes traditions du monde entier, de musique plus exploratoire des dernières décennies et de leur propre imagination débridée. Leur dernière parution est l’album Gate of Klüna, produit par Tim DeWit de Gang Gang Dance. Écouter cet album ouvre une porte vers un monde en soi, à la fois familier et mystérieux. PAN M 360 a contacté ces émissaires de la planète Kuurandia pour obtenir des renseignements et des révélations, qu’elles nous ont fournis collectivement.

PAN M 360 : Gate of Klüna raconte une histoire précise au cours de l’enregistrement, un arc de l’histoire de la planète imaginaire Kuurandia. Pouvez-vous résumer brièvement ce cycle d’histoire?

KUUNATIC : Le titre de notre premier microalbum, KUURANDIA, est le nom d’une planète imaginaire sur laquelle nous vivons. Comme le prologue d’une histoire, la dernière chanson du microalbum, Battle of Goddesses, parlait de l’Armageddon des divinités. Par conséquent, une nouvelle planète est née, Kuurandia. Nous avons donc étendu le concept à notre nouvel album Gate of Klüna, qui s’inspire de mythes anciens. L’histoire se déroule comme suit : les cloches sacrées sonnent à l’aube d’une nouvelle ère. Notre nouvelle impératrice se lève, avec en tête des refrains magiques. Alors que la planète prospère, les Kuurandiens organisent un bal sous la pleine lune et célèbrent les récoltes. Cette période de paix semble durer éternellement, jusqu’à ce qu’un gigantesque volcan émerge au milieu des montagnes de la lune. Les KUUNATIC chantent des mantras énigmatiques comme des prières, pour empêcher son éruption. Cependant, des envahisseurs non identifiés apparaissent de sa lave et la guerre commence. Les KUUNATIC se battent et lancent des sorts magiques. Finalement, ils gagnent la bataille. Puis trois pythonisses entonnent un chant de triomphe mystique, conduisant leur peuple vers une forêt profonde et onirique.

PAN M 360 : Vous n’êtes pas les seules artistes à présenter à votre public votre vision d’une utopie, d’une terre ou même d’un monde imaginaire (comme Kuurandia). Un tel endroit n’est pas nécessairement un paradis, mais on peut gagner à explorer ces idées, tant pour l’artiste que pour le public. Pour les membres de KUUNATIC, quel est l’intérêt de faire cela?

KUUNATIC : Pour nous, la musique est une expérience surréaliste. Vous avez votre propre réalité, mais vous pouvez vous évader dans un monde différent lorsque vous créez ou écoutez de la musique. Vous savez que c’est un fantasme, mais nous aimons penser que notre musique est quelque chose qui coexiste avec votre réalité, un univers parallèle que vous pouvez expérimenter. C’est à la fois très onirique et très excitant. Lorsque les auditeurs nous font parvenir des commentaires, nous pouvons nous remémorer cette expérience surréaliste.

PAN M 360 : Il y a des éléments typiquement japonais dans la musique de KUUNATIC. J’entends le minyo, la musique traditionnelle des festivals, dans Dewbow et Full Moon Spree, par exemple. Mais j’entends aussi des éléments empruntés à d’autres traditions folkloriques et spirituelles du monde entier. Pouvez-vous nous donner quelques indications à ce sujet?

KUUNATIC : Kuurandia est ancienne mais aussi future. Il n’y a pas de frontières géographiques sur cette planète. Nous essayons probablement d’imaginer une utopie en fusionnant musicalement des cultures dispersées dans le monde entier. Cela nous fait toujours réaliser que des cultures sans aucun rapport peuvent avoir des coutumes très similaires, et que le monde est en fait connecté. Jouer de la musique de manière primitive est aussi notre principale façon d’incarner des sentiments mystiques que tous les êtres humains peuvent avoir en commun.

PAN M 360 : De même, vous utilisez plusieurs langues dans vos paroles, vos noms et vos titres. Parfois, les langues sont même mélangées. Japonais, anglais, finnois, je pense qu’il y a même un peu d’hawaïen dans les paroles de Lava Naksh. Quel est, selon vous, le but de la langue dans l’art que vous créez?

KUUNATIC : Chaque chanson que nous composons a une histoire et nous aimons adopter les langues en fonction de la narration. L’utilisation et le mélange de différentes langues ont simplement du sens pour nous pour colorer et façonner le récit. Certaines paroles que vous pourriez penser être japonaises sont en fait dans notre propre langue appelée Kuurandish, qui est basée sur la phonologie japonaise. C’est aussi une expérience très fascinante pour nous de découvrir comment les gens vont percevoir nos idées, en écoutant notre musique et les langues.

PAN M 360 : Il y a d’autres musiciens asiatiques qui mélangent le psych-rock avec des éléments traditionnels et folkloriques, en ce moment. On peut citer Mong Tong, de Taiwan, ou Haepaary et TENGGER de Corée du Sud. Ressentez-vous une affinité ou une parenté particulière avec ces groupes ? Il semble parfois que cette musique soit plus appréciée par le public étranger que dans votre pays.

KUUNATIC : Notre concept principal est fantaisiste, donc ça peut différer légèrement de leurs styles, mais nous sommes de grands fans de musique tribale et traditionnelle. Nous aimons beaucoup leur musique aussi. La musique de cultures différentes semble souvent très exotique et plus excitante pour les autres, c’est ce que nous ressentons. Mais cela nous fait aussi aimer davantage nos propres racines.

Photo : Shawn Chao

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre