M/NM Festival : Golgot(h)a, Walter Boudreau Passion

Interview by Alain Brunet
Genres and styles : Contemporary

Additional Information

Golgot(h)a, a piece composed by Walter Boudreau 3 decades ago and recently reworked for its upcoming performance this Sunday at the Montreal / New Musics Festival, illustrates what the composer calls his “historical-cultural bestiary.
“The ritual of the Catholic mass, the nuns of the Congregation Notre-Dame with whom I had my first piano lessons, the sin (of the flesh…) admitted (with clenched teeth) in the confessional, religious choral singing, church bells and the organ, the fear of Eternal Damnation, sexual pleasure, artistic ecstasy, gladiator movies… and what else!” Walter Boudreau says in his history of the work at hand. Thus, the sounds of sacred music, deeply rooted in his childhood and adolescent imagination, come to the fore through the metaphor of the Stations of the Cross, illustrated in all Catholic churches as we know.
“Although I am not really religious,” adds the composer in his notes, “the way of the cross is to my eyes the most intense representation of the drama of a human being in front of the inevitable. This long tunnel of great darkness is the terrible funeral march of a man condemned to an abominable torture: the crucifixion.”
Golgot(h)a” was conceived in 1989 when Walter Boudreau was commissioned by a patron to celebrate the refurbishment of the Guilbault-Thérien organ at the Grand Séminaire de Montréal as part of the 150th anniversary celebrations of its founding.
While visiting the superb chapel of the Grand Séminaire and its organ, Walter Boudreau was immediately struck by the 14 stations of the Way of the Cross of the Passion of Jesus Christ, hence Golgot(h)a . In his opinion, this mystical journey, which was well known to French-speaking Quebecers in his Catholic era, was an obvious choice for the structure of the work…., which took longer to compose than expected.

PAN M 360: So first we are in the chapel of the Grand Séminaire, the origin of Golgot(h)a. Remind us of the context:

WALTER BOUDREAU:
At the time, I was newly appointed composer-in-residence at the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, I was doing Toronto-Montreal non-stop. I’m newly seated in the cockpit of the artistic direction at SMCQ. I have composition commissions. I conduct the Metropolitan Orchestra regularly. I tour. So I get the commission and I say okay, I’m going to go see this and right away. What strikes me is the way of the cross. Immediately I have the idea of paintings for an exhibition. I know these paintings because when I was young, you had to follow them on your knees, praying if you had committed a sin of the flesh. At the age of 12, 13 or 14, you knew immediately who had done that sin when you saw him doing his penance in church! So the Stations of the Cross for me, I must confess that I often did it on my knees, it stuck in my head – raised in Sorel in the Catholic religion, next to St. Pierre’s church which I abandoned when I was eleven years old with the agreement of my agnostic grandmother who raised me. My mother was an organist and pianist who played in the church. I sang religious music, it is part of me, of my Quebec identity.

PAN M 360: On familiar ground, then.

WALTER BOUDREAU:
This order, it was perfect for me. I started working there, right away, I didn’t think about the financial aspect because I had an income. At one point, however, I had been working for a couple of months and I needed a payment to continue. The patron then invited me to the restaurant to finally declare that he was in love with me. I remained polite. I got up and left, telling myself that I would work on the piece in my spare time.

PAN M 360: Which did not guarantee the delivery of the work!

WALTER BOUDREAU:
I went to see Denis Regnaud, then director of the music section of the now defunct CBC’s Chaîne culturelle, and he suggested that I reduce the initial length of the work from 45 minutes to 30 minutes in order to meet the criteria of the Grand Prix Paul-Gilson of the Communauté des Radios Publiques de Langue Française (CRPLF). Among these criteria, it was necessary to include innovative techniques in radio production at the time – voice transformation, digital sampling, new multitrack techniques, etc. Being familiar with these techniques, I accepted the proposal. For example, I had to work with a choir of sampled voices rather than with real choristers or soloists. At the time, my colleague (and composer) Alain Thibault worked alongside me to complete the work, given his high expertise in digital technologies.

PAN M 360: You then collaborated with Raoul Duguay, whom you had known long before the SMCQ, that is to say at the time of Infonie.

WALTER BOUDREAU:
Raoul Duguay wrote the texts and was the reciter – instead of Gaston Miron, that the patron (resigned) had initially suggested. I got along very well with my old friend Raoul, who gave me some pretty good heptasyllables, since it was 14 Stations of the Cross that I divided into 2. Golgot(h)a is thus divided into two large parts, each comprising seven sections. Each section is preceded by a “fanfare-promenade” that acts as a transition between the sections. And so everything revolved around the number 7, which is why Raoul delivered 28 heptasyllabic poems to me. In the studio, Raoul had recited three versions of his texts, including one with the syllables well detached, which I had then digitized to give the phrases rhythms that Raoul could not have executed. By modifying his voice, moreover, I had made the reciter a sort of Darth Vader to embody the “voice of destiny”. This time, the actor Pierre Lebeau will be the narrator.

PAN M 360: The work finally made its way !

WALTER BOUDREAU:
And I had been paid for the commission and for conducting. The work was recorded according to these standards, presented in Paris in May 1991 and won the Prix Paul-Gilson – we are 3 Quebecers to have won it: Otto Joachim, René Lussier and myself. It was a beautiful adventure but for me it remained an unfinished work.

PAN M 360: So what about Golgot(h)a 30 years later ?

WALTER BOUDREAU:
I had won a prize but I had it left across the throat. I had built a terrace in my yard, something nice, but I didn’t finish it. So recently, since I am now retired from the artistic direction of the SMCQ, I could work on it again. Many of my works needed a brush stroke, some sanding, a few more nails. Today, I have the time when I was busy doing so many things at once, I even had to compose during my conducting breaks because I was so overloaded. It is a miracle for me to have been able to produce works at that time. A real way of the cross! (laughs). And now, at 75 years old, I am very happy to put the final coat of varnish. At least, I hope so!

PAN M 360: In your history of the work, you explain that all the music was derived from a four-part responsory “Tradiderunt Me In Manus Impiorum” (“They have delivered me into the hands of the impious”) from the “Officium Hebdomadae Sanctae” (“The Passion”) by the Spanish Renaissance composer Tomas Luis De Victoria (1548-1611). In Golgot(h)a, this motet is intended as a historical link to contemporary compositional techniques at the time of its conception. Is this aspect further emphasized in the completion of the work?

WALTER BOUDREAU:
This time I have real voices singing in Latin, a soprano, a mezzo, a mixed choir. I even called upon the voice of the composer to help me with this. I even called on the ayatollah of Latin choral singing, Yves Saint Thomas, to guide me, to allow me to enter the text and add something new.

PAN M 360: And who’s conducting this time, since you haven’t appeared in public for quite some time?

WALTER BOUDREAU:
That would be me ! I’ll show my face! I’ll do it when and where I feel like it! That being said, I found the orchestra directing job great, it allowed me to see that I wasn’t the only one with good ideas. Now that I’m no longer the artistic director of the SMCQ, and I haven’t overplayed myself before, I’ll be conducting concerts of my music instead, although I do occasionally for other composers – Steve Reich, for example, whose “Tehilim” I dream of doing.

PAN M 360: His most mystical work!

WALTER BOUDREAU:
Yes, it is. Come to think of it, we could have played it at this edition of Montreal / New musics, whose theme is “music and spirituality”…

AT MONTREAL/NEW MUSICS FESTIVAL, GOLGOT(H)A IS PERFORMED NEXT SUNDAY, 3PM, AT SALLE PIERRE-MERCURE

INFOS & TICKETS HERE

Participants

Program

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

M/NM: Golgot(h)a, la Passion selon… Walter Boudreau

Entrevue réalisée par Alain Brunet
Genres et styles : musique contemporaine

renseignements supplémentaires

Golgot(h)a, une œuvre imaginée par Walter Boudreau au tournant des années 90, a été récemment parachevée pour sa prochaine exécution prévue ce dimanche au festival Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques présenté par la SMCQ.
Golgot(h)a, qui tire son nom de cette colline funèbre de Palestine où Jésus Christ fut crucifié, évoque ce que le compositeur nomme son  « bestiaire historico-culturel ».
« Le rituel de la messe catholique, les sœurs de la Congrégation Notre-Dame avec qui j’ai eu mes premières leçons de piano, le péché (de la chair…) avoué (les dents serrées) au confessionnal, le chant choral religieux, les cloches  d’église et l’orgue, la peur de la Damnation Éternelle, le plaisir sexuel, l’extase artistique, les films de gladiateurs … et quoi d’autre encore ! » pose Walter Boudreau dans son historique de l’œuvre dont il est ici question. Ainsi, les sons de la musique sacrée, bien ancrés dans son imaginaire d’enfant et d’adolescent, rejaillissent à travers la métaphore du chemin de croix, représenté ostensiblement dans toutes les églises catholiques comme on le sait.
« Bien que je ne sois pas vraiment religieux, ajoute le compositeur dans ses notes, le chemin de croix est à mes yeux la plus intense représentation du drame d’un être humain devant l’inéluctable. Ce long tunnel d’une grande noirceur est la marche funèbre terrible d’un homme condamné à un supplice abominable : La crucifixion. »
La conception de Golgot(h)a » remonte à 1989 lorsque la  « commande  privée » d’un mécène fut confiée à Walter Boudreau afin de célébrer  la remise à neuf de l’orgue Guilbault-Thérien du Grand Séminaire de Montréal dans le contexte des célébrations entourant le 150e anniversaire de sa fondation.
En repérage à la superbe chapelle du Grand Séminaire et de son orgue, Walter Boudreau fut immédiatement saisi par les 14 stations du Chemin de Croix de la Passion de Jésus-Christ , d’où Golgot(h)a . À son sens, ce parcours mystique parfaitement connu des Québécois francophones de son ère catholique s’imposait pour constituer la structure de l’œuvre…. dont la composition fut plus longue que prévu.

PAN M 360 : Alors on se trouve d’abord dans la chapelle du Grand Séminaire, à l’origine de Golgot(h)a. Rappelez-nous le contexte :

WALTER BOUDREAU : À cette époque, je suis nouvellement nommé compositeur en résidence à l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, je fais du Toronto-Montréal non-stop. Je suis nouvellement assis dans le cockpit de la direction artistique à la SMCQ. J’ai des commandes de composition. Je dirige régulièrement l’Orchestre métropolitain. Je fais des tournées. Alors je reçois la commande et je dis ok, je vais aller voir ça et tout de suite. Ce qui me frappe, c’est le chemin de croix. Tout de suite j’ai l’idée de tableaux d’une exposition. Ces tableaux, je les connais parce que quand j’étais jeune, il fallait les suivre à genoux en priant si on avait commis un péché de chair. À 12, 13 ou 14 ans, on savait immédiatement qui avait fait ce péché quand on le voyait faire sa pénitence à l’église! Alors le chemin de croix pour moi, je dois avouer l’avoir fait souvent à genoux, ça m’est resté planté dans la tête – élevé à Sorel dans la religion catholique, à côté de l’église Saint-Pierre que j’ai abandonnée quand j’avais onze ans avec l’accord de ma grand-mère agnostique qui m’a élevé. Et en plus, ma mère était organiste et pianiste a joué à l’église. Moi j’ai interprété des chants religieux, ça fait partie de moi, de ma québécitude.

PAN M 360 : En terrain connu, donc.

WALTER BOUDREAU : Cette commande, c’était parfait pour moi. J’ai commencé à travailler là, tout de suite, je ne pensais pas à l’aspect financier parce que j’avais des revenus. À un moment donné, ça faisait une couple de mois que je travaillais et il me fallait un paiement afin de poursuivre. Le mécène m’avait alors invité au restaurant pour me déclarer finalement être en amour avec moi. Je suis resté poli. Je me suis levé et j’ai quitté les lieux, me disant que je travaillerais sur l’œuvre dans mes temps libres.

PAN M 360 : Ce qui ne garantissait pas l’accouchement de l’œuvre

WALTER BOUDREAU : Je suis allé voir Denis Regnaud, alors directeur de la section musique de la défunte Chaîne culturelle de la SRC. Il m’a suggéré de réduire la durée initiale de l’œuvre, soit de 45 minutes à 30 minutes afin de souscrire aux critères du Grand Prix Paul-Gilson de la Communauté des Radios Publiques de Langue Française (CRPLF). Parmi ces critères, il fallait inclure des techniques innovantes à l’époque dans la production radiophonique – transformation de la voix, échantillonnage numérique, nouvelles techniques multipistes, etc. Familier avec ces techniques, j’ai accepté la proposition. Par exemple, j’ai dû travailler avec un chœur de voix échantillonnées plutôt qu’avec de vrais choristes ou solistes. À l’époque, mon collègue (et compositeur) Alain Thibault travaillait à mes côtés pour compléter le travail, vu sa grande expertise en matière de technologies numériques.

PAN M 360 : Vous avez alors collaboré avec Raoul Duguay, que vous fréquentiez bien avant la SMCQ, soit à l’époque de l’Infonie.

WALTER BOUDREAU : Raoul Duguay en a écrit les textes et en a été le récitant – au lieu de Gaston Miron, que le mécène (démissionnaire) avait d’abord suggéré. Je m’entendais très bien avec mon vieux chum Raoul qui m’a fait des heptasyllabes pas piquées des vers, puisqu’il s’agissait de 14 stations du chemin de croix que j’ai divisées en 2. Golgot(h)a comprend donc deux grandes parties de sept sections. Chaque section est précédée d’une « fanfare-promenade » qui agit comme transition entre les sections. Et donc tout tournait autour du chiffre 7, c’est pourquoi Raoul m’a livré 28 poèmes heptasyllabiques. En studio, Raoul avait récité trois versions de ses textes, dont une avec les syllabes bien détachées que j’avais ensuite numérisées pour donner aux phrases des rythmes que Raoul n’aurait pu exécuter. En modifiant sa voix, par ailleurs, j’avais fait du récitant une sorte de Darth Vader pour incarner la « voix du destin ». Cette fois, le comédien Pierre Lebeau sera le récitant.

PAN M 360 : L’œuvre a finalement fait son chemin!

WALTER BOUDREAU : Et j’avais été payé pour la commande et pour la direction d’orchestre. L’œuvre fut enregistrée selon ces normes, présentée à Paris en mai 1991 et obtint le Prix Paul-Gilson – nous sommes 3 Québécois à l’avoir remporté : Otto Joachim, René Lussier et moi-même. Ce fut une belle aventure mais pour moi ça restait une œuvre inachevée.

PAN M 360 : Alors qu’en est-il de Golgot(h)a , trois décennies plus tard ?

WALTER BOUDREAU : J’avais gagné un prix mais je l’avais en travers de la gorge. J’avais construit une terrasse dans ma cour, quelque chose de bien, mais je ne l’avais pas finie. Alors récemment, puisque je suis maintenant retraité de la direction artistique de la SMCQ, je pouvais y travailler de nouveau. Plusieurs de mes œuvres avaient d’ailleurs besoin d’un coup de pinceau, un peu de sablage, quelques clous supplémentaires. Aujourd’hui, j’ai le temps alors qu’à cette époque j’étais occupé à faire tant de choses à la fois, je devais même composer durant mes pauses de direction d’orchestre tellement j’étais surchargé. C’est un miracle pour moi d’avoir été capable de pondre des œuvres à cette époque. Un véritable chemin de croix ! (rires). Et là, je suis bien content, à 75 ans, de mettre la couche finale de vernis. Enfin, je l’espère!

PAN M 360 : Dans votre historique de l’œuvre, vous expliquez que toute la musique a été déduite d’un répons à quatre voix Tradiderunt Me In Manus Impiorum (Ils m’ont livré aux mains des impies) tiré de l’Officium Hebdomadae Sanctae (La Passion) du compositeur espagnol de la Renaissance Tomas Luis De Victoria (1548-1611). Dans Golgot(h)a, ce motet se veut un lien historique avec les techniques contemporaines de la composition à l’époque de sa conception. Cet aspect est-il souligné davantage dans le parachèvement de l’œuvre ?

WALTER BOUDREAU : Cette fois, au lieu des voix échantillonnées, j’ai de vraies voix qui chantent en latin, une soprano, une mezzo, un chœur mixte. J’ai même fait appel à l’ayatollah du chant choral en latin, Yves Saint Thomas, pour me guider, me permettre d’entrer dans le texte et y ajouter quelque chose de neuf.

PAN M 360 : Et qui dirige cette fois, vu que vous ne vous n’apparaissez pas en public depuis un bon moment ?

WALTER BOUDREAU : Ce sera moi ! Je vais me montrer la face! Maintenant, je le fais quand et où ça me tente ! Cela dit, j’ai trouvé formidable la direction d’orchestre, ça m’a permis de constater que je n’étais pas le seul à avoir de bonnes idées. Maintenant que je ne suis plus à la direction artistique de la SMCQ et que je ne me suis pas joué à outrance auparavant, je vais plutôt diriger des concerts de ma musique, bien que je le fasse occasionnellement pour d’autres compositeurs – Steve Reich, par exemple, dont je rêve de faire Tehilim.

PAN M 360 : Son œuvre la plus mystique!

WALTER BOUDREAU : Effectivement. À bien y penser, on aurait pu la jouer à cette édition de Montréal / Nouvelles musiques dont le thème est musique et spiritualité

DANS LE CADRE DU FESTIVAL BIENNAL MONTRÉAL/NOUVELLES MUSIQUES, GOLGOT(H)A EST PRÉSENTÉCE DIMANCHE, 15H, À LA SALLE PIERRE-MERCURE.

POUR BILLETS ET INFOS, C’EST ICI

Participant·es

Programme

PAN M 360 : Alors on se trouve d’abord dans la chapelle du Grand Séminaire, à l’origine de Golgot(h)a. Rappelez-nous le contexte :

Tout le contenu 360

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Présente ta chanson ! We Are Wolves nous parle de Transition

Présente ta chanson ! We Are Wolves nous parle de Transition

Présente ta chanson! Sara Danielle nous parle de Flying Away

Présente ta chanson! Sara Danielle nous parle de Flying Away

Dompierre nous explique son Requiem

Dompierre nous explique son Requiem

Festival Classica : Der Kaiser von Atlantis, le trésor caché de Viktor Ullman, enfin présenté au Québec!

Festival Classica : Der Kaiser von Atlantis, le trésor caché de Viktor Ullman, enfin présenté au Québec!

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre