FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Interview by Alain Brunet

Additional Information

Originally from Philadelphia when he started his career among former members of The Roots, Joshua Abrams has long been key musician to Chicago creative new music, hybridising free jazz with western minimalism, North-African Gnawa music and other cultural sources. This eight-piece version of his band Natural Information Society — which ABRAMS dubs the “Community Ensemble” — plays unfolding and layered trance-inducing rhythms and melds, among other elements. Scott Thomson, the new  FIMAV’s artistic director, has told PAN M 360 that this group has been one of the most beautiful concerts he bought at Guelph music festival where he was also artistic director for 7 years. So? We talk to Joshua Abrams!

PAN M 360 : The guimbri, a gnawa luth that many people from Occident  discovered with the famous Moroccan group Nas El Ghiwane in the early 80’s, is a central instrument in the Natural Information Society. Can you tell us how your love and dedication for this instrument started? What does guembri bring in your ensemble’s sound? How do you see it as a soloist instrument?

Joshua Abrams :  I first heard the guimbri played by Malleem Mahmoud Ghania on the record he made w/ Pharoah Sanders, The Trance of The Seven Colors. as a bassist it grabbed my ear and imagination. It has a very vocal quality and brings together low tones and percussive sounds in a profound way. Advanced technology for centering the mind. It allows me to bring together many musical interests and methods including composition & improvisation in a personal way.

PAN M 360 : I suppose you were the first double bass player before moving from Philadelphia to Chicago, isn’t right? Is bass still as important for you as guimbri today?

 Joshua Abrams : Yes, the double bass remains my primary instrument. I play it often in many different situations & on many recordings.

PAN M 360: By the way, do you still nourish human relationships with some former members of The Roots ?

Joshia Abrams : Yes

PAN M 360  : Of course your path is quite different in Chicago where you embraced this creative music whose origins lie in free jazz’s AACM community, post-rock, footwork or post-house experiments. You are obviously evolving in a different ecosystem! What led you to settle in Chicago?

Joshua Abrams : The music !

PAN M 360  : The expression Natural Information appeared in 2010 in your discography. Can you remind us of the background of this expression?

Joshua Abrams : It seemed like a potent combination of two common words that i had never heard used together. Natural Information is a good descriptor for where I enjoy focusing my attention and a good aspiration for what the music could be.

PAN M 360: How did Natural Information Society evolved since?

Joshua Abrams : We have released seven albums with varying lineups, orchestrations and musical personalities. I’ve written different bodies of music for each of those configurations to explore together .  The quartet of myself with Lisa Alvarado, Mikel Patrick Avery and Jason Stein plays the most frequently but on special occasions such as FIMAV the larger version of Natural Information Society Community Ensemble gets to play .

PAN M 360 : How do you see linkage between traditional music and contemporary experiments in music?

Joshua Abrams : I’m mostly interested in music’s vitality. For me whether something is old or new, traditional or experimental takes a back seat to the energy the music can share. All strategies are welcome.

PAN M 360:  Lisa Alvarado, harmonium
; Mikel Patrick Avery, drums 
;  Berman, cornet
; Kara Bershad, harp 
Hamid Drake, conga, tabla, tar
, Ben Lamar Gay, cornet
; Nick Mazzarella, alto saxophone
; Jason Stein, bass clarinet
; Mai Sugimoto, alto saxophone, flute; Ari Brown, tenor saxophone. Can you comment briefly about each role in this ensemble?

Joshua Abrams : We try to build a web with our sounds where the nuances of everyone’s changes can be heard and  felt and the music can evolve gradually. Everyone in the group are amazing musicians & artists in their own right and I’m honored by their participation. I write the pieces and lead the group. Lisa plays harmonium and creates our stage settings, she is my partner in the world and Natural Information Society. Mikel has been with the group for a long time and we have developed a strong intuitive musical bond. Hamid is a musical master, a mentor and a dear friend. But really the history of music making and friendship runs throughout all of the members of the group. Musical facility is important but patience , discipline and attitude are even more important. All of the horns in the group recognize this and are willing to put aside the impulse to play on top of the ensemble and embrace being part of our collective sound. 


PAN M 360:  According to the official program put online by the Victoriaville festival, Ari Brown is the featured soloist on tenor saxophone. Can you tell us how you built your artistic relationship with him? Also how do you want to feature him in this concert? 

Joshua Abrams : There is an old tradition in Chicago of the tenor saxophone being used as a sophisticated technology for human well being. Ari is currently the foremost practitioner of this tradition. We met years ago when he asked me to fill in for his bass player who was stuck in traffic. Recently he has participated on some of my film scores & with Natural Information Society. I have filled in from time to time with his band and we have an improv trio with Mike Reed.


PAN M 360 : What will be your next recording and live projects in music? Joshua Abrams : New music is getting close! There is also a collaboration with Bitchin Bajas that is close. Many other things have been recorded, a duo with Joëlle Léandre … 

THE NATURAL INFORMATION SOCIETY PLAYS AT FIMAV ON FRIDAY 17. TICKETS AND INFOS HERE

Latest 360 Content

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Subscribe to our newsletter

FIMAV | La Société d’Information Naturelle vous informe !

Entrevue réalisée par Alain Brunet

renseignements supplémentaires

Originaire de Philadelphie, où il a débuté sa carrière parmi les membres du groupe The Roots, Joshua Abrams est depuis longtemps un musicien clé de la nouvelle musique créative de Chicago, hybridant le free jazz avec le minimalisme occidental, la musique gnawa nord-africaine et d’autres sources culturelles. Cette version à huit musiciens de son groupe Natural Information Society – qu’ABRAMS appelle « Community Ensemble » – joue des rythmes et des mélanges qui se déploient et se superposent, induisant la transe, parmi d’autres éléments. Scott Thomson, le nouveau directeur artistique du FIMAV, a déclaré à PAN M 360 que ce groupe était l’un des plus beaux concerts qu’il ait donnés au festival de musique de Guelph, dont il a été le directeur artistique pendant 7 ans. Et alors ? Nous en parlons à Joshua Abrams !

PAN M 360 : Le guimbri, un luth gnawa que de nombreux Occidentaux ont découvert avec le célèbre groupe marocain Nas El Ghiwane au début des années 80, est un instrument central de la société de l’information naturelle. Pouvez-vous nous dire comment votre amour et votre dévouement pour cet instrument ont commencé ? Qu’apporte le guembri au son de votre ensemble ? Comment le voyez-vous en tant qu’instrument soliste ?

Joshua Abrams : J’ai entendu pour la première fois le guimbri joué par Malleem Mahmoud Ghania sur le disque qu’il a réalisé avec Pharoah Sanders, The Trance of The Seven Colors.
Il a une qualité très vocale et réunit les sons graves et les sons percussifs d’une manière profonde.Une technologie avancée pour centrer l’esprit.Il me permet de réunir de nombreux intérêts musicaux et méthodes, y compris la composition et l’improvisation, d’une manière personnelle.

PAN M 360 : Je suppose que vous avez été le premier contrebassiste avant de déménager de Philadelphie à Chicago, n’est-ce pas ? La contrebasse est-elle toujours aussi importante pour vous que le guimbri aujourd’hui ?

Joshua Abrams : Oui, la contrebasse reste mon instrument principal.J’en joue souvent dans différentes situations et sur de nombreux enregistrements.

PAN M 360 : Au fait, entretenez-vous toujours des relations humaines avec certains anciens membres de The Roots ?

Joshia Abrams : Oui.

PAN M 360 : Bien sûr, votre parcours est assez différent à Chicago où vous avez embrassé cette musique créative dont les origines se trouvent dans la communauté AACM du free jazz, le post-rock, le footwork ou les expérimentations post-house. Vous évoluez manifestement dans un écosystème différent ! Qu’est-ce qui vous a amené à vous installer à Chicago ?

Joshua Abrams : La musique !

PAN M 360 : L’expression Natural Information est apparue en 2010 dans votre discographie. Pouvez-vous nous rappeler l’origine de cette expression ?

Joshua Abrams : Cela m’a semblé être une puissante combinaison de deux mots courants que je n’avais jamais entendus ensemble. Natural Information est un bon descripteur de l’endroit où j’aime concentrer mon attention et une bonne aspiration pour ce que la musique pourrait être.

PAN M 360 : Comment Natural Information Society a-t-elle évolué depuis lors ?

Joshua Abrams : Nous avons sorti sept albums avec des formations, des orchestrations et des personnalités musicales différentes.J’ai écrit différents corpus de musique pour chacune de ces configurations à explorer ensemble. Le quatuor que je forme avec Lisa Alvarado, Mikel Patrick Avery et Jason Stein joue le plus souvent, mais lors d’occasions spéciales comme le FIMAV, c’est la version élargie du Natural Information Society Community Ensemble qui joue.

PAN M 360 : Comment voyez-vous le lien entre la musique traditionnelle et les expériences musicales contemporaines ?

Joshua Abrams : Je m’intéresse surtout à la vitalité de la musique. Pour moi, que quelque chose soit ancien ou nouveau, traditionnel ou expérimental n’a qu’une importance secondaire par rapport à l’énergie que la musique peut partager. Toutes les stratégies sont les bienvenues.

PAN M 360 : Lisa Alvarado, harmonium ; Mikel Patrick Avery, batterie ; Berman, cornet ; Kara Bershad, harpe ; Hamid Drake, conga, tabla, tar ; Ben Lamar Gay, cornet ; Nick Mazzarella, saxophone alto ; Jason Stein, clarinette basse ; Mai Sugimoto, saxophone alto, flûte ; Ari Brown, saxophone ténor. Pouvez-vous nous parler brièvement de chaque rôle au sein de cet ensemble ?

Joshua Abrams : Nous essayons de construire un réseau avec nos sons où les nuances des changements de chacun peuvent être entendues et ressenties et où la musique peut évoluer progressivement. Tous les membres du groupe sont d’incroyables musiciens et artistes à part entière et je suis honoré de leur participation. J’écris les morceaux et je dirige le groupe. Lisa joue de l’harmonium et crée nos décors de scène, elle est ma partenaire dans le monde et la Natural Information Society. Mikel fait partie du groupe depuis longtemps et nous avons développé un lien musical intuitif fort. Hamid est un maître musical, un mentor et un ami très cher. Mais en réalité, l’histoire de la création musicale et de l’amitié est commune à tous les membres du groupe. La facilité musicale est importante, mais la patience, la discipline et l’attitude le sont encore plus. Tous les cors du groupe le reconnaissent et sont prêts à mettre de côté l’impulsion de jouer au-dessus de l’ensemble et à accepter de faire partie de notre son collectif.

PAN M 360 :Selon le programme officiel mis en ligne par le festival de Victoriaville, Ari Brown est le soliste vedette au saxophone ténor. Pouvez-vous nous dire comment vous avez construit votre relation artistique avec Ari Brown ?

Joshua Abrams :Il existe à Chicago une vieille tradition selon laquelle le saxophone ténor est utilisé comme une technologie sophistiquée pour le bien-être humain.Ari est actuellement le plus grand praticien de cette tradition.Nous nous sommes rencontrés il y a plusieurs années lorsqu’il m’a demandé de remplacer son bassiste qui était coincé dans les embouteillages.Récemment, il a participé à certaines de mes musiques de film et à Natural Information Society.J’ai joué de temps en temps avec son groupe et nous formons un trio d’improvisation avec Mike Reed.

PAN M 360 : Quels seront vos prochains enregistrements et projets musicaux ?

Joshua Abrams :La nouvelle musique se rapproche !Il y a aussi une collaboration avec Bitchin Bajas qui est proche. Beaucoup d’autres choses ont été enregistrées, un duo avec Joëlle Léandre …

LA NATURAL INFORMATION SOCIETY JOUE AU FIMAV LE VENDREDI 17 MAI, 22H, CARRÉ 150.. BILLETS ET INFOS ICI

Tout le contenu 360

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

JAKŌ et ses paysages sonores expérimentaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Ishi Tishi et leur soirée avec tous les animaux aux Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre